ARC Review: There’s Someone Inside Your House

There's Someone Inside Your House


Title: There’s Someone Inside Your House

Author: Stephanie Perkins

Series: N/A

Publisher: Macmillan Children’s Books

Release Date: October 5th 2017

Rating:

Four Stars

Over a year after her parents sent her away from Hawaii to live with her grandmother in landlocked Nebraska, Makani Young is still adjusting to her new life. She’s made a small group of close friends and even flirted with romance, but her past in Hawaii is still hard to forget. And then…one by one the students of her new high school begin to die in a series of gruesome murders. Makani doesn’t know who’s next on the list. Between this, and a secret scorching relationship with the school weirdo, this school year may turn out to be one to die for…literally.

There’s Someone Inside Your House by Stephanie Perkins will have you swooning with fear and romance, and is the perfect page-turner for fans of Scream Queens and I Know What You Did Last Summer.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

I received this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Continue reading “ARC Review: There’s Someone Inside Your House”

Advertisements

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books on my Fall TBR List

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week there is a new topic for bloggers to choose and list their top ten. This week’s theme is Top Ten Books on my Fall TBR List.

There are plenty of books on my Fall TBR list; at the end of July I made a mid-year resolution to try and get through all the books I owned but still hadn’t read. There are a lot and I know I’m not going to read them all, especially considering there are so many incredible books still to be released. This list is mainly the books that have been/are being released between July and the end of this year that I want to read, as well two that just sounded so good I couldn’t pass them by.


Top Ten Tuesday #74

Continue reading “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books on my Fall TBR List”

ARC Review: The Language of Thorns: Midnight Tales and Dangerous Magic

The Language of Thorns


Title: The Language of Thorns: Midnight Tales and Dangerous Magic

Author: Leigh Bardugo

Series: N/A

Publisher: Orion Children’s Books

Release Date: September 26th 2017

Rating:

Five Stars

Love speaks in flowers. Truth requires thorns.

Travel to a world of dark bargains struck by moonlight, of haunted towns and hungry woods, of talking beasts and gingerbread golems, where a young mermaid’s voice can summon deadly storms and where a river might do a lovestruck boy’s bidding but only for a terrible price.

Inspired by myth, fairy tale, and folklore, #1 New York Times-bestselling author Leigh Bardugo has crafted a deliciously atmospheric collection of short stories filled with betrayals, revenge, sacrifice, and love.

Perfect for new readers and dedicated fans, these tales will transport you to lands both familiar and strange—to a fully realized world of dangerous magic that millions have visited through the novels of the Grishaverse.

This collection of six stories includes three brand-new tales, all of them lavishly illustrated with art that changes with each turn of the page, culminating in six stunning full-spread illustrations as rich in detail as the stories themselves.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

I received this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Continue reading “ARC Review: The Language of Thorns: Midnight Tales and Dangerous Magic”

The Book Aesthetic Tag

So I haven’t been tagged in The Book Aesthetic Tag, not officially anyways, and I don’t normally post two tags on two consecutive days, but I’m jumping on the aesthetics bandwagon and The Book Aesthetic Tag goes so well with The Blogger Aesthetic Tag I posted yesterday that I just couldn’t resist.

I saw this tag first on Kat’s blog, Life and Other Disasters, and technically she tagged everyone so I thought that could include me as well. Even though I still have a queue of tags I’m trying to get through.

The Book Aesthetic Tag

Rules:

  • Thank whoever nominated you (maybe you’re bitter that you have another tag to do on top of the billions you already need to do (#relatable), still though. Someone thought of you. Be thankful. At least pretend to be.)
  • Credit the creator of this tag; Michelle at The Writing Hufflepuff.
  • There’s no limit of how many aesthetics you can make for a question, but think of your poor readers.
  • Make your own aesthetics, please don’t steal them from someone else. Also what’s the fun in that?

Continue reading “The Book Aesthetic Tag”

The Blogger Aesthetic Award

Bloggers are (let’s just be honest here) the absolute best. There’s so much diversity and personality and creativity in this community—and what better way to celebrate those things than by spending the next twelve hours of our lives hunting down and collaging the images that best reflect our individual awesomeness?

Ever since I saw this tag when it was created and posted on Liam at Hey Ashers! blog I’ve wanted to take part, and now I’ve finally got around to it. I was tagged by Diana at Diana Prince Reviews, Fadwa at Word Wonders, and Marie at Drizzle and Hurricane Books. Thanks so much for the tag everyone, I had a lot of fun with this one.

The Blogger Aesthetic Award

Rules:

  • Collect any number of images that you feel represent you as a person—your personality, aspirations, favourite things, anything at all that makes you you.
  • Put your chosen images together into a collage of whatever size and shape you find pleasing.
  • Share your masterpiece with everyone, in all the places.
  • Maybe nominate other bloggers as a way to tell them, “Hey, you, I think you’re awesome, and we should celebrate that awesomeness.”
  • Share these rules (and maybe the below tips, if you’re feeling helpful).

Tips:

Continue reading “The Blogger Aesthetic Award”

ARC Review: Beasts Made of Night

Beasts Made of Night


Title: Beasts Made of Night

Author: Tochi Onyebuchi

Series: Beasts Made of Night, #1

Publisher: Razorbill

Release Date: September 26th 2017

Rating:

Three Stars

Packed with dark magic and thrilling action, Beasts Made of a Night is a gritty Nigerian-influenced fantasy perfect for fans of Paolo Bacigalupi and Nnedi Okorafor.

In the walled city of Kos, corrupt mages can magically call forth sin from a sinner in the form of sin-beasts—lethal creatures spawned from feelings of guilt.

Taj is the most talented of the aki, young sin-eaters indentured by the mages to slay the sin-beasts. But Taj’s livelihood comes at a terrible cost. When he kills a sin-beast, a tattoo of the beast appears on his skin while the guilt of committing the sin appears on his mind. Most aki are driven mad by the process, but 17-year-old Taj is cocky and desperate to provide for his family.

When Taj is called to eat a sin of a royal, he’s suddenly thrust into the centre of a dark conspiracy to destroy Kos. Now Taj must fight to save the princess that he loves—and his own life.

Debut author Tochi Onyebuchi delivers an unforgettable fantasy adventure that powerfully explores the true meaning of justice and guilt.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

I received an ARC of this book free from the publisher. It in no way affects my views on Beasts Made of Night.

Continue reading “ARC Review: Beasts Made of Night”

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Read and Loved While at High School/Uni

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week there is a new topic for bloggers to choose and list their top ten. This week’s theme is a throwback freebie, so I picked Top Ten Books I Read and Loved While at High School/Uni.

It was in high school, after reading Twilight, that I rediscovered my love of reading and grabbed all the young adult books I could get my hands on. Since then my reading tastes have changed a lot and some books I read back then, like Twilight, I know I wouldn’t enjoy as much if I picked them up again today. My picks for this week are all books I read while I was in high school or university, that I enjoyed but haven’t re-read since.


Top Ten Tuesday #75

Continue reading “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Read and Loved While at High School/Uni”

ARC Review: Invictus

Invictus


Title: Invictus

Author: Ryan Graudin

Series: N/A

Publisher: Orion Children’s Books

Release Date: September 21st 2017

Rating:

Five Stars

Time flies when you’re plundering history.

Farway Gaius McCarthy was born outside of time. The son of a time-travelling Recorder from 2354 AD and a gladiator living in Rome in 95 AD, Far’s birth defies the laws of nature. Exploring history himself is all he’s ever wanted, and after failing his final time-travelling exam, Far takes a position commanding a ship with a crew of his friends as part of a black market operation to steal valuables from the past.

But during a heist on the sinking Titanic, Far meets a mysterious girl who always seems to be one step ahead of him. Armed with knowledge that will bring Far’s very existence into question, she will lead Far and his team on a race through time to discover a frightening truth: History is not as steady as it seems.

In this heart-stopping adventure, Ryan Graudin has created a fast-paced world that defies time and space.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

I received an ARC of this book free from BKMRK. It in no way affects my views on Invictus.

Continue reading “ARC Review: Invictus”