Soulbinder

Soulbinder


Title: Soulbinder

Author: Sebastien de Castell

Series: Spellslinger, #4

Publisher: Hot Key Books

Release Date: October 4th 2018

Rating:

Five Stars

The fourth book in the page-turning Spellslinger fantasy series.

Kellen and his murderous squirrel cat, Reichis, are on their own. They’ve heard rumour of a mythical monastery, known as the Ebony Abbey. It’s a place that outsiders can never find—but Kellen is getting desperate. He’s been told that the monks inside the Ebony Abbey know more about the Shadowblack than anyone else—and that they even know how to cure it.

Then Kellen and Reichis are separated and for the first time, Kellen must face the world alone – and venture deeper into shadow magic than he ever knew he could.

Perfect for fans of The Dark Tower, Firefly, Guardians of the Galaxy, Terry Pratchett, Ben Aaronovitch and Jim Butcher.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

I received this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

This review may contain spoilers for previous book(s) in the series.

Continue reading “Soulbinder”

Advertisements

Charmcaster

Charmcaster


Title: Charmcaster

Author: Sebastien de Castell

Series: Spellslinger, #3

Publisher: Hot Key Books

Release Date: May 17th 2018

Rating:

Five Stars

The third book in the page-turning Spellslinger fantasy series.

“I was getting almost as good at running away from enemies as I was at making them in the first place. Turns out, I wasn’t running nearly fast enough.”

Kellen has begun to master his spellslinging and the Argosi tricks for staying alive, and he and Reichis have found a career that suits them both: taking down mercenary mages who make people’s lives miserable. But Ferius is concerned that Kellen is courting disaster…

Perfect for fans of The Dark Tower, Firefly, Guardians of the Galaxy, Terry Pratchett, Ben Aaronovitch and Jim Butcher.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

This review may contain spoilers for previous book(s) in the series.

Continue reading “Charmcaster”

Shadowblack

Shadowblack


Title: Shadowblack

Author: Sebastien de Castell

Series: Spellslinger, #2

Publisher: Hot Key Books

Release Date: October 5th 2017

Rating:

Four Stars

The second book in the page-turning Spellslinger series for all teen, YA, adult and fantasy readers.

It’s a few months since Kellen left his people behind. Now aged sixteen, Kellen is an outlaw, relying on his wits to keep him alive in the land of the Seven Sands. He misses home, he misses family and more than anything, he misses Nephenia, the girl he left behind.

Then he meets Seneira, a blindfolded girl who isn’t blind, and who carries a secret that’s all too familiar to Kellen. Kellen and Ferius resolve to help—but the stakes are far higher than they realise. A Shadowblack plague is taking hold—and Kellen can’t help but suspect his own people may even be behind it.

Perfect for fans of The Dark Tower, Firefly, The Hunger Games and Guardians of the Galaxy.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

This review may contain spoilers for previous book(s) in the series.

Continue reading “Shadowblack”

Spellslinger

Spellslinger


Title: Spellslinger

Author: Sebastien de Castell

Series: Spellslinger, #1

Publisher: Hot Key Books

Release Date: May 4th 2017

Rating:

Four Stars

There are three things that earn you a man’s name among the Jan’Tep. The first is to demonstrate the strength to defend your family. The second is to prove you can perform the high magic that defines our people. The third is simply to reach the age of sixteen. I was a few weeks shy of my birthday when I learned that I wouldn’t be doing any of those things.

Magic is a con game.

Kellen is moments away from facing his first mage’s duel and the start of four trials that will make him a spellcaster. There’s just one problem: his magic is gone. As his sixteenth birthday approaches, Kellen falls back on his cunning in a bid to avoid total disgrace. But when a daring stranger arrives in town, she challenges Kellen to take a different path. Ferius Parfax is one of the mysterious Argosi—a traveller who lives by her wits and the three decks of cards she carries. She’s difficult and unpredictable, but she may be Kellen’s only hope…

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

Continue reading “Spellslinger”

My Plain Jane

My Plain Jane


Title: My Plain Jane

Author: Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton and Jodi Meadows

Series: The Lady Janies, #2

Publisher: HarperTeen

Release Date: June 26th 2018

Rating:

Three Stars

You may think you know the story. After a miserable childhood, penniless orphan Jane Eyre embarks on a new life as a governess at Thornfield Hall. There, she meets one dark, brooding Mr. Rochester. Despite their significant age gap (!) and his uneven temper (!!), they fall in love—and, Reader, she marries him. (!!!)

Or does she?

Prepare for an adventure of Gothic proportions, in which all is not as it seems, a certain gentleman is hiding more than skeletons in his closets, and one orphan Jane Eyre, aspiring author Charlotte Brontë, and supernatural investigator Alexander Blackwood are about to be drawn together on the most epic ghost hunt this side of Wuthering Heights.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

This review may contain spoilers for previous book(s) in the series.

Continue reading “My Plain Jane”

Bright We Burn

Bright We Burn


Title: Bright We Burn

Author: Kiersten White

Series: The Conqueror’s Saga, #3

Publisher: Corgi Childrens

Release Date: July 5th 2018

Rating:

Five Stars

Haunted by the sacrifices he made in Constantinople, Radu is called back to the new capital. Mehmed is building an empire, becoming the sultan his people need. But Mehmed has a secret: as emperor, he is more powerful than ever…and desperately lonely. Does this mean Radu can finally have more with Mehmed…and would he even want it?

Lada’s rule of absolute justice has created a Wallachia free of crime. But Lada won’t rest until everyone knows that her country’s borders are inviolable. Determined to send a message of defiance, she has the bodies of Mehmed’s peace envoy delivered to him, leaving Radu and Mehmed with no choice. If Lada is allowed to continue, only death will prosper. They must go to war against the girl prince.

But Mehmed knows that he loves her. He understands her. She must lose to him so he can keep her safe. Radu alone fears that they are underestimating his sister’s indomitable will. Only by destroying everything that came before – including her relationships – can Lada truly build the country she wants.

Claim the throne. Demand the crown. Rule the world.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

This review may contain spoilers for previous book(s) in the series.

Continue reading “Bright We Burn”

A Thousand Beginnings and Endings

A Thousand Beginnings and Endings


Title: A Thousand Beginnings and Endings

Author: Ellen Oh and Elsie Chapman (Editors)

Series: N/A

Publisher: Greenwillow Books

Release Date: June 26th 2018

Rating:

Four Stars

Star-crossed lovers, meddling immortals, feigned identities, battles of wits, and dire warnings: these are the stuff of fairy tale, myth, and folklore that have drawn us in for centuries.

Fifteen bestselling and acclaimed authors reimagine the folklore and mythology of East and South Asia in short stories that are by turns enchanting, heartbreaking, romantic, and passionate.

Compiled by We Need Diverse Books’s Ellen Oh and Elsie Chapman, the authors included in this exquisite collection are: Renée Ahdieh, Sona Charaipotra, Preeti Chhibber, Roshani Chokshi, Aliette de Bodard, Melissa de la Cruz, Julie Kagawa, Rahul Kanakia, Lori M. Lee, E. C. Myers, Cindy Pon, Aisha Saeed, Shveta Thakrar, and Alyssa Wong.

A mountain loses her heart. Two sisters transform into birds to escape captivity. A young man learns the true meaning of sacrifice. A young woman takes up her mother’s mantle and leads the dead to their final resting place.

From fantasy to science fiction to contemporary, from romance to tales of revenge, these stories will beguile readers from start to finish. For fans of Neil Gaiman’s Unnatural Creatures and Ameriie’s New York Times bestselling Because You Love to Hate Me.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

Continue reading “A Thousand Beginnings and Endings”

Sky in the Deep

Sky in the Deep


Title: Sky in the Deep

Author: Adrienne Young

Series: N/A

Publisher: Wednesday Books

Release Date: April 24th 2018

Rating:

Four Stars

Ond Eldr. Breathe Fire.

Raised to be a warrior, seventeen-year-old Eelyn fights alongside her Aska clansmen in an ancient rivalry against the Riki clan. Her life is brutal but simple: fight and survive. Until the day she sees the impossible on the battlefield – her brother, fighting with the enemy – the brother she watched die five years ago.

Faced with her brother’s betrayal, she must survive the winter in the mountains with the Riki, in a village where every neighbour is an enemy, every battle scar possibly one she delivered. But when the Riki village is raided by a ruthless clan thought to be a legend, Eelyn is even more desperate to get back to her beloved family.

She is given no choice but to trust Fiske, her brother’s friend, who sees her as a threat. They must do the impossible: unite the clans to fight together, or risk being slaughtered one by one. Driven by a love for her clan and her growing love for Fiske, Eelyn must confront her own definition of loyalty and family while daring to put her faith in the people she’s spent her life hating.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

Continue reading “Sky in the Deep”

Norse Mythology

Norse Mythology


Title: Norse Mythology

Author: Neil Gaiman

Series: N/A

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

Release Date: February 7th 2017

Rating:

Four Stars

The great Norse myths are woven into the fabric of our storytelling—from Tolkien, Alan Garner and Rosemary Sutcliff to Game of Thrones and Marvel Comics. They are also an inspiration for Neil Gaiman’s own award-bedecked, bestselling fiction. Now he reaches back through time to the original source stories in a thrilling and vivid rendition of the great Norse tales. Gaiman’s gods are thoroughly alive on the page – irascible, visceral, playful, passionate – and the tales carry us from the beginning of everything to Ragnarök and the twilight of the gods. Galvanised by Gaiman’s prose, Thor, Loki, Odin and Freya are irresistible forces for modern readers and the crackling, brilliant writing demands to be read aloud around an open fire on a freezing, starlit night.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

Continue reading “Norse Mythology”

Legendary

Legendary


Title: Legendary

Author: Stephanie Garber

Series: Caraval, #2

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton Ltd

Release Date: May 29th 2018

Rating:

Five Stars

A heart to protect. A debt to repay. A game to win.

After being swept up in the magical world of Caraval, Donatella Dragna has finally escaped her father and saved her sister Scarlett from a disastrous arranged marriage. The girls should be celebrating, but Tella isn’t yet free. She made a desperate bargain with a mysterious criminal, and what Tella owes him no one has ever been able to deliver: Caraval Master Legend’s true name.

The only chance of uncovering Legend’s identity is to win Caraval, so Tella throws herself into the legendary competition once more—and into the path of the murderous heir to the throne, a doomed love story, and a web of secrets…including her sister’s. Caraval has always demanded bravery, cunning, and sacrifice. But now the game is asking for more. If Tella can’t fulfil her bargain and deliver Legend’s name, she’ll lose everything she cares about—maybe even her life. But if she wins, Legend and Caraval will be destroyed forever.

Welcome, welcome to Caraval…the games have only just begun.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

This review may contain spoilers for previous book(s) in the series.

Continue reading “Legendary”