Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Kick-Ass Names for Kick-Ass Characters

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl. Each week there is a new topic for bloggers to choose and list their top ten. This week’s theme is Top Ten Kick-Ass Names for Kick-Ass Characters.

My favourite genre is fantasy, and as well as the names sometimes being hard to pronounce (I know there are a few I’m still pronouncing incorrectly) they’re also pretty kick-ass. Granted names don’t really have much to do with saving the world but an epic name just stands out more, and fantasy is full of epic names.


Top Ten Tuesday #106

Nemesis
The Diabolic by S.J. Kincaid

All of the Diabolics have tough and kick-ass names; Nemesis, Anguish, Hazard, Enmity. Brutal names for brutal characters.


Paige Mahoney aka. Pale Dreamer aka. Black Moth
The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon


Sarai aka. The Muse of Nightmares
Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor


Diana Prince aka. Wonder Woman
Wonder Woman: Warbringer by Leigh Bardugo

When it comes to kick-ass characters I don’t think there’s any out there more kick-ass than Wonder Woman.


Lada Dragwyla
And I Darken by Kiersten White


Inej Ghafa aka. Wraith
Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo


Aelin Galathynius
Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Aelin is a character with more pseudonym’s than Daenerys Targaryen; Adarlan’s Assassin, Aelin Light-Bringer, and my personal favourite Fire-breathing bitch-queen.


Nova aka. Nightmare
Renegades by Marissa Meyer


Virginia au Augustus aka. Mustang
Red Rising by Pierce Brown


Lyra Belacqua aka. Lyra Silvertongue
Northern Lights by Philip Pullman

Lyra had her name changed to Silvertongue after helping Iorek re-claim his throne, and she was only a child at the time.


So what do you think? Did you take part in this week’s Top Ten Tuesday, if so let me know what your favourite character names are, kick-ass or otherwise?

41 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Kick-Ass Names for Kick-Ass Characters

  1. These are amazing names! I especially love the names from Strange the Dreamer. They are unique and also sound lyrical 🙂 It is also interesting how the characters that you listed sometimes have more than one name! Great post ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah everything about Laini Taylor’s writing is beautiful, and most times I focus on the world building and the way she writes but it applies to the names she picks as well doesn’t it?
      Names are one thing, nicknames can be much more kick-ass! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Really great list! I especially love the name Sarai! And her alias Muse of Nightmares! And Inej, Aelin, Nova and Lyra are all fantastic names and I love their alias as well 😀 I always forget Mustang has a real name as well 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Fantastic choices, Beth! I love the name Lyra so, so much, it’s one of my favorites I think ❤ I also really like Inej, it sounds really cool – damn, I have to read that book soon hahaha 🙂

    Like

  4. Inej Ghafa is QUEEN! (And of course her name matches her amazing character 😆) I also loved how all the Diabolics in S.J. Kincaid’s books have matching brutal names… I thought that was really clever, to give them names that are meant to be the opposite of the goodness of humanity. Great list, Beth!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. She really is. I wanted to include a character from Six of Crows and Inej is perfect, in my opinion she’s one of the most bad-ass of the six! 😀
      Yeah I thought that was clever too, their names match what they’re supposed to be, brutal killing machines programmed to protect one person above all else.
      Thanks so much. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I love all of Aelin’s names too… she’s right up there on my list 😊😊
    You have some great sounding ones on your list that I didn’t know about… 👍👍

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I love the name “Diana,” though I think “Diana Prince” is kind of weird because it makes me think of Princess Diana…except not “Princess,” LOL!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh that’s a shame, but I hope you managed to enjoy the book otherwise. I feel like one of the reasons I’ve never listened to audio books is because I know I’m pronouncing the names wrong, so I know that would throw me when I started listening. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.