They Both Die at the End

They Both Die at the End


Title: They Both Die at the End

Author: Adam Silvera

Series: N/A

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Children’s UK

Release Date: September 7th 2017

Rating:

Five Stars

When Mateo receives the dreaded call from Death-Cast, informing him that today will be his last, he doesn’t know where to begin. Quiet and shy, Mateo is devastated at the thought of leaving behind his hospitalised father, and his best friend and her baby girl. But he knows that he has to make the most of this day, it’s his last chance to get out there and make an impression.

Rufus is busy beating up his ex-girlfriend’s new boyfriend when he gets the call. Having lost his entire family, Rufus is no stranger to Death-Cast. Not that it makes it any easier. With bridges to mend, the police searching for him and the angry new boyfriend on his tail, it’s time to run.

Isolated and scared, the boys reach out to each other, and what follows is a day of living life to the full. Though neither of them had expected that this would involve falling in love…

Another beautiful, heartbreaking and life-affirming book from the brilliant Adam Silvera, author of More Happy Than Not and History Is All You Left Me.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

Continue reading “They Both Die at the End”

Advertisements

Moonrise

Moonrise


Title: Moonrise

Author: Sarah Crossan

Series: N/A

Publisher: Bloomsbury Children

Release Date: September 7th 2017

Rating:

Four Stars

“They think I hurt someone.
But I didn’t. You hear?
Coz people are gonna be telling you
all kinds of lies.
I need you to know the truth.”

From one-time winner and two-time Carnegie Medal shortlisted author Sarah Crossan, this poignant, stirring, huge-hearted novel asks big questions. What value do you place on life? What can you forgive? And just how do you say goodbye?

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

Continue reading “Moonrise”

ARC Review: There’s Someone Inside Your House

There's Someone Inside Your House


Title: There’s Someone Inside Your House

Author: Stephanie Perkins

Series: N/A

Publisher: Macmillan Children’s Books

Release Date: October 5th 2017

Rating:

Four Stars

Over a year after her parents sent her away from Hawaii to live with her grandmother in landlocked Nebraska, Makani Young is still adjusting to her new life. She’s made a small group of close friends and even flirted with romance, but her past in Hawaii is still hard to forget. And then…one by one the students of her new high school begin to die in a series of gruesome murders. Makani doesn’t know who’s next on the list. Between this, and a secret scorching relationship with the school weirdo, this school year may turn out to be one to die for…literally.

There’s Someone Inside Your House by Stephanie Perkins will have you swooning with fear and romance, and is the perfect page-turner for fans of Scream Queens and I Know What You Did Last Summer.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

I received this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Continue reading “ARC Review: There’s Someone Inside Your House”

ARC Review: A Semi-Definitive List of Worst Nightmares

A Semi-Definitive List of Worst Nightmares


Title: A Semi-Definitive List of Worst Nightmares

Author: Krystal Sutherland

Series: N/A

Publisher: Hot Key Books

Release Date: September 5th 2017

Rating:

Five Stars

From the author of Our Chemical Hearts comes the hilarious, reality-bending tale of two outsiders facing their greatest fears about life and love one debilitating phobia at a time.

Ever since Esther Solar’s grandfather was cursed by Death, everyone in her family has been doomed to suffer one great fear in their lifetime. Esther’s father is agoraphobic and hasn’t left the basement in six years, her twin brother can t be in the dark without a light on, and her mother is terrified of bad luck.

The Solars are consumed by their fears and, according to the legend of the curse, destined to die from them.

Esther doesn’t know what her great fear is yet (nor does she want to), a feat achieved by avoiding pretty much everything. Elevators, small spaces, and crowds are all off-limits. So are haircuts, spiders, dolls, mirrors and three dozen other phobias she keeps a record of in her semi-definitive list of worst nightmares.

Then Esther is pickpocketed by Jonah Smallwood, an old elementary school classmate. Along with her phone, money and a fruit roll-up she d been saving, Jonah also steals her list of fears. Despite the theft, Esther and Jonah become friends, and he sets a challenge for them: in an effort to break the curse that has crippled her family, they will meet every Sunday of senior year to work their way through the list, facing one terrifying fear at a time, including one that Esther hadn’t counted on: love.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

I received this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Continue reading “ARC Review: A Semi-Definitive List of Worst Nightmares”

Geekerella

Geekerella


Title: Geekerella

Author: Ashley Poston

Series: N/A

Publisher: Quirk Books

Release Date: April 4th 2017

Rating:

Four Stars

Cinderella goes to the con in this fandom-fuelled twist on the classic fairy tale.

Part romance, part love letter to nerd culture, and all totally adorbs, Geekerella is a fairy tale for anyone who believes in the magic of fandom. Geek girl Elle Wittimer lives and breathes Starfield, the classic sci-fi series she grew up watching with her late father. So when she sees a cosplay contest for a new Starfield movie, she has to enter. The prize? An invitation to the ExcelsiCon Cosplay Ball, and a meet-and-greet with the actor slated to play Federation Prince Carmindor in the reboot. With savings from her gig at the Magic Pumpkin food truck (and her dad’s old costume), Elle’s determined to win…unless her stepsisters get there first.

Teen actor Darien Freeman used to live for cons—before he was famous. Now they’re nothing but autographs and awkward meet-and-greets. Playing Carmindor is all he’s ever wanted, but the Starfield fandom has written him off as just another dumb heartthrob. As ExcelsiCon draws near, Darien feels more and more like a fake—until he meets a girl who shows him otherwise.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

Continue reading “Geekerella”

Wing Jones

Wing Jones


Title: Wing Jones

Author: Katherine Webber

Series: N/A

Publisher: Walker Books

Release Date: January 5th 2017

Rating:

Four Stars

Jandy Nelson meets Friday Night Lights: a sweeping story about love and family from an exceptional new voice in YA. With a grandmother from China and another from Ghana, fifteen-year-old Wing Jones is often caught between worlds. But when tragedy strikes, Wing discovers a talent for running she never knew she had. Wing’s speed could bring her family everything it needs. It could also stop Wing getting the one thing she wants.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

Continue reading “Wing Jones”

Wesley James Ruined my Life

Wesley James Ruined my Life


Title: Wesley James Ruined my Life

Author: Jennifer Honeybourn

Series: N/A

Publisher: Swoon Reads

Release Date: July 18th 2017

Rating:

Two Stars

Sixteen-year-old Quinn Hardwick’s having a rough summer. Her beloved grandmother has been put into a nursing home, her dad’s gambling addiction has flared back up, and now her worst enemy is back in town: Wesley James, former childhood friend and life ruiner.

So when Wesley is hired to work with her at Tudor Tymes, a medieval England-themed restaurant, the last thing Quinn’s going to do is forgive and forget. She’s determined to remove him from her life and even the score for once and for all—by getting him fired.

But getting rid of Wesley isn’t as easy as she’d hoped. When Quinn finds herself falling for him, she has to decide what she wants more: to get even, or to get the boy.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

Continue reading “Wesley James Ruined my Life”

Summer Days and Summer Nights: Twelve Love Stories

Summer Days and Summer Nights


Title: Summer Days and Summer Nights: Twelve Love Stories

Author: Stephanie Perkins (Editor)

Series: N/A

Publisher: Macmillan

Release Date: May 17th 2016

Rating:

Three Stars

A collection of twelve romantic tales of young summer love. Edited by Stephanie Perkins. Featuring new short stories by Leigh Bardugo, Francesca Lia Block, Libba Bray, Cassandra Clare, Brandy Colbert, Tim Federle, Lev Grossman, Nina LaCour, Stephanie Perkins, Veronica Roth, Jon Skovron, and Jennifer E. Smith.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

Continue reading “Summer Days and Summer Nights: Twelve Love Stories”

My Mid Year To-Read Goal

We all know how it goes. Every time a new book is released it gets added to our TBR list, and then it can take us months, or even years in some cases, to get around to reading it. Unfortunately when it comes to buying books my eyes are too big for my brain, and I buy more books in a month than I can read in that same month.

Now I have a large selection of books sitting on my shelves that I’ve never gotten around to, and that is what this to-read goal is to help with. I’m not putting myself on a book buying ban, but I am going to cut down on what I buy until I’ve made my way through a fair few of these.

Continue reading “My Mid Year To-Read Goal”

Eliza and Her Monsters

Eliza and Her Monsters


Title: Eliza and Her Monsters

Author: Francesca Zappia

Series: N/A

Publisher: Greenwillow Books

Release Date: May 30th 2017

Rating:

Four Stars

Eighteen-year-old Eliza Mirk is the anonymous creator of Monstrous Sea, a wildly popular webcomic, but when a new boy at school tempts her to live a life offline, everything she’s worked for begins to crumble.

Scott Westerfeld’s Afterworlds meets Nimona in this novel about art, fandom, and finding the courage to be yourself. Features illustrations by the author throughout. Perfect for readers of Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl, this is the second novel by the acclaimed author of Made You Up.

In the real world, Eliza Mirk is shy, weird, smart, and friendless. Online, Eliza is LadyConstellation, the anonymous creator of a popular webcomic called Monstrous Sea. With millions of followers and fans throughout the world, Eliza’s persona is popular. Eliza can’t imagine enjoying the real world as much as she loves her digital community. Then Wallace Warland transfers to her school, and Eliza begins to wonder if a life offline might be worthwhile. But when Eliza’s secret is accidentally shared with the world, everything she’s built—her story, her relationship with Wallace, and even her sanity—begins to fall apart. With pages from Eliza’s webcomic, as well as screenshots from Eliza’s online forums, this uniquely formatted book will appeal to fans of Noelle Stevenson’s Nimona and Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

Continue reading “Eliza and Her Monsters”