ARC Review: The Exact Opposite of Okay

The Exact Opposite of Okay


Title: The Exact Opposite of Okay

Author: Laura Steven

Series: N/A

Publisher: Electric Monkey

Release Date: March 8th 2018

Rating:

Four Stars

Izzy O’Neill is an aspiring comic, an impoverished orphan, and a Slut Extraordinaire. Or at least, that’s what the malicious website flying round the school says. Izzy can try all she wants to laugh it off – after all, her sex life, her terms – but when pictures emerge of her doing the dirty with a politician’s son, her life suddenly becomes the centre of a national scandal. Izzy’s never been ashamed of herself before, and she’s not going to start now. But keeping her head up will take everything she has…

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

I received an ARC of this book free from Electric Monkey. It in no way affects my views on The Exact Opposite of Okay.

Continue reading “ARC Review: The Exact Opposite of Okay”

Advertisements

ARC Review: The Truth and Lies of Ella Black

The Truth and Lies of Ella Black


Title: The Truth and Lies of Ella Black

Author: Emily Barr

Series: N/A

Publisher: Penguin

Release Date: January 11th 2018

Rating:

Two Stars

Ella Black seems to live the life most other seventeen-year-olds would kill for…

Until one day, telling her nothing, her parents whisk her off to Rio de Janeiro. Determined to find out why, Ella takes her chance and searches through their things.

And realises her life has been a lie.

Her mother and father aren’t hers at all. Unable to comprehend the truth, Ella runs away, to the one place they’ll never think to look—the favelas.

But there she learns a terrible secret—the truth about her real parents and their past. And the truth about a mother, desperate for a daughter taken from her seventeen years ago…

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

I received an ARC of this book free from Penguin Platform. It in no way affects my views on The Truth and Lies of Ella Black.

Continue reading “ARC Review: The Truth and Lies of Ella Black”

The One Memory of Flora Banks

The One Memory of Flora Banks


Title: The One Memory of Flora Banks

Author: Emily Barr

Series: N/A

Publisher: Penguin

Release Date: January 12th 2017

Rating:

Two Stars

Seventeen-year-old Flora Banks has no short-term memory. Her mind resets itself several times a day, and has since the age of ten, when the tumour that was removed from Flora’s brain took with it her ability to make new memories. That is, until she kisses Drake, her best friend’s boyfriend, the night before he leaves town. Miraculously, this one memory breaks through Flora’s fractured mind, and sticks. Flora is convinced that Drake is responsible for restoring her memory and making her whole again. So when an encouraging email from Drake suggests she meet him on the other side of the world, Flora knows with certainty that this is the first step toward reclaiming her life.

With little more than the words “be brave” inked into her skin, and written reminders of who she is and why her memory is so limited, Flora sets off on an impossible journey to Svalbard, Norway, the land of the midnight sun, determined to find Drake. But from the moment she arrives in the arctic, nothing is quite as it seems, and Flora must “be brave” if she is ever to learn the truth about herself, and to make it safely home.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

Continue reading “The One Memory of Flora Banks”

The Upside of Unrequited

The Upside of Unrequited


Title: The Upside of Unrequited

Author: Becky Albertalli

Series: N/A

Publisher: Penguin

Release Date: April 11th 2017

Rating:

Four Stars

Seventeen-year-old Molly Peskin-Suso knows all about unrequited love—she’s lived through it twenty-six times. She crushes hard and crushes often, but always in secret. Because no matter how many times her twin sister, Cassie, tells her to woman up, Molly can’t stomach the idea of rejection. So she’s careful. Fat girls always have to be careful.

Then a cute new girl enters Cassie’s orbit, and for the first time ever, Molly’s cynical twin is a lovesick mess. Meanwhile, Molly’s totally not dying of loneliness—except for the part where she is. Luckily, Cassie’s new girlfriend comes with a cute hipster-boy sidekick. Will is funny, flirtatious, and just might be perfect crush material. Maybe more than crush material. And if Molly can win him over, she’ll get her first kiss and she’ll get her twin back.

There’s only one problem: Molly’s coworker, Reid. He’s an awkward Tolkien superfan, and there’s absolutely no way Molly could fall for him. Right?

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

Continue reading “The Upside of Unrequited”

They Both Die at the End

They Both Die at the End


Title: They Both Die at the End

Author: Adam Silvera

Series: N/A

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Children’s UK

Release Date: September 7th 2017

Rating:

Five Stars

When Mateo receives the dreaded call from Death-Cast, informing him that today will be his last, he doesn’t know where to begin. Quiet and shy, Mateo is devastated at the thought of leaving behind his hospitalised father, and his best friend and her baby girl. But he knows that he has to make the most of this day, it’s his last chance to get out there and make an impression.

Rufus is busy beating up his ex-girlfriend’s new boyfriend when he gets the call. Having lost his entire family, Rufus is no stranger to Death-Cast. Not that it makes it any easier. With bridges to mend, the police searching for him and the angry new boyfriend on his tail, it’s time to run.

Isolated and scared, the boys reach out to each other, and what follows is a day of living life to the full. Though neither of them had expected that this would involve falling in love…

Another beautiful, heartbreaking and life-affirming book from the brilliant Adam Silvera, author of More Happy Than Not and History Is All You Left Me.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

Continue reading “They Both Die at the End”

Moonrise

Moonrise


Title: Moonrise

Author: Sarah Crossan

Series: N/A

Publisher: Bloomsbury Children

Release Date: September 7th 2017

Rating:

Four Stars

“They think I hurt someone.
But I didn’t. You hear?
Coz people are gonna be telling you
all kinds of lies.
I need you to know the truth.”

From one-time winner and two-time Carnegie Medal shortlisted author Sarah Crossan, this poignant, stirring, huge-hearted novel asks big questions. What value do you place on life? What can you forgive? And just how do you say goodbye?

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

Continue reading “Moonrise”

ARC Review: There’s Someone Inside Your House

There's Someone Inside Your House


Title: There’s Someone Inside Your House

Author: Stephanie Perkins

Series: N/A

Publisher: Macmillan Children’s Books

Release Date: October 5th 2017

Rating:

Four Stars

Over a year after her parents sent her away from Hawaii to live with her grandmother in landlocked Nebraska, Makani Young is still adjusting to her new life. She’s made a small group of close friends and even flirted with romance, but her past in Hawaii is still hard to forget. And then…one by one the students of her new high school begin to die in a series of gruesome murders. Makani doesn’t know who’s next on the list. Between this, and a secret scorching relationship with the school weirdo, this school year may turn out to be one to die for…literally.

There’s Someone Inside Your House by Stephanie Perkins will have you swooning with fear and romance, and is the perfect page-turner for fans of Scream Queens and I Know What You Did Last Summer.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

I received this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Continue reading “ARC Review: There’s Someone Inside Your House”

ARC Review: A Semi-Definitive List of Worst Nightmares

A Semi-Definitive List of Worst Nightmares


Title: A Semi-Definitive List of Worst Nightmares

Author: Krystal Sutherland

Series: N/A

Publisher: Hot Key Books

Release Date: September 5th 2017

Rating:

Five Stars

From the author of Our Chemical Hearts comes the hilarious, reality-bending tale of two outsiders facing their greatest fears about life and love one debilitating phobia at a time.

Ever since Esther Solar’s grandfather was cursed by Death, everyone in her family has been doomed to suffer one great fear in their lifetime. Esther’s father is agoraphobic and hasn’t left the basement in six years, her twin brother can t be in the dark without a light on, and her mother is terrified of bad luck.

The Solars are consumed by their fears and, according to the legend of the curse, destined to die from them.

Esther doesn’t know what her great fear is yet (nor does she want to), a feat achieved by avoiding pretty much everything. Elevators, small spaces, and crowds are all off-limits. So are haircuts, spiders, dolls, mirrors and three dozen other phobias she keeps a record of in her semi-definitive list of worst nightmares.

Then Esther is pickpocketed by Jonah Smallwood, an old elementary school classmate. Along with her phone, money and a fruit roll-up she d been saving, Jonah also steals her list of fears. Despite the theft, Esther and Jonah become friends, and he sets a challenge for them: in an effort to break the curse that has crippled her family, they will meet every Sunday of senior year to work their way through the list, facing one terrifying fear at a time, including one that Esther hadn’t counted on: love.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

I received this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Continue reading “ARC Review: A Semi-Definitive List of Worst Nightmares”

Geekerella

Geekerella


Title: Geekerella

Author: Ashley Poston

Series: N/A

Publisher: Quirk Books

Release Date: April 4th 2017

Rating:

Four Stars

Cinderella goes to the con in this fandom-fuelled twist on the classic fairy tale.

Part romance, part love letter to nerd culture, and all totally adorbs, Geekerella is a fairy tale for anyone who believes in the magic of fandom. Geek girl Elle Wittimer lives and breathes Starfield, the classic sci-fi series she grew up watching with her late father. So when she sees a cosplay contest for a new Starfield movie, she has to enter. The prize? An invitation to the ExcelsiCon Cosplay Ball, and a meet-and-greet with the actor slated to play Federation Prince Carmindor in the reboot. With savings from her gig at the Magic Pumpkin food truck (and her dad’s old costume), Elle’s determined to win…unless her stepsisters get there first.

Teen actor Darien Freeman used to live for cons—before he was famous. Now they’re nothing but autographs and awkward meet-and-greets. Playing Carmindor is all he’s ever wanted, but the Starfield fandom has written him off as just another dumb heartthrob. As ExcelsiCon draws near, Darien feels more and more like a fake—until he meets a girl who shows him otherwise.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

Continue reading “Geekerella”

Wing Jones

Wing Jones


Title: Wing Jones

Author: Katherine Webber

Series: N/A

Publisher: Walker Books

Release Date: January 5th 2017

Rating:

Four Stars

Jandy Nelson meets Friday Night Lights: a sweeping story about love and family from an exceptional new voice in YA. With a grandmother from China and another from Ghana, fifteen-year-old Wing Jones is often caught between worlds. But when tragedy strikes, Wing discovers a talent for running she never knew she had. Wing’s speed could bring her family everything it needs. It could also stop Wing getting the one thing she wants.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

Continue reading “Wing Jones”