Geekerella

Geekerella


Title: Geekerella

Author: Ashley Poston

Series: N/A

Publisher: Quirk Books

Release Date: April 4th 2017

Rating:

Four Stars

Cinderella goes to the con in this fandom-fuelled twist on the classic fairy tale.

Part romance, part love letter to nerd culture, and all totally adorbs, Geekerella is a fairy tale for anyone who believes in the magic of fandom. Geek girl Elle Wittimer lives and breathes Starfield, the classic sci-fi series she grew up watching with her late father. So when she sees a cosplay contest for a new Starfield movie, she has to enter. The prize? An invitation to the ExcelsiCon Cosplay Ball, and a meet-and-greet with the actor slated to play Federation Prince Carmindor in the reboot. With savings from her gig at the Magic Pumpkin food truck (and her dad’s old costume), Elle’s determined to win…unless her stepsisters get there first.

Teen actor Darien Freeman used to live for cons—before he was famous. Now they’re nothing but autographs and awkward meet-and-greets. Playing Carmindor is all he’s ever wanted, but the Starfield fandom has written him off as just another dumb heartthrob. As ExcelsiCon draws near, Darien feels more and more like a fake—until he meets a girl who shows him otherwise.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

Continue reading “Geekerella”

Wing Jones

Wing Jones


Title: Wing Jones

Author: Katherine Webber

Series: N/A

Publisher: Walker Books

Release Date: January 5th 2017

Rating:

Four Stars

Jandy Nelson meets Friday Night Lights: a sweeping story about love and family from an exceptional new voice in YA. With a grandmother from China and another from Ghana, fifteen-year-old Wing Jones is often caught between worlds. But when tragedy strikes, Wing discovers a talent for running she never knew she had. Wing’s speed could bring her family everything it needs. It could also stop Wing getting the one thing she wants.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

Continue reading “Wing Jones”

The Narnia Book Tag

I loved The Narnia Chronicles when I was younger, after the Harry Potter books it was the second series I fell in love with as a child and the second series that got me hooked on reading, so a Narnia tag is just perfect beyond words for me. I was tagged by Diana at Diana Prince Reviews and Sammie at Bookshelves & Biros. Thanks so much both of you for the tag, I had a lot of fun with this one so I hope you enjoy reading my answers just as much.

The Narnia Book Tag

Continue reading “The Narnia Book Tag”

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Recommendations for …

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week there is a new topic for bloggers to choose and list their top ten. This week’s theme is Top Ten Recommendations for …

Rather than do recommendations for a specific genre or group of people, like the prompt suggested and like I have in the past, I’m doing recommendations based on books. It’s a ‘if you liked this book check out these books’ Top Ten Tuesday post.

Top Ten Tuesday has been on hiatus for a month and a half, and while some people were still taking part in the weekly feature during that time I was not one of them, so it’s nice to have some prompts again to post my top ten on a Tuesday.


Top Ten Tuesday #73

Continue reading “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Recommendations for …”

ARC Review: Book of Fire

Book of Fire


Title: Book of Fire

Author: Michelle Kenney

Series: Book of Fire, #1

Publisher: HQ Digital

Release Date: August 27th 2017

Rating:

Three Stars

Life outside the domes is not possible. At least that’s what Insiders are told. Twins Eli and Talia shouldn’t exist. They’re Outsiders.

Their home is a secret. Their lives are a secret. Arafel is a secret.

An unexpected forest raid forces Talia into a desperate mission to rescue her family while protecting the sacred book of Arafel from those who would use it as a weapon. As Talia and her life long friend Max enter the dome, she makes some unexpected discoveries, and allies, in the form of rugged Insider August, that will change the course of her life forever.

She’ll stop at nothing to save her family but will she sacrifice her heart in the process?

The Fire Sermon meets Gladiator in this brilliant YA debut.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

I received an ARC of this book free from YA HQ. It in no way affects my views on Book of Fire.

Continue reading “ARC Review: Book of Fire”

Reading Around the World: New York

Reading Around the World is a new feature that combines my love of travelling with my love of reading. Each month I plan to spotlight either a city I have visited, or a city I plan to visit in the near future, and recommend some of my favourite books set there. After all even if you can’t visit these cities yourself the next best thing has to be reading about them and living the experience through the eyes of the characters.

New York (9)

Continue reading “Reading Around the World: New York”

S.T.A.G.S

STAGS


Title: S.T.A.G.S

Author: M.A. Bennett

Series: N/A

Publisher: Hot Key Books

Release Date: August 10th 2017

Rating:

Four Stars

Nine students. Three bloodsports. One deadly weekend.

A twisting thriller for fans of Looking for Alaska and The Hunger Games

It is the autumn term and Greer MacDonald is struggling to settle into the sixth form at the exclusive St. Aidan the Great boarding school, known to its privileged pupils as S.T.A.G.S. Just when she despairs of making friends Greer receives a mysterious invitation with three words embossed upon on it: huntin’ shootin’ fishin’. When Greer learns that the invitation is to spend the half term weekend at the country manor of Henry de Warlencourt, the most popular and wealthy boy at S.T.A.G.S., she is as surprised as she is flattered.

But when Greer joins the other chosen few at the ancient and sprawling Longcross Hall, she realises that Henry’s parents are not at home; the only adults present are a cohort of eerily compliant servants. The students are at the mercy of their capricious host, and, over the next three days, as the three bloodsports – hunting, shooting and fishing – become increasingly dark and twisted, Greer comes to the horrifying realisation that those being hunted are not wild game, but the very misfits Henry has brought with him from school…

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

Continue reading “S.T.A.G.S”

The Last Magician

The Last Magician


Title: The Last Magician

Author: Lisa Maxwell

Series: N/A

Publisher: Simon Pulse

Release Date: July 18th 2017

Rating:

Four Stars

In modern day New York, magic is all but obsolete. Esta is a thief, and one of the few Mageus left in the city. They are all unable to leave because of The Brink—a barrier around the city that will strip them of magic if they cross it.

All hope appears to be lost…unless Esta takes a mission presented to her by her mentor, Doc Lawson. Doc believes that if he can send Esta into the past, she will be able to rewrite history, changing the future of Mageus, and the position of magic in modern day New York.

But playing with the past is never easy, and once Esta finds herself in early twentieth-century New York, run by gangs and secret magical societies, she’s not so sure that she’ll be able to pull off the heist…or that Doc told her everything she needed to know for the task.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

Continue reading “The Last Magician”

The Entertainer Blogger Award

I hadn’t been nominated for this award before, so it was great to have an opportunity to take part and answer the questions that come along with it. I was tagged by Ronyell at Rabbit Ears Productions Blog, Joana at Book Needers, and Azia at The Uncharted Word. Thanks so much for the tag everyone, I had a lot of fun with this one so I hope you enjoy reading my answers just as much.

The Entertainer Blogger Award

Rules:

  • Thank the person who nominated you and provide a link to their blog.
  • Add these rules to your post.
  • Answer all the questions below.
  • Display the award picture in your post.
  • Nominate 12 other bloggers who are funny, inspiring and most important of all entertaining!

Continue reading “The Entertainer Blogger Award”