ARC Review: What If It’s Us

What If It's Us


Title: What If It’s Us

Author: Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera

Series: N/A

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Children’s UK

Release Date: October 18th 2018

Rating:

Five Stars

Arthur is only in New York for the summer, but if Broadway has taught him anything, it’s that the universe can deliver a show-stopping romance when you least expect it.

Ben thinks the universe needs to mind its business. If the universe had his back, he wouldn’t be on his way to the post office carrying a box of his ex-boyfriend’s things.

But when Arthur and Ben meet-cute at the post office, what exactly does the universe have in store for them?

Maybe nothing. After all, they get separated.

Maybe everything. After all, they get reunited.

But what if they can’t quite nail a first date…or a second first date…or a third?

What if Arthur tries too hard to make it work…and Ben doesn’t try hard enough?

What if life really isn’t like a Broadway play?

But what if it is?

–Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

I received this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Continue reading “ARC Review: What If It’s Us”

Advertisements

You’re Not Good Enough Book Tag

When the Pingback for this tag first appeared in my notifications I thought it was a strange and possibly passive aggressive insult, then I realised it was a tag and had to laugh at how ridiculous I was being. I was tagged by Anny at The Mystique Reader. Thanks so much for the tag Anny, I had a lot of fun with this one so I hope you enjoy reading my answers just as much.

You're Not Good Enough Book Tag

Continue reading “You’re Not Good Enough Book Tag”

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Bookstores/Libraries I’ve Always Wanted to Visit

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl. Each week there is a new topic for bloggers to choose and list their top ten. This week’s theme is Top Ten Bookstores/Libraries I’ve Always Wanted to Visit.

I changed the theme a little this week, because honestly every bookstore and library I come across is one I want to visit, and instead I picked ten beautiful bookstores/libraries to feature. I spent hours on Pinterest searching for the best images, and got very distracted by how gorgeous some of these places actually are. My must-travel to list was long before this post, but it’s doubled in size now I’ve written it.


Top Ten Tuesday

All images are courtesy of Pinterest.

Continue reading “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Bookstores/Libraries I’ve Always Wanted to Visit”

Reading Around the World: Paris

Reading Around the World is a feature that combines my love of travelling with my love of reading. Each month I plan to spotlight either a city I have visited, or a city I plan to visit in the near future, and recommend some of my favourite books set there. After all even if you can’t visit these cities yourself the next best thing has to be reading about them and living the experience through the eyes of the characters.

Paris (1)

Continue reading “Reading Around the World: Paris”

ARC Review: Broken Things

Broken Things


Title: Broken Things

Author: Lauren Oliver

Series: N/A

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton

Release Date: October 18th 2018

Rating:

Four Stars

It’s been five years since Summer Marks was brutally murdered in the woods.

Everyone thinks Mia and Brynn killed their best friend. That driven by their obsession with a novel called The Way into Lovelorn the three girls had imagined themselves into the magical world where their fantasies became twisted, even deadly.

The only thing is: they didn’t do it.

On the anniversary of Summer’s death, a seemingly insignificant discovery resurrects the mystery and pulls Mia and Brynn back together once again. But as the lines begin to blur between past and present and fiction and reality, the girls must confront what really happened in the woods all those years ago—no matter how monstrous.

With all the intensity and whiplash turns of Gone Girl and One of Us Is Lying, this engrossing psychological thriller by New York Times bestselling author Lauren Oliver is an unforgettable, mesmerizing tale of exquisite obsession, spoiled innocence, and impossible friendships.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

I received this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Continue reading “ARC Review: Broken Things”

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Longest Books I’ve Ever Read

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl. Each week there is a new topic for bloggers to choose and list their top ten. This week’s theme is Top Ten Longest Books I’ve Ever Read.

This was a difficult topic for me because it’s rare that I pick up epically long books. There’s just something really intimidating when you see a massive book sitting on your shelves and you know it’s going to be a mission getting through it. Still I managed to come up with ten, though I did cheat a little and feature one that I haven’t got around to yet but that I will be reading as soon as I can.


Top Ten Tuesday #123

Continue reading “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Longest Books I’ve Ever Read”

Discussion Time: Plotting and Planning a WIP

There’s no right or wrong way to write a book (OK maybe that’s not true because I think what I’m doing now, which is not writing at all, is the wrong way to write a book) but everyone has a different way of going about it. There are people who plan every chapter and character, and people who start writing with nothing more than an idea and a blank Word document.

Those are the two extremes, you may be a mix of the two (which is where I think I am). This post isn’t to discuss the right and wrong ways to plan a WIP (like I said I don’t think there is a wrong way), but in the run up to NaNoWriMo I want to talk more about writing and WIPs to help me get my head back in the game.

Plotting and Planning a WIP

Plotting and Planning a WIP

Continue reading “Discussion Time: Plotting and Planning a WIP”

Soulbinder

Soulbinder


Title: Soulbinder

Author: Sebastien de Castell

Series: Spellslinger, #4

Publisher: Hot Key Books

Release Date: October 4th 2018

Rating:

Five Stars

The fourth book in the page-turning Spellslinger fantasy series.

Kellen and his murderous squirrel cat, Reichis, are on their own. They’ve heard rumour of a mythical monastery, known as the Ebony Abbey. It’s a place that outsiders can never find—but Kellen is getting desperate. He’s been told that the monks inside the Ebony Abbey know more about the Shadowblack than anyone else—and that they even know how to cure it.

Then Kellen and Reichis are separated and for the first time, Kellen must face the world alone – and venture deeper into shadow magic than he ever knew he could.

Perfect for fans of The Dark Tower, Firefly, Guardians of the Galaxy, Terry Pratchett, Ben Aaronovitch and Jim Butcher.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

I received this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

This review may contain spoilers for previous book(s) in the series.

Continue reading “Soulbinder”

Charmcaster

Charmcaster


Title: Charmcaster

Author: Sebastien de Castell

Series: Spellslinger, #3

Publisher: Hot Key Books

Release Date: May 17th 2018

Rating:

Five Stars

The third book in the page-turning Spellslinger fantasy series.

“I was getting almost as good at running away from enemies as I was at making them in the first place. Turns out, I wasn’t running nearly fast enough.”

Kellen has begun to master his spellslinging and the Argosi tricks for staying alive, and he and Reichis have found a career that suits them both: taking down mercenary mages who make people’s lives miserable. But Ferius is concerned that Kellen is courting disaster…

Perfect for fans of The Dark Tower, Firefly, Guardians of the Galaxy, Terry Pratchett, Ben Aaronovitch and Jim Butcher.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

This review may contain spoilers for previous book(s) in the series.

Continue reading “Charmcaster”

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Authors I’d Love to Meet

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl. Each week there is a new topic for bloggers to choose and list their top ten. This week’s theme is Top Ten Authors I’d Love to Meet.

Ages ago (back in March 2017) I took part in another Top Ten Tuesday topic and spoke about some of the authors I’d been lucky enough to meet and some of the authors I still wanted to meet. Granted as I’ve discovered so many amazing books since then I have way more authors I want to meet, but if you don’t see someone on this list who you think would be an obvious choice for me it’s because I’ve already featured them.


Top Ten Tuesday #122

Continue reading “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Authors I’d Love to Meet”