The Goodreads Book Tag

Now I finally have a Goodreads account for my blog I can take part in this tag without feeling like a fraud. Also, now I finally have a Goodreads account for my blog, I’m not sure why it took me so long to get around to creating one. I was tagged by Kirstie at Upside-Down Books. Thanks so much for the tag Kirstie, I had a lot of fun with this one so I hope you enjoy reading my answers just as much.

The Goodreads Book Tag

Continue reading “The Goodreads Book Tag”

Discussion Time: How Do You Manage Your Expectations for Hyped Books?

We all know what hyped up books are, and likely we’ve all be taken in by the hype at one point or another. But then, what happens when a highly anticipated books is released? Things will go one of two ways; either the book will exceed the hype and exceed everyone’s expectations, or it will fall short and end up disappointing plenty of people.

While everyone has different reading tastes I think hype is universal, and it’s very easy to be taken in by the anticipation and excitement. If a book has enough hype, enough glowing reviews and mentions across social media, then most of the bookish community, regardless of their reading preferences, will be somewhat taken un by the hype.

How Do You Manage Your Expectations for Hyped Books

How Do You Manage Your Expectations for Hyped Books?

Continue reading “Discussion Time: How Do You Manage Your Expectations for Hyped Books?”

Eliza and Her Monsters

Eliza and Her Monsters


Title: Eliza and Her Monsters

Author: Francesca Zappia

Series: N/A

Publisher: Greenwillow Books

Release Date: May 30th 2017

Rating:

Four Stars

Eighteen-year-old Eliza Mirk is the anonymous creator of Monstrous Sea, a wildly popular webcomic, but when a new boy at school tempts her to live a life offline, everything she’s worked for begins to crumble.

Scott Westerfeld’s Afterworlds meets Nimona in this novel about art, fandom, and finding the courage to be yourself. Features illustrations by the author throughout. Perfect for readers of Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl, this is the second novel by the acclaimed author of Made You Up.

In the real world, Eliza Mirk is shy, weird, smart, and friendless. Online, Eliza is LadyConstellation, the anonymous creator of a popular webcomic called Monstrous Sea. With millions of followers and fans throughout the world, Eliza’s persona is popular. Eliza can’t imagine enjoying the real world as much as she loves her digital community. Then Wallace Warland transfers to her school, and Eliza begins to wonder if a life offline might be worthwhile. But when Eliza’s secret is accidentally shared with the world, everything she’s built—her story, her relationship with Wallace, and even her sanity—begins to fall apart. With pages from Eliza’s webcomic, as well as screenshots from Eliza’s online forums, this uniquely formatted book will appeal to fans of Noelle Stevenson’s Nimona and Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

Continue reading “Eliza and Her Monsters”

The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue

The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue


Title: The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue

Author: Mackenzi Lee

Series: N/A

Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books

Release Date: June 20th 2017

Rating:

Five Stars

An unforgettable tale of two friends on their Grand Tour of 18th-century Europe who stumble upon a magical artefact that leads them from Paris to Venice in a dangerous manhunt, fighting pirates, highwaymen, and their feelings for each other along the way.

Henry “Monty” Montague was born and bred to be a gentleman, but he was never one to be tamed. The finest boarding schools in England and the constant disapproval of his father haven’t been able to curb any of his roguish passions—not for gambling halls, late nights spent with a bottle of spirits, or waking up in the arms of women or men.

But as Monty embarks on his grand tour of Europe, his quest for a life filled with pleasure and vice is in danger of coming to an end. Not only does his father expect him to take over the family’s estate upon his return, but Monty is also nursing an impossible crush on his best friend and travelling companion, Percy.

Still it isn’t in Monty’s nature to give up. Even with his younger sister, Felicity, in tow, he vows to make this yearlong escapade one last hedonistic hurrah and flirt with Percy from Paris to Rome. But when one of Monty’s reckless decisions turns their trip abroad into a harrowing manhunt that spans across Europe, it calls into question everything he knows, including his relationship with the boy he adores.

Witty, romantic, and intriguing at every turn, The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue is a sumptuous romp that explores the undeniably fine lines between friendship and love.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

Continue reading “The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue”

Song of the Current

Song of the Current


Title: Song of the Current

Author: Sarah Tolcser

Series: Song of the Current, #1

Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens

Release Date: June 6th 2017

Rating:

Four Stars

Caroline Oresteia has always been destined for the river. Her father is a wherryman, as was her grandmother. All Caro needs is for the river god to whisper her name, and her fate is sealed. But at seventeen, Caro may be too late.

So when pirates burn ships and her father is arrested, Caro volunteers to transport a dangerous cargo in exchange for his release. Secretly, Caro hopes that by piloting her own wherry, the river god will finally speak her name.

But when the cargo becomes more than Caro expected, she finds herself caught in a web of politics and lies. With much more than her father’s life at stake, Caro must choose between the future she knows, and the one she never could have imagined.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

Continue reading “Song of the Current”

Reading Around the World: London

Reading Around the World is a new feature that combines my love of travelling with my love of reading. Each month I plan to spotlight either a city I have visited, or a city I plan to visit in the near future, and recommend some of my favourite books set there. After all even if you can’t visit these cities yourself the next best thing has to be reading about them and living the experience through the eyes of the characters.

London (1)

Continue reading “Reading Around the World: London”

Books that Made Me Want to Travel

Tomorrow I am going to be launching a new feature on my blog.

It’s very exciting; both because I haven’t ever done anything like this before and because it’s something I can’t wait to share with you all, but more on my new feature at the bottom of this post. Today is more of an introduction to kick things off. You may be able to guess a little about what my new feature will be around based on the title of this post.


After reading, travelling is one of my main loves. I want to see the whole world and I won’t let anything stand in my way. I’ve already been to some amazing countries, with even more on my must-travel-to list, and a lot of my travel destinations have been inspired by books. Reading inspires me to do a lot and when I read about all these places books have been set, so far away from my own home, I can’t help but want to see them for myself.

Top Ten Books that Made Me Want to Travel

Continue reading “Books that Made Me Want to Travel”

Champion

Champion


Title: Champion

Author: Marie Lu

Series: Legend, #3

Publisher: Penguin

Release Date: November 5th 2013

Rating:

Five Stars

June and Day have sacrificed so much for the people of the Republic – and each other – and now their country is on the brink of a new existence. June is back in the good graces of the Republic, working within the government’s elite circles as Princeps Elect while Day has been assigned a high level military position. But neither could have predicted the circumstances that will reunite them once again. Just when a peace treaty is imminent, a plague outbreak causes panic in the Colonies, and war threatens the Republic’s border cities. This new strain of plague is deadlier than ever, and June is the only one who knows the key to her country’s defense. But saving the lives of thousands will mean asking the one she loves to give up everything he has. With heart-pounding action and suspense, Marie Lu’s bestselling trilogy draws to a stunning conclusion.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

This review may contain spoilers for previous book(s) in the series.

Continue reading “Champion”