Waiting on Wednesday: By Your Side

Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spine, which shines a light on eagerly anticipated upcoming releases.

This week my pick is;

by-your-side

By Your Side by Kasie West

Publisher: HarperTeen

Release Date: 14th February 2017

Goodreads

In this irresistible story, Kasie West explores the timeless question of what to do when you fall for the person you least expect. Witty and romantic, this paperback original from a fan favourite is perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins and Morgan Matson.

When Autumn Collins finds herself accidentally locked in the library for an entire weekend, she doesn’t think things could get any worse. But that’s before she realizes that Dax Miller is locked in with her. Autumn doesn’t know much about Dax except that he’s trouble. Between the rumours about the fight he was in (and that brief stint in juvie that followed it) and his reputation as a loner, he’s not exactly the ideal person to be stuck with. Still, she just keeps reminding herself that it is only a matter of time before Jeff, her almost-boyfriend, realizes he left her in the library and comes to rescue her.

Only he doesn’t come. No one does.

Instead it becomes clear that Autumn is going to have to spend the next couple of days living off vending-machine food and making conversation with a boy who clearly wants nothing to do with her. Except there is more to Dax than meets the eye. As he and Autumn first grudgingly, and then not so grudgingly, open up to each other, Autumn is struck by their surprising connection. But can their feelings for each other survive once the weekend is over and Autumn’s old life, and old love interest, threaten to pull her from Dax’s side?


After reading P.S. I Like You Kasie West shot to the top of my TBR list. I have the rest of her books that have been released so far on my to-read list for this month and then I discovered a new release for next year. Locked in a library over the weekend? That would literally be a dream come true for me.

So what does everyone think; is By Your Side a must on anyone else’s to-read list or are there any other books that you can’t wait for to be released?

25 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday: By Your Side

    1. I was the same when I read the blurb. If I wrote reviews based on my anticipation for books this would already be five stars! 🙂
      Definitely a dream, but unlikely to happen outside of YA contemporary books I suppose.
      Thanks Marie, and yeah it’s a long time to wait but I have the rest of Kasie West’s books to get through in the meantime. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Definitely just added this to my TBR! Who doesn’t want to be locked in a library for the weekend? I really need to pick up some of Kasie West’s other books because all I hear are good things. I need to stuff P.S. I Like You into my binge reading TBR 😂. Great pick! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yep, that would actually be my idea of a fun weekend, locked in a library or bookstore! 😀
      I’ve only read P.S I Like You so far but it was really good, I have the rest of her books on my to-read list and I hope to get through at least some of them this month.
      Thanks! ❤️

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Same! It would be a relaxing, quiet weekend where you could be surrounded by books and just read 😍. Not that that is entirely impossible outside of a bookstore or library but the environment would be incredible.

        I have a few of her other ones on my TBR as well, hopefully I’ll be able to get around to a few of them within the next few months. 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yep, and you definitely wouldn’t run out of options anytime soon would you. It would be quiet and peaceful though wouldn’t it, and there would be no distractions either which you can get reading elsewhere.
        Yeah I have the rest of hers on my to-read list, I need to start working my way through them. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope it has some kind of realistic element to it, I feel like it’s also likely it will just be glossed over in favour of the romance. Still I enjoyed the first Kasie West book I read so I have high hopes for this one. 🙂
      That’s all right, I hope you enjoy this book when it’s released! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

