A Conjuring of Light

a-conjuring-of-light


Title: A Conjuring of Light

Author: V.E. Schwab

Series: Shades of Magic, #3

Publisher: Titan Books

Release Date: February 21st 2017

Rating:

Five Stars

The battle between four magical Londons comes to a head in this stunning finale to the New York Times bestselling Shades of Magic trilogy by rising star V. E. Schwab

London’s fall and kingdoms rise while darkness sweeps the Maresh Empire—and the fraught balance of magic blossoms into dangerous territory while heroes and foes struggle alike. The direct sequel to A Gathering of Shadows, and the final book in the Shades of Magic epic fantasy series, A Conjuring of Light sees Schwab reach a thrilling culmination concerning the fate of beloved protagonists—and old enemies.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

There may be slight spoilers for A Conjuring of Light in this review. If you haven’t yet read the third book in the Shades of Magic series I’d recommend skipping this review until you have. As always this review may contain spoilers for previous book(s) in the series.

My Thoughts On…

…The Plot

“Myths do not happen all at once.
They do not spring forth whole into the world. They form slowly, rolled between the hands of time until their edges smooth, until the saying of the story gives enough weight to the words – to the memories – to keep them rolling on their own.
But all stories start somewhere.”

When we left A Gathering of Shadows Kell was trapped and chained in White London, Rhy was dying in Red, and Holland had been taken over by a powerful piece of Black London magic. A Conjuring of Light jumps right back into the fray and from the first page I was hooked. With both Kell and Rhy dying the palace is in chaos, as the King and Queen sit by their son and as the winner’s ball commences Lila makes her way to White London to find Kell and bring him home.

Meanwhile Holland, still trapped in his own mind by Osaron, a piece of pure magic that craves chaos, travels to Red London to make the world his own.

Osaron is nothing something that can be easily fought. He is an enemy with no body and no way to be reasoned with; he wants a kingdom, to be a King, and he wants one that is already thriving not one in pieces like White London is. When Kell and Lila return to Red London, bruised and injured from their ordeal, Osaron is launching his attack. He takes over the minds of the citizens and before they know it, before they even have a chance to fight back, Red London is falling.

“It is an arrogant man that thinks himself a god.”
And an arrogant god, thought Tieren, looking to the window, that thinks himself a man.

As every plan they try and launch against Osaron fails, as Red London becomes a ghost town with bodies lining the streets, Kell, Lila and Holland will need to work together, using all the strength, magic and luck at their disposal, to even have a hope of taking down Osaron. Soon, if they don’t find a way to stop him, Red London will share the fate of Black London.

It’s no secret that A Conjuring of Light was my most anticipated release of this year. Ever since I read A Gathering of Shadows I have been waiting for this book, and I pretty much sped through it. I couldn’t get enough and it’s so hard to believe this is the last book of what is my all-time favourite series. V.E. Schwab has created an amazing world and an amazing story. In A Conjuring of Light the action starts right from the beginning and doesn’t stop until the very end. The world has already been built, the characters already developed, and in this book it all came together to create an epic adventure. I never wanted A Conjuring of Light to end but at the same time I couldn’t read it fast enough.

…The Characters

“I keep wondering, if all of it is my fault. Where does it start, Tieren? With Holland’s choice, or with mine?”

Kell feels partly responsible for bringing Osaron into his world, and seeing the havoc it’s wreaking on his people he is willing to bleed out onto the pavements if it will keep the citizens of Red London safe. Kell has changed a lot from the boy we met in the first book, who traded objects across the worlds. Now he is someone who accepts the responsibility on his shoulders, he no longer wants to run away from the crown but instead fights to protect it.

“There were moments when Lila wondered how the hell she’d gotten here. Which steps – and missteps – she’d taken.”

Lila is another character who’s changed a lot. She is still strong, stubborn and a thief at heart, but like Kell she is now one to stand and fight, risk her life for strangers and a world not her own. She is still reckless, still doesn’t like being given orders, and doesn’t seem to have any respect for rules or authority but she understands the danger she has found herself in in Red London and she is willing to give all she has to defeat Osaron.

The relationships between all the characters were probably my favourite part of this book. The slow build-up between Lila and Kell turns into something more solid in A Conjuring of Light, and I loved every second the two of them were together. They’re both very different characters but their strengths and weaknesses compliment each others, they work well together despite the times they aggravate one another.

“You wanted him to kill for me, die for me, protect me at all costs. Well, Mother, you got your wish. You simply failed to realize that that kind of love, that bond, it goes both ways. I would kill for him, and I would die for him, and I will protect him however I am able.”

The sibling bond between Rhy and Kell was probably my favourite part of this book. Kell’s life is no longer just his own so he has to weigh his actions against the risk to his own life and the risk to Rhy’s as well, but as much as Kell is determined to protect Rhy Rhy feels the same way about Kell. After everything Rhy has been through he becomes a much stronger character in this book. Determined to stand and fight in any way he can even though he has no magic. He wants to be a prince for his people and to show them that they are not fighting alone.

“A world away, Holland was drowning.
He fought to the surface of his own mind, only to be forced back down into the dark water by a will as strong as iron. He fought, and clawed, and gasped for air, strength leaching out with every violent thrash, every desperate struggle. It was worse than dying, because dying gave way to death, and this did not.”

Holland was by far my favourite character in this book. He always been cast in the role of a villain in the first two, a puppet of the Danes and later a puppet of Osaron, but in this book we got to see beyond the surface of his character. We see everything from his beginning to now, no secret of his is left unrevealed and you start to see how being tied to so many people, used as a weapon again and again, weighs on him.

As far as villains go Osaron is an intriguing one. He isn’t a man or even a God, instead he is a piece of magic that had become something more. He craves chaos and wants to be King, wants to see the people of Red London bow before him. Osaron doesn’t understand humans, though he wants to rule over them, but he is incredibly powerful and seemingly unstoppable, after all how can you defeat an enemy with no solid form who is magic itself.

…The Setting

“As night fell, the shadows bloomed.
They ran together with the river and the mist and the moonless sky until they were everywhere. Osaron was everywhere. In every heartbeat. In every breath.”

Red London has always been a world of magic; the very best of all the Londons it is full of life and hope, magic and wonder. However in A Conjuring of Light it turns sinister. As Osaron’s power takes over the city life there turns dark, and the magic and wonder at the heart of the kingdom seems to start dying. Everything that was once beautiful is now horrific. V.E. Schwab did a great job creating the world in the first and second books, and in this one she did an amazing job of turning it on its head and creating something powerful and sinister and evil. The small glimpses we get of the streets of Red London outside of the castle show something truly evil at work, the things Osaron is doing only enhanced by the way the world changed in this book.


A Conjuring of Light more than lived up to my expectations. It was the perfect ending for my favourite series and the only issue I had with this book was that it had to end.

It was fast paced from the beginning, dragging me into the story and refusing to let go until the very end. I fell even more in love with the characters and the world and I will definitely be picking up this series again someday soon.

What did you think of A Conjuring of Light? Was it a favourite of yours or could you just not get into the story? Let me know.

 

40 thoughts on “A Conjuring of Light

  1. I’m in the middle of ADSOM and I am absolutely LOVING it. The characters are just so amazing and the story in of itself is so riveting. It’s really encouraging to see that you loved the way the trilogy ended! I’m definitely looking reading more of this series 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That is GREAT to hear Azia. This is my all-time favourite series so I always love it when other people start and love the books.
      It just gets better from ADSOM so you have the best yet to come. When you get to the end of AGOS though spare a thought for the people who had to wait a whole year for ACOL! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. LOL, I’ll be excited to see what AGOS has in store for me. I just finished ADSOM and my god…INSTANT FAVORITE. I love Kell so much. Rhy too! Heck, Lilah too! Everyone was awesome 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’ll try to get that up as soon as I can! Gotta write a couple reviews before i do that one though. LOL, I’m behind again, but at least I’m in the mood for reviewing and I’ve actually got the time! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m SO HAPPY to see that you loved this book as well, Beth! I know just how much we were both looking forward to reading it and I think it definitely lives up to expectations, which is amazing bc my expectations probably couldn’t go any higher. It was definitely an ‘epic adventure’ like you said.

    And yeees, the relationships in this book were also really amazing! Loved the stolen moments between Lila and Kell – sometimes when characters fall in love they act very… romancey? But it feels like even with their relationship they were both very much themselves, so I was glad for that. And Rhy and Kell were just amazing – I think we’ve seen lots of Kell doing all the things for Rhy but I feel like this book is so much more balanced.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh yes this book was everything I wanted it to be and more. Then again I think given how much I loved this series I was bound to love this book no matter what. 🙂
      High expectations but I am so glad A Conjuring of Light lives up to them, for both of us.
      I thought Lila and Kell were written perfectly throughout the series, and definitely in this book as well. There was enough so you felt invested in their relationship but not too much that it overshadowed the story or their individual characters. And yes definitely, I loved seeing Rhy getting protective over Kell rather than it just feeling like the other way around. 🙂

      Like

      1. Yeees, you’ve put it so eloquently! Like the romance becomes a part of their story but not their character, if that makes sense, and I appreciate that so much. 😛

        I’m so, so glad ACOL lives up to our expectations tbh. For a second there before reading I was worried it wouldn’t – third books don’t always finish perfectly but this one does. ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      2. That does make sense, and that’s the best kind of romance as well. Where the characters are still individual characters and the romance doesn’t become who they are, just a part of their story.
        There was a lot of hype for this book, and actually there have been a couple of series which have had endings that really let me down. So glad that wasn’t the case with this one. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      1. I will pick it up at some point… I literally just wrote and scheduled the post for my TTT tomorrow ( I did book I’ve bought and haven’t read yet) and I feel like a slacker because I have yet to pick up so many books!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. It will be well worth it when you do get around to it in that case! And don’t worry I feel the same, there are plenty of books I own that I haven’t got around to yet. I’m sure it’s the same for every blogger out there! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. A Conjuring of Light was a marvel and I still can’t stop thinking about the book and its amazing characters. I felt that every one of them came through and I was so glad that Rhy and Alucard were more included in this book, relationship-wise. But hells, it was such an emotional rollercoaster to read ACOL. All the thrills and excitement and heartbreak. Schwab really knows how to keep her readers hooked!

    As always, this is a great review, Beth!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh it definitely was, and actually I still find myself thinking of it every now and again. It was such a beyond amazing book.
      The character development was brilliant, and yeah I was glad we got to see more of Rhy and Alucard and the background to their relationship too, it kind of made me root for them more knowing about their history.
      I was pretty much hooked on this book from the beginning, emotional rollercoaster is a very appropriate description I think. 😀
      Thanks so much! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m SO glad you loved this book! I got it recently but haven’t gotten round to reading it yet, but my excitement for it just keeps building every time I see it on my shelf 😀 I have a feeling my review will be similar to yours, in rating at least 😆

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh it was amazing. I’m sure once you do get around to it it will have been well worth the wait, and yeah I reckon it will be a five star read for you as well! 😀 I felt that way before I read it. I’d keep glancing at my bookshelves just to finally see it there. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Well I will admit I didn’t read this full review yet, since I haven’t read ACOL and I wouldn’t want to be spoiled about it. But I am so, so happy you loved it so much, Beth, and that it was the right ending for this series. I am so impatient to read it now, even more than before 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh no definitely, if you haven’t read the book yet I’d advise going into it completely blind because it’s honestly the best way to read it, not having even the slightest clue what is going to happen next.
      Yeah I thought it was amazing, and I can’t wait for you to read it Marie because I think you’ll really love it as well. It was definitely worth the wait! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I finished it yesterday morning and I think I cried my way through the last 30%. It was such a perfect ending to an amazing series. A piece of my heart feels like it’s missing though. Also, yes, at Holland! I love him so much. He’s such a complex, well-developed character. Fantastic review, Beth! So glad you loved it too ♥

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh the last part was definitely emotional. I was near tears myself, especially when it came to Holland’s last chapter, but yes a perfect end to the series and well worth the wait as well.
      Holland was just wonderful. He became my favourite character in this book which, considering everything he’s done, is a great feat.
      Thanks so much Lauren, and I can’t wait to see your review for this book too! 😀 ❤

      Like

  7. Okay, well, reading your warning got me to realize that I’d better wait till I read the series before checking out your review hahaha I’m quite glad to hear that it managed to snatch a 5 star rating from you again!! This is soooo promising. 😛 I hear Schwab managed to snatch a movie adaptation for this series too! Gosh, that’s motivation to read this series ASAP!

    – Lashaan

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ha, yeah I wouldn’t have wanted to spoil anything in this book for anyone who’s yet to read it. I think ACOL, and the whole series actually, is a book best read when you have no clue what’s going to happen next. Kind of makes the reveals even more revealing you know?
      This was always going to be a five star read for me, it was a perfect ending to the series.
      Yes I’d heard about that and oh I am so excited. This is a series I reckon would look incredible on the big screen! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Oh my gosh Beth I am SO excited you read this and this review brings back all the memories of the feels I had reading this book. It is SUCH an amazing book, and ahhhh I don’t have enough words to describe my feelings on this, honestly. Kell and Rhy’s relationship is so beautiful and I love it to death. I was actually so invested in their relationship, everything they went through stuck with me and ahhhh I just love them so much. I loved Kell and Lila’s relationship as well, so sweet, and so great, we finally get something a bit more substantial than the past two books aha. All of the characters in this book shine so much, and HOLLAND! He goes through so much pain, so much more than he deserves. MY HEART. Okay this comment grew much longer than I expected, basically I’m so glad you loved this (how could you not, though?!) and lovely review! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is definitely an amazing book, my favourite of the year so far and the perfect ending to this series as well! 😀 Kell and Rhy’s relationship has been my favourite part of the whole series and I was so glad to see more of it and them in this book. Rhy fighting back against his mother about Kell after he wakes up was amazing! Kell and Lila took a while to build up didn’t they but worth it in my opinion.
      Holland was definitely my favourite character in this book, and oh I was nearly in tears when we got to his last chapter at the end of this book.
      Ha, that’s all right, I could talk all day about this book.
      And you’re right how could I not love this book. How could anyone not love this book?!
      Thanks Analee. 😀 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh my gosh yes!! Their relationship tugged at my heartstrings so much and that moment with Rhy and his mother oh my gosh YES. 🙌 Kell and Lila were so worth it, agreed.
        Hollanddddd I never thought I’d like him so much, I swear he went through so much more pain than he deserved. 💔
        I know right??! It’s deserves so many praises. 💘

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I was glad the relationship between Rhy and his parents was expanded on in this book, despite how painful it was at the end! It wouldn’t have been the same if Kell and Lila had jumped into a relationship straight away would it?
        He deserved to be happy! The fact that V.E. Schwab can turn his character around like that though is pretty amazing when you think about it. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  9. I haven’t heard of this series until now, but reading this review makes me think it would be a really great one to add to my list! It sounds really exciting! Lovely review.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oh if you haven’t heard of this series before then it’s one you really need to pick up. It’s probably my all-time favourite at the moment and highly worth a read. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did if you do decide to pick it up.
      Thanks Lindsey. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.