The Son of Neptune

The Son of Neptune


Title: The Son of Neptune

Author: Rick Riordan

Series: The Heroes of Olympus, #2

Publisher: Puffin Books

Release Date: October 4th 2011

Rating:

Five Stars

The second title in this number one, bestselling spin-off series from Percy Jackson creator, Rick Riordan.

This crazy messed up world of gods and monsters is Percy Jackson’s reality, which pretty much sucks for him.

Percy Jackson, son of Poseidon, God of the Sea, has woken from a very deep sleep and come face to face with two snake-haired ladies who refuse to die.

But they’re the least of his problems. Because Percy finds himself at a camp for half-bloods, which doesn’t ring any bells for him. There’s just one name he remembers from his past. Annabeth.

Only one thing is certain—Percy’s questing days aren’t over. He and fellow demigods Frank and Hazel must face the most important quest of all: the Prophecy of Seven. If they fail, it’s not just their camp at risk. Percy’s old life, the gods, and the entire world might be destroyed…

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

This review may contain spoilers for previous book(s) in the series.

Continue reading “The Son of Neptune”

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books on My Summer TBR List

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week there is a new topic for bloggers to choose and list their top ten. This week’s theme is a summer reads freebie, so I picked Top Ten Books on My Summer TBR List.

Once summer comes around I start reading the contemporaries on my TBR list. After all there’s nothing better than sitting on the beach or in my garden, the sun shining, with a good book filled with great characters, fluffy romances, and travel all over the world. There are so many YA contemporaries on my to-read list, and even more being released it was hard to choose just ten.


Top Ten Tuesday #65

Continue reading “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books on My Summer TBR List”

The Lost Hero

The Lost Hero


Title: The Lost Hero

Author: Rick Riordan

Series: The Heroes of Olympus, #1

Publisher: Puffin Books

Release Date: October 12th 2010

Rating:

Five Stars

The Number one, bestselling title in this new spin-off series from Percy Jackson creator, Rick Riordan.

Old enemies awaken as Camp Half-Blood’s new arrivals prepare for war.

When Jason, Piper and Leo crash land at Camp Half-Blood, they have no idea what to expect. Apparently this is the only safe place for children of the Greek Gods—despite the monsters roaming the woods and demigods practising archery with flaming arrows and explosives. But rumours of a terrible curse –and a missing hero –are flying around camp. It seems Jason, Piper and Leo are the chosen ones to embark on a terrifying new quest, which they must complete by the winter solstice. In just four days time. Can the trio succeed on this deadly mission—and what must they sacrifice in order to survive?

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

Continue reading “The Lost Hero”

The Sunshine Blogger Award Part Three

Last, but by no means least, comes part three of The Sunshine Blogger Award with answers to the final lot of questions, I was tagged by Lauren at Comma Hangover, Sydney at Fire and Rain Books, and Ellie at Blogging for Dopamine. Thanks so much for the tag everyone, I had a lot of fun with this one so I hope you enjoy reading my answers just as much.

The Sunshine Blogger Award

Rules:

  • Thank the person who nominated you.
  • Answer 11 questions set by the person who nominated you.
  • Nominate 11 bloggers to receive the award and write them 11 new questions to answer.

Continue reading “The Sunshine Blogger Award Part Three”

Discussion Time: What I’ve Discovered After One and a Half Years of Blogging

Today is a special day for me. You’ve likely already guessed why simply from the title of this post, but in case you haven’t today is my one and a half year blogiversary. Originally I wasn’t going to do anything special, was just going to let this day go by like any other, but I’ve started posting discussions so thought I’d do something along those lines to mark the occasion.

Every time I reach a milestone like this it’s cause for a celebration. I never in a million years thought I’d last this long, I had three failed blogs before this one that tell that story, but somehow I did so I thought I’d share some advice; things I picked up over the past one and a half years I’ve been blogging.

What I've Discovered After One and a Half Years of Blogging

What I’ve Discovered After One and a Half Years of Blogging

Continue reading “Discussion Time: What I’ve Discovered After One and a Half Years of Blogging”

ARC Review: When Dimple Met Rishi

When Dimple Met Rishi


Title: When Dimple Met Rishi

Author: Sandhya Menon

Series: N/A

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton

Release Date: June 1st 2017

Rating:

Four Stars

The arranged marriage YA romcom you didn’t know you wanted or needed…

Meet Dimple.

Her main aim in life is to escape her traditional parents, get to university and begin her plan for tech world domination.

Meet Rishi.

He’s rich, good-looking and a hopeless romantic. His parents think Dimple is the perfect match for him, but she’s got other plans…

Dimple and Rishi may think they have each other figured out. But when opposites clash, love works hard to prove itself in the most unexpected ways.

Perfect for fans of Rainbow Rowell, Jenny Han and Nicola Yoon, When Dimple Met Rishi is a frothy, funny contemporary romance set at a coding convention in San Francisco over one exciting summer. Told from the dual perspectives of two Indian American protagonists, Dimple is fighting her family traditions while Rishi couldn’t be happier to follow in the footsteps of his parents. Could sparks fly between this odd couple, or is this matchmaking attempt doomed to fail?

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

I received this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Continue reading “ARC Review: When Dimple Met Rishi”

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Mother/Child Relationships in YA Books

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week there is a new topic for bloggers to choose and list their top ten. This week’s theme is a Mother’s Day related freebie, so I picked Top Ten Mother/Child Relationships in YA Books.

I love seeing strong familial relationships in books, unfortunately in fantasy stories that’s an aspect that seems to be missing. I guess it’s hard to risk your life saving the world when you have a loving family at home worrying for you. Not all of the mother/child relationships I featured this week are happy, loving and perfect, but they were all amazingly written.


Top Ten Tuesday #66

Continue reading “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Mother/Child Relationships in YA Books”

The Game of Love and Death

The Game of Love and Death


Title: The Game of Love and Death

Author: Martha Brockenbrough

Series: N/A

Publisher: Arthur A. Levine Books

Release Date: April 28th 2015

Rating:

Five Stars

Antony and Cleopatra. Helen of Troy and Paris. Romeo and Juliet. And now…Henry and Flora.

For centuries Love and Death have chosen their players. They have set the rules, rolled the dice, and kept close, ready to influence, angling for supremacy. And Death has always won. Always.

Could there ever be one time, one place, one pair whose love would truly tip the balance?

Meet Flora Saudade, an African-American girl who dreams of becoming the next Amelia Earhart by day and sings in the smoky jazz clubs of Seattle by night. Meet Henry Bishop, born a few blocks and a million worlds away, a white boy with his future assured—a wealthy adoptive family in the midst of the Great Depression, a college scholarship, and all the opportunities in the world seemingly available to him.

The players have been chosen. The dice have been rolled. But when human beings make moves of their own, what happens next is anyone’s guess.

Achingly romantic and brilliantly imagined, The Game of Love and Death is a love story you will never forget.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

Continue reading “The Game of Love and Death”