Liebster Award

This is actually the fourth time I’ve been nominated for the Liebster Award, but the questions are always different and I always have so much fun answering them that I didn’t mind doing it again. I was tagged by Grace at Kimmie.gg. Thanks so much for the tag Grace, I had a lot of fun answering these questions and I hope you enjoyed reading them as much.

The Liebster Award

Rules:

  • Acknowledge the blog that nominated you and display the award.
  • Answer 11 question that the blog gives you.
  • Give 11 random facts about yourself.
  • Nominate 5-11 blogs you think are deserving of the award that have less than 200 followers.
  • Let the blogs know you have nominated them.
  • Give them 11 questions to answer.

Read More »

Aerie

aerie


Title: Aerie

Author: Maria Dahvana Headley

Series: Magonia, #2

Publisher: HarperCollins

Release Date: October 4th 2016

Rating:

Four Stars

Where is home when you were born in the stars?

Aza Ray is back on earth. Her boyfriend Jason is overjoyed. Her family is healed. She’s living a normal life, or as normal as it can be if you’ve spent the past year dying, waking up on a sky ship, and discovering that your song can change the world.

As in, not normal. Part of Aza still yearns for the clouds, no matter how much she loves the people on the ground.

When Jason’s paranoia over Aza’s safety causes him to make a terrible mistake, Aza finds herself a fugitive in Magonia, tasked with opposing her radical, bloodthirsty, recently-escaped mother, Zal Quel, and her singing partner, Dai. She must travel to the edge of the world in search of a legendary weapon, the Flock, in a journey through fire and identity that will transform her forever.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

This review may contain spoilers for previous book(s) in the series.

Read More »

Magonia

magonia


Title: Magonia

Author: Maria Dahvana Headley

Series: Magonia, #1

Publisher: HarperCollins

Release Date: April 28th 2015

Rating:

Three Stars

Maria Dahvana Headley’s soaring YA debut is a fiercely intelligent, multilayered fantasy where Neil Gaiman’s Stardust meets John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars in a story about a girl caught between two worlds…two races…and two destinies.

Aza Ray Boyle is drowning in thin air. Since she was a baby, Aza has suffered from a mysterious lung disease that makes it ever harder for her to breathe, to speak—to live. So when Aza catches a glimpse of a ship in the sky, her family chalks it up to a cruel side effect of her medication. But Aza doesn’t think this is a hallucination. She can hear someone on the ship calling her name.

Only her best friend, Jason, listens. Jason, who’s always been there. Jason, for whom she might have more-than-friendly feelings. But before Aza can consider that thrilling idea, something goes terribly wrong. Aza is lost to our world—and found, by another. Magonia.

Above the clouds, in a land of trading ships, Aza is not the weak and dying thing she was. In Magonia, she can breathe for the first time. Better, she has immense power—but as she navigates her new life, she discovers that war between Magonia and Earth is coming. In Aza’s hands lies fate of the whole of humanity—including the boy who loves her. Where do her loyalties lie?

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

Read More »

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Underrated Books I’ve Read or Added to my TBR List in the Past Year or So

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week there is a new topic for bloggers to choose and list their top ten. This week’s theme is Top Ten Underrated Books I’ve Read or Added to my TBR List in the Past Year or So.

Mid-way through 2016 a previous Top Ten Tuesday theme I took part in was Top Ten Books I Enjoyed with Less Than 2000 Ratings on Goodreads, so when I saw this week’s theme I decided to carry on from that one almost. I picked five books I read and enjoyed with under, or around about, 2000 ratings on Goodreads as well as a few books which I still have on my to-read list. In the end there were a couple of picks that made it on my list this week that I was really surprised to see.


top-ten-tuesday-54

Read More »

ARC Review: Caraval

caraval


Title: Caraval

Author: Stephanie Garber

Series: Caraval, #1

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton

Release Date: January 26th 2017

Rating:

Five Stars

Welcome to Caraval, where nothing is quite what it seems.

Scarlett has never left the tiny isle of Trisda, pining from afar for the wonder of Caraval, a once-a-year week-long performance where the audience participates in the show.

Caraval is Magic. Mystery. Adventure. And for Scarlett and her beloved sister Tella it represents freedom and an escape from their ruthless, abusive father.

When the sisters’ long-awaited invitations to Caraval finally arrive, it seems their dreams have come true. But no sooner have they arrived than Tella vanishes, kidnapped by the show’s mastermind organiser, Legend.

Scarlett has been told that everything that happens during Caraval is only an elaborate performance. But nonetheless she quickly becomes enmeshed in a dangerous game of love, magic and heartbreak. And real or not, she must find Tella before the game is over, and her sister disappears forever.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

I received this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Read More »

The Beauty and the Beast Book Tag

I was tagged by Melissa at Book Nerd Momo. Thanks so much for the tag Melissa, I had a lot of fun answering these questions and I hope you enjoyed reading them as much. Everyone should definitely check out Melissa’s original post and her blog as well while you’re there. Melissa is such an amazing person, and she writes some brilliant reviews, among other posts.

the-beauty-and-the-beast-book-tag

Rules:

  • Thank the person who tagged you.
  • Mention the creator; Kirsty at Kirsty and the Cat Read.
  • Match a book to each of the songs/characters below.
  • Tag as many people as you like.

Read More »

ARC Review: Gilded Cage

gilded-cage


Title: Gilded Cage

Author: Vic James

Series: Dark Gifts, #1

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

Release Date: January 26th 2017

Rating:

Four Stars

For readers of Victoria Aveyard and George RR Martin comes a darkly fantastical debut set in a modern England where magically gifted aristocrats rule and commoners are doomed to serve.

NOT ALL ARE FREE.
NOT ALL ARE EQUAL.
NOT ALL WILL BE SAVED.

Our world belongs to the Equals – aristocrats with magical gifts – and all commoners must serve them for ten years. But behind the gates of England’s grandest estate lies a power that could break the world.

A girl thirsts for love and knowledge.

Abi is a servant to England’s most powerful family, but her spirit is free. So when she falls for one of the noble-born sons, Abi faces a terrible choice. Uncovering the family’s secrets might win her liberty, but will her heart pay the price?

A boy dreams of revolution.

Abi’s brother, Luke, is enslaved in a brutal factory town. Far from his family and cruelly oppressed, he makes friends whose ideals could cost him everything. Now Luke has discovered there may be a power even greater than magic: revolution.

And an aristocrat will remake the world with his dark gifts.

He is a shadow in the glittering world of the Equals, with mysterious powers no one else understands. But will he liberate—or destroy?

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

I received an ARC of this book free from Pan Macmillan. It in no way affects my views on Gilded Cage.

Read More »

Half Lost

half-lost


Title: Half Lost

Author: Sally Green

Series: The Half Bad Trilogy, #3

Publisher: Penguin

Release Date: March 29th 2016

Rating:

Five Stars

Nathan Byrn is running again. The Alliance of Free Witches has been all but destroyed. Scattered and demoralized, constantly pursued by the Council’s Hunters, only a bold new strategy can save the rebels from total defeat. They need the missing half of Gabriel’s amulet—an ancient artifact with the power to render its bearer invincible in battle.

But the amulet’s guardian –the reclusive and awesomely powerful witch Ledger –has her own agenda. To win her trust, Nathan must travel to America and persuade her to give him the amulet. Combined with his own Gifts, the amulet might just be enough turn the tide for the Alliance and end the bloody civil war between Black and White witches once and for all…

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

This review may contain spoilers for previous book(s) in the series.

Read More »

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten 2016 Releases I Meant to Read but Didn’t Get to (but Totally Plan to)

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week there is a new topic for bloggers to choose and list their top ten. This week’s theme is Top Ten 2016 Releases I Meant to Read but Didn’t Get to (but Totally Plan to).

I got through some amazing books in 2016, there were a lot of new favourites I could have picked from for my top read of 2016, but even more than that there were so many books I meant to but didn’t get around to released last year. I’d like to say I’ll get around to most of the books on this list at some point during 2017 but then again there are books on my to-read list from 2015 and before then so really who knows when I’ll pick these books up.


top-ten-tuesday-53

Read More »