Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Standalone Books that Need a Sequel

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature that was created by The Broke and the Bookish and hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl. Born from a love of lists and a love of books each week there’s a new topic for bloggers to list their ‘top ten’.

Top Ten Tuesday '19 #8

Top Ten Standalone Books that Need a Sequel

It’s rare I read standalones because in the fantasy genre most books tend to be part of series. I guess authors need more than one book to fully develop the characters and the plot when they have to create a new world as well. However there are few standalones that I’ve finished and been desperate for more of, so this week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic was a good excuse for me to flail a little more over the endings of books which I’m still not over.


The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

No one who has been following my blog for more than a few weeks should be surprised to see The Night Circus on my list. It’s my all-time favourite standalone and I’ve been waiting years for another release from Erin Morgenstern. Yes, The Starless Sea is being released this year but I’m always going to be desperate for another book set in the world of The Night Circus so I can go back and explore more of Les Cirque des Reves.


More Than This by Patrick Ness

That ending. Oh my god that ending. I finished More Than This years ago but I still can’t get that ending out of my head. Part of me understands that if this book had ended any other way it wouldn’t have ‘fit’ with Seth’s overall story, but a much bigger part of me still wants closure from Patrick Ness.


Heartless by Marissa Meyer

I love Alice in Wonderland and I love Marissa Meyer, so Heartless was always going to be a winning combination for me. As the origin story for the Queen of Hearts there was only one way Heartless could have ended, and it did end that way, but I would still love a sequel continuing Cath’s journey as Queen of Hearts and maybe even seeing Alice through Meyer’s writing.


What If It’s Us by Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera

Another open ending I want to see closed. Granted this one wasn’t as gut wrenching as the way More Than This ended, and I like to think Arthur and Ben eventually got their happily ever after, but I would love to read a sequel following the two of them into their university years and seeing that reunion written by Albertalli and Silvera.


Empress of All Seasons by Emiko Jean

I mentioned this in my review, it was actually a large part of the reason I rated Empress of All Seasons the way I did, but Mari’s story would have been so much better as a duology. That way we could have witness the main characters journey rather than having a (very) brief overview crammed into the last chapter.


They Both Die at the End by Adam Silvera

Given how They Both Die at the End ends for both Mateo and Rufus I know getting a sequel is going to be very unlikely, but I would love more stories set in this world. Silvera has created a very intriguing premise, and while we got snapshots of others people’s days alongside Mateo’s and Rufus’s story I’d like to see more.


All Out by Saundra Mitchell

This is a strange pick for this list, so bear with me. I rarely read anthologies, most times because the stories are so short they always leave me wanting more, and All Out had one short story that I have been unable to stop thinking about because I need more.

Every Shade of Red tells the story of a transgender Robin Hood, and from the beginning I was hooked. I quickly fell in love with Wake’s writing and his characters, and after the way Every Shade of Red ended I need more, I need to know what happens next.


The Loneliest Girl in the Universe by Lauren James

With all the twists and turns in this book, with everything that is revealed and with how Lauren James ended The Loneliest Girl in the Universe this book is begging for a sequel. Give me more of Romy’s story picking up after that ending, give me her mission ending and her no longer being alone. Just give me a sequel.


The Love Interest by Cale Dietrich

One of the things that caused me to down-rate this book when I was writing my review was that as The Love Interest was only told from Caden’s POV we never got the same character development for Dylan as we did the main character. It’s not a sequel, but I’d love to get a story told from Dylan’s POV just to close that gap a little.


Invictus by Ryan Graudin

Invictus is a pretty contained story. It’s got a good pace, and it isn’t too open ended so I wasn’t desperate for a sequel to ‘complete’ the story but I’d still love to see more set in this world. Like with They Both Die at the End I feel like there’s so much potential for us to follow more adventures through time with Far and his crew.


Did you take part in this week’s Top Ten Tuesday?

Are any of these standalones I featured this week books you’d love to see a sequel for. How excited are you for The Starless Sea, and are you still hoping that one day, maybe, we’ll get a sequel to The Night Circus?

What standalone book would you love to see a sequel for? Was it one with an opening ending like in More Than This or What If It’s Us or a rushed ending like Empress of All Seasons?

23 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Standalone Books that Need a Sequel

  1. Lovely post, Beth! I definitely agree with your list! Oh how I would love a sequel to The Night Circus. We’ve been waiting so patiently lol. I love your idea for They Both Die at the End. More stories like Rufus and Mateo’s would fill my soul and break my heart. But I’d be so ready to be emotionally destroyed again haha. And yes! A sequel to The Love Interest would do wonders for the story, especially if it included Dylan’s POV. Awesome thinking, Beth 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much. 🙂 I will wait my whole life if that’s how long it takes to get a sequel to The Night Circus. Yeah I feel like there’s still so much possibility left in that world, we saw some small snippets of other stories alongside Mateo’s and Rufus’ so I’d be interested in more from that would (despite it emotionally destroying us all again).
      Thanks so much. 🙂 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great list!! Totally agree with They Both Die at the End 🙂 I DNFed The Love Interest because the plot seemed too improbable for me, but I agree with you that I’d love to see Dylan’s perspective. Maybe if there were two POVs I’d have been able to read the whole book!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much Annie. 🙂 Yeah I’d love another story exploring more of that world, exploring more characters days. I didn’t DNF The Love Interest but it wasn’t as good as I’d hoped it would be and I feel like it definitely could have improved with Dylan’s POV. It would have added another dimension to the story and the character development too.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Ahh I love your list SO much, Beth, great choices! I have to say that I wouldn’t say no to another book set in The Night Circus world, such a great world. And….More than this. That ending just… well, it was fitting and probably why I’m still thinking about this book so many years later, but still… damn, I would love to know what happens next, too, haha 🙂
    Great list! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much Marie. 🙂 Yeah there are so many more stories that could be told in The Night Circus, and I think because I love the book so much I’m always going to want more. The ending of More Than This definitely fits, but that open ending will always play on my mind. We’re never going to know but we’re always going to want to know right?
      Thanks so much. 🙂 ❤️

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Forever bitter that Empress of All Seasons didn’t get a sequel 😭 I really didn’t like how the potential storyline for a second book was crammed into a last chapter as well … like why? Some Series feel like they don’t need more content, but here it was the complete opposite! I wanted SO much more of the world, especially as so much of the mythology was left unexplored.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah it almost would have been better if, if it hadn’t gotten a sequel, the last chapter had been left off all together. That way the ending could be open and it wouldn’t have felt rushed. Plus like you said there’d be so much to explore about the world and the characters. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Yes! Yes! Yes! On Night Circus and Invictus. I’m still waiting for something on Invictus, I feel like it was setting up for a series, don’t you? I could totally get behind that.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I would sell my soul for more from The Night Circus, and yeah Invictus could definitely have been the beginning to a series. Granted it ended in a way that closed off the story without leaving me desperate for more, but I feel like there’s still more stories we could get from Far and his crew you know?

      Like

    1. Yeah, and see it doesn’t even need to be a sequel. I’d settle for a sequel or another book told throughout the same day from a different characters POV. Basically I’d just love to read more in this world because Silvera has created something incredibly unique and there’s so many stories that could be told within it. 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.