Waiting on Wednesday: The Ship Beyond Time

Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spine, which shines a light on eagerly anticipated upcoming releases.

This week my pick is;

The Ship Beyond Time

The Ship Beyond Time by Heidi Heilig

Publisher: Greenwillow Books

Release Date: 28th March 2017

Goodreads

Nix has spent her whole life journeying to places both real and imagined aboard her time-travelling father’s ship. And now it’s finally time for her to take the helm. Her father has given up his obsession to save her mother – and possibly erase Nix’s existence – and Nix’s future lies bright before her. Until she learns that she is destined to lose the one she loves. But her relationship with Kash – best friend, thief, charmer extraordinaire – is only just beginning. How can she bear to lose him? How can she bear to become as adrift and alone as her father?

Desperate to change her fate, Nix takes her crew to a mythical utopia to meet another Navigator who promises to teach her how to manipulate time. But everything in this utopia is constantly changing, and nothing is what it seems—not even her relationship with Kash. Nix must grapple with whether anyone can escape her destiny, her history, her choices. Heidi Heilig weaves fantasy, history, and romance together to tackle questions of free will, fate, and what it means to love another person. But at the centre of this adventure are the extraordinary, multifaceted, and multicultural characters that leap off the page, and an intricate, recognizable world that has no bounds. The sequel – and conclusion – to the indie darling The Girl from Everywhere will be devoured by fans of Rachel Hartman and Maggie Stiefvater.


The first book in this series was one of my Waiting on Wednesday picks before it was released, so when I saw the cover and blurb for the second one I had to post it as well. The Girl From Everywhere was one of the best time travel books I’ve read this year so I can’t wait to get my hands on the second, and last, in the series.

So what does everyone think; is The Ship Beyond Time a must on anyone else’s to-read list or are there any other books that you can’t wait for to be released?

10 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday: The Ship Beyond Time

  1. I actually have the first book from this series on my TBR!! I have heard a lot of awesome things, but I have yet to grab my own copy! I love this cover though 🙂 great pick

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh I would highly recommend The Girl From Everywhere then, I thought it was an amazing read, and I loved the concept behind the time travel as well.
      Yeah both books have an amazing cover, I only hope the story for the second one is as good as the first one was! 😀
      Thanks! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oooh. I haven’t read TGFE yet but this one actually sounds more interesting! I love the whole “everything is constantly changing” thing and I wonder how that’ll be reflected in their romance. Hope it’s as good as the cover. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.