ARC Review: There’s Someone Inside Your House

There's Someone Inside Your House


Title: There’s Someone Inside Your House

Author: Stephanie Perkins

Series: N/A

Publisher: Macmillan Children’s Books

Release Date: October 5th 2017

Rating:

Four Stars

Over a year after her parents sent her away from Hawaii to live with her grandmother in landlocked Nebraska, Makani Young is still adjusting to her new life. She’s made a small group of close friends and even flirted with romance, but her past in Hawaii is still hard to forget. And then…one by one the students of her new high school begin to die in a series of gruesome murders. Makani doesn’t know who’s next on the list. Between this, and a secret scorching relationship with the school weirdo, this school year may turn out to be one to die for…literally.

There’s Someone Inside Your House by Stephanie Perkins will have you swooning with fear and romance, and is the perfect page-turner for fans of Scream Queens and I Know What You Did Last Summer.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

I received this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Continue reading “ARC Review: There’s Someone Inside Your House”

Advertisements

ARC Review: A Semi-Definitive List of Worst Nightmares

A Semi-Definitive List of Worst Nightmares


Title: A Semi-Definitive List of Worst Nightmares

Author: Krystal Sutherland

Series: N/A

Publisher: Hot Key Books

Release Date: September 5th 2017

Rating:

Five Stars

From the author of Our Chemical Hearts comes the hilarious, reality-bending tale of two outsiders facing their greatest fears about life and love one debilitating phobia at a time.

Ever since Esther Solar’s grandfather was cursed by Death, everyone in her family has been doomed to suffer one great fear in their lifetime. Esther’s father is agoraphobic and hasn’t left the basement in six years, her twin brother can t be in the dark without a light on, and her mother is terrified of bad luck.

The Solars are consumed by their fears and, according to the legend of the curse, destined to die from them.

Esther doesn’t know what her great fear is yet (nor does she want to), a feat achieved by avoiding pretty much everything. Elevators, small spaces, and crowds are all off-limits. So are haircuts, spiders, dolls, mirrors and three dozen other phobias she keeps a record of in her semi-definitive list of worst nightmares.

Then Esther is pickpocketed by Jonah Smallwood, an old elementary school classmate. Along with her phone, money and a fruit roll-up she d been saving, Jonah also steals her list of fears. Despite the theft, Esther and Jonah become friends, and he sets a challenge for them: in an effort to break the curse that has crippled her family, they will meet every Sunday of senior year to work their way through the list, facing one terrifying fear at a time, including one that Esther hadn’t counted on: love.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

I received this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Continue reading “ARC Review: A Semi-Definitive List of Worst Nightmares”

Geekerella

Geekerella


Title: Geekerella

Author: Ashley Poston

Series: N/A

Publisher: Quirk Books

Release Date: April 4th 2017

Rating:

Four Stars

Cinderella goes to the con in this fandom-fuelled twist on the classic fairy tale.

Part romance, part love letter to nerd culture, and all totally adorbs, Geekerella is a fairy tale for anyone who believes in the magic of fandom. Geek girl Elle Wittimer lives and breathes Starfield, the classic sci-fi series she grew up watching with her late father. So when she sees a cosplay contest for a new Starfield movie, she has to enter. The prize? An invitation to the ExcelsiCon Cosplay Ball, and a meet-and-greet with the actor slated to play Federation Prince Carmindor in the reboot. With savings from her gig at the Magic Pumpkin food truck (and her dad’s old costume), Elle’s determined to win…unless her stepsisters get there first.

Teen actor Darien Freeman used to live for cons—before he was famous. Now they’re nothing but autographs and awkward meet-and-greets. Playing Carmindor is all he’s ever wanted, but the Starfield fandom has written him off as just another dumb heartthrob. As ExcelsiCon draws near, Darien feels more and more like a fake—until he meets a girl who shows him otherwise.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

Continue reading “Geekerella”

Wing Jones

Wing Jones


Title: Wing Jones

Author: Katherine Webber

Series: N/A

Publisher: Walker Books

Release Date: January 5th 2017

Rating:

Four Stars

Jandy Nelson meets Friday Night Lights: a sweeping story about love and family from an exceptional new voice in YA. With a grandmother from China and another from Ghana, fifteen-year-old Wing Jones is often caught between worlds. But when tragedy strikes, Wing discovers a talent for running she never knew she had. Wing’s speed could bring her family everything it needs. It could also stop Wing getting the one thing she wants.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

Continue reading “Wing Jones”

Wesley James Ruined my Life

Wesley James Ruined my Life


Title: Wesley James Ruined my Life

Author: Jennifer Honeybourn

Series: N/A

Publisher: Swoon Reads

Release Date: July 18th 2017

Rating:

Two Stars

Sixteen-year-old Quinn Hardwick’s having a rough summer. Her beloved grandmother has been put into a nursing home, her dad’s gambling addiction has flared back up, and now her worst enemy is back in town: Wesley James, former childhood friend and life ruiner.

So when Wesley is hired to work with her at Tudor Tymes, a medieval England-themed restaurant, the last thing Quinn’s going to do is forgive and forget. She’s determined to remove him from her life and even the score for once and for all—by getting him fired.

But getting rid of Wesley isn’t as easy as she’d hoped. When Quinn finds herself falling for him, she has to decide what she wants more: to get even, or to get the boy.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

Continue reading “Wesley James Ruined my Life”

Summer Days and Summer Nights: Twelve Love Stories

Summer Days and Summer Nights


Title: Summer Days and Summer Nights: Twelve Love Stories

Author: Stephanie Perkins (Editor)

Series: N/A

Publisher: Macmillan

Release Date: May 17th 2016

Rating:

Three Stars

A collection of twelve romantic tales of young summer love. Edited by Stephanie Perkins. Featuring new short stories by Leigh Bardugo, Francesca Lia Block, Libba Bray, Cassandra Clare, Brandy Colbert, Tim Federle, Lev Grossman, Nina LaCour, Stephanie Perkins, Veronica Roth, Jon Skovron, and Jennifer E. Smith.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

Continue reading “Summer Days and Summer Nights: Twelve Love Stories”

My Mid Year To-Read Goal

We all know how it goes. Every time a new book is released it gets added to our TBR list, and then it can take us months, or even years in some cases, to get around to reading it. Unfortunately when it comes to buying books my eyes are too big for my brain, and I buy more books in a month than I can read in that same month.

Now I have a large selection of books sitting on my shelves that I’ve never gotten around to, and that is what this to-read goal is to help with. I’m not putting myself on a book buying ban, but I am going to cut down on what I buy until I’ve made my way through a fair few of these.

Continue reading “My Mid Year To-Read Goal”

Eliza and Her Monsters

Eliza and Her Monsters


Title: Eliza and Her Monsters

Author: Francesca Zappia

Series: N/A

Publisher: Greenwillow Books

Release Date: May 30th 2017

Rating:

Four Stars

Eighteen-year-old Eliza Mirk is the anonymous creator of Monstrous Sea, a wildly popular webcomic, but when a new boy at school tempts her to live a life offline, everything she’s worked for begins to crumble.

Scott Westerfeld’s Afterworlds meets Nimona in this novel about art, fandom, and finding the courage to be yourself. Features illustrations by the author throughout. Perfect for readers of Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl, this is the second novel by the acclaimed author of Made You Up.

In the real world, Eliza Mirk is shy, weird, smart, and friendless. Online, Eliza is LadyConstellation, the anonymous creator of a popular webcomic called Monstrous Sea. With millions of followers and fans throughout the world, Eliza’s persona is popular. Eliza can’t imagine enjoying the real world as much as she loves her digital community. Then Wallace Warland transfers to her school, and Eliza begins to wonder if a life offline might be worthwhile. But when Eliza’s secret is accidentally shared with the world, everything she’s built—her story, her relationship with Wallace, and even her sanity—begins to fall apart. With pages from Eliza’s webcomic, as well as screenshots from Eliza’s online forums, this uniquely formatted book will appeal to fans of Noelle Stevenson’s Nimona and Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

Continue reading “Eliza and Her Monsters”

The Love Interest

the-love-interest


Title: The Love Interest

Author: Cale Dietrich

Series: N/A

Publisher: Feiwel & Friends

Release Date: May 16th 2017

Rating:

Four Stars

There is a secret organization that cultivates teenage spies. The agents are called Love Interests because getting close to people destined for great power means getting valuable secrets.

Caden is a Nice: the boy next door, sculpted to physical perfection. Dylan is a Bad: the brooding, dark-souled guy who is dangerously handsome. The girl they are competing for is important to the organization, and each boy will pursue her. Will she choose the Nice or the Bad?

Both Caden and Dylan are living in the outside world for the first time. They are well-trained and at the top of their games. They have to be—whoever the girl doesn’t choose will die.

What the boys don’t expect are feelings that are outside of their training. Feelings that could kill them both.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

Continue reading “The Love Interest”

Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour

Amy and Roger's Epic Detour


Title: Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour

Author: Morgan Matson

Series: N/A

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers

Release Date: May 4th 2010

Rating:

Five Stars

Amy Curry thinks her life sucks. Her mom decides to move from California to Connecticut to start anew—just in time for Amy’s senior year. Her dad recently died in a car accident. So Amy embarks on a road trip to escape from it all, driving cross-country from the home she’s always known toward her new life. Joining Amy on the road trip is Roger, the son of Amy’s mother’s old friend. Amy hasn’t seen him in years, and she is less than thrilled to be driving across the country with a guy she barely knows. So she’s surprised to find that she is developing a crush on him. At the same time, she’s coming to terms with her father’s death and how to put her own life back together after the accident. Told in traditional narrative as well as scraps from the road – diner napkins, motel receipts, postcards – this is the story of one girl’s journey to find herself.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

Continue reading “Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour”