The Writer’s Tag

Now that I’m writing again – now that I’ve won NaNo 2017 and finished the first draft of my WIP – I’m making leaps and talking about my writing on my blog, and that means The Writer’s Tag is the perfect one for me to take part in. I was tagged by Sophie at Sophie’s Corner and Marie at Drizzle and Hurricane Books. Thanks so much both of you for the tag, I had a lot of fun with this one so I hope you enjoy reading my answers just as much.

The Writer's Tag

What genres, styles, and topics do you write about?

The genre I write more than any other is fantasy, to the surprise of probably no one. However I do have an idea for a sci-fi WIP which has been floating around in my head for a while, so that will probably be my next project once I finish my current WIP.

The topics I like to include are basically the things I love reading about in books, and the things I feel like we need more of as well; strong family relationships, close sibling bonds, diverse characters, and plenty of magic.

The Writer's Tag (1)


How long have you been writing?

A long, long time. I can’t say exactly when I started writing but I can say it’s been as long as I can remember. In primary school I would write short stories, only a page or two long if that, and I never really stopped although obviously my writing has improved over the years.


Why do you write?

I just do. I have so many ideas floating around in my head and the more I think about them, play out different scenarios for the characters and the story, the more they morph into different ideas. Putting them down on paper is the only logical thing I could think of, and basically when it comes down to it I just love writing.


When is the best time to write?

On the weekdays in the evening. In the mornings I’m never really awake until I get to work, and then I have to work all day so I only tend to be free in the evenings to work on my WIP. On the weekends I can write all day if I’m inspired which is why during NaNo my word count soared on the weekends.

The Writer's Tag (2)


What parts of writing do you love and hate?

The parts of writing I love are…

  • Creating new worlds that, before I started writing, only existed in my mind.
  • Getting some of the many ideas floating around my head out onto paper and seeing the stories and characters take form.
  • The way my ideas change as I start writing, going places that I never could have planned.
  • The moment when I’m inspired and in the zone and I feel like I’ll never stop writing.

The parts of writing I hate are…

  • Writers block

(Honestly I think that’s about it, there’s nothing worse than writer’s block.)


How do you overcome writer’s block?

Normally when I’m blocked it’s because I’m not sure where my WIP is going, so I do something different. Either I move onto another chapter or another part of the story that I am inspired to write, or I try and reset my brain by watching TV, or reading a book, or even cleaning my room.

Sometimes it’s not writer’s block I’m experiencing, but just me being lazy and not feeling ‘in the mood’ to write. Then I push myself through and start writing something, anything, and before I know it it’s a couple of hours later and I’ve writing a few thousand words.


Are you working on something at the moment?

Yes, kind of. I started a project that I’ve had in my head for ages now for NaNoWriMo this year, but now November is done I need to go back, do more research and planning, and then re-write everything because while I managed to write over 50K words in one month not much of it was good.

The Writer's Tag (3)


What are your writing goals this year?

As this year is almost over I’m going to talk about my writing goals for next year.

First I need to re-plan and re-research my NaNoWriMo WIP. It felt like the second November was over I had hundreds of ideas for my WIP which needed to be put down on paper ASAP. Currently half my characters have been re-named and I’ve added more secondary characters to my story.

Secondly I need to re-write my NaNoWriMo WIP. I’m aiming to spend January and February on the re-planning and re-research so I’m hoping to get started on the re-write in March.

Thirdly I want to take part in NaNoWriMo again in November and reach 50K words again with a new WIP. I’m hoping that by November I’ll have re-written my WIP so I can get started on a new project which I have already started planning.


I feel like all the bloggers I know who are also writers have either already been tagged, or already taken part in The Writer’s Tag so I’m at a loss as to who I can tag.

So instead let me know what your answers for these questions would be. Why do you write? Are you working on anything new at the moment? What are your writing goals for the next year? And if there’s anyone out there who wants to take part consider yourself tagged.

 

28 thoughts on “The Writer’s Tag

    1. Thanks so much. 🙂 Yeah there’s nothing quite like seeing an idea that only existed in your head before coming out on paper, and the idea that you can share that idea with the world too. My ideas go so many strange and wonderful places as I write, I end up with something really different to what I imagined. 🙂
      Thanks! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I’m so happy you did this tag, Beth, I loved reading your answers 🙂
    Writer’s block is the worst – I hate when that happens and, even when I read or do something else, it still won’t pass. I guess time is the best medicine in that case, too 🙂
    I’m so happy to hear you will be re-working on your NaNo story next year! I can’t wait to hear more about it, I am sure it’s fantastic ❤
    I'm just like you, writing on the evenings when I have time, and mostly on the weekends… well, used to. for now, I don't know exactly what I'm doing, but I'm not writing haha. 🙂
    Great post! xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much Marie, and oh I’m really glad as well. 🙂
      Yeah definitely the worst, I haven’t been writing that long to have experienced it properly but back when I was writing way more years ago I remember just hating it. I feel like you just need to re-set a little and the only way to do that is time like you said. There’ll be plenty of updates on my WIP when I start writing it again. 🙂
      I guess it’s just when we have the spare time right? And oh hopefully you’ll be back to writing again soon, I guess the end of the year is kind of a funny time all around isn’t it? 🙂
      Thanks so much! 😀 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t think I could ever write a book… I have thought about it before, but my brain just goes Nope and retreats somewhere where I can’t find it 😂😂 I’m glad you enjoy writing though, and I hope I get to read one of your books one day!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hello Beth ❤ I am so glad that you did this tag! I relate so much to each of your answers!
    I am also most productive in the evening and weekends when it comes to writing. (Seems like this is a pattern that I see for a lot of writers out there?!) I find that I have to be in the zone when I am writing, which is easier to do during the weekend when I have a lot more free time, and in the evening when work and chores are all sorted out.
    When I get writer's block, I tend to sit in from of my laptop and force words to come out haha. However it sounds like a great idea to get out there and do something different. I guess maybe a change in scenery might provide some inspiration? 🙂
    Seems like you have a good plan going forward in 2018! All the best for your WIP! Looking forward to more updates! 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Sophie. 🙂
      Oh thanks so much, I really enjoyed this tag and, well it’s just great to be able to talk about my writing now I’m writing again! 😀 Ha, yeah definitely a pattern, I guess for me it’s just that the evenings and weekends are when I have the most free time so I write more by default you know? Like you said easier to get into the zone when you don’t have to worry about work or chores.
      For me changing the scenery always works. I feel like most time when I have writers block it’s because there’s another character or scene being louder in my mind than the one I’m working on. Once I have that out on paper it’s easier to then go back to what I was writing.
      Thanks so much Sophie, and yes there will be plenty of updates in the near future once I start working on my WIP again in the new year! 😀 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Haha yes, I also find that writer’s block sometimes strikes when I am trying to write a scene that just isn’t very interesting at the moment, and when my mind is already focused on another scene further ahead in the novel. I’m wondering if you ever write scenes out of order? For example, write a later scene and then going back to an earlier one. I hear some writers who do this though I haven’t tried it myself.
        Happy writing 🙂 ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’ve found it’s best to get that later scene that I’m more inspired to write out of the way, then I can focus back on what I was writing without having to worry about writers block.
        Oh yeah I do that a lot. Most of the time it is just because the later scenes are louder in my mind and in order to focus on the earlier ones I just need to get them down on paper.
        Thanks Sophie, you too! 😀 ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Oh okay! I never wrote out of order before. Sometimes I would go ahead and start outlining a scene, noting down a particular dialogue that is in my mind without writing it fully out. However I do find that when I actually go sit down and write the scene much later, I usually have less steam. Maybe I will try writing scenes out of order as well 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      4. When it comes to writing for me I tend to go wherever the inspiration takes me. Kind of a mixture of my tendency to procrastinate everything I do and my desire to avoid writer’s block as much as humanly possible. I say give it a go, worst that can happen is it doesn’t work and you go back to writing like you used to right? 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Ah, I love this, Beth! And yes, I totally agree with the writer’s block thing — often I get that block because I don’t know what to write about. But other times, it’s just a lack of motivation to write, even tho I know exactly what I’m supposed to be writing, so all I can do is just force myself to write!

    I tend to write in the afternoon for some reason? (That’s when I don’t have school, of course.) For me, my mood really depends on the atmosphere around me — and usually, when it’s darker outside, I feel lazier. But in the morning, it’s quite bright — I just don’t feel up to it since I just woke up. 😂

    Great post, Beth! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks May. 🙂 I haven’t been writing again for long enough to experience full on writers block but hopefully I’ll find some way to manage it when it does strike me again. Moving onto another part of the story is what always worked in the past. I used to have different Word documents for different chapters! 😀
      I kind of get what you mean about feeling lazier when it’s darker outside. I always think it hard to find my initial motivation when it’s winter and the days are so much shorter, but once I have that I just won’t stop writing. 🙂
      Thanks so much. 😀 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Writing late at night usually helps me when it comes to the creative side of writing or coming up with ideas for a story. For some reason, ideas just flow. It’s weird because I’m sleepy/tired and I’m sort of writing in a daze.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh in a way it’s the opposite for me, in that when I’m writing at night I’m wide awake and have the energy to just sit down and keep tapping away at my keyboard. I’m normally still asleep in the mornings so anything I write then tends to be more gibberish than not! 😀

      Like

    1. Honestly it varies. My ideas come from pretty much anywhere, most times I just see something on Pinterest (Pinterest is actually the source for most of my inspiration to be honest) or in real life and it kind of unlocks a story in my mind. I don’t really brainstorm either, I tried planning and doing a chapter outline for NaNoWriMo and on the first day I went completely odd tangent. When it comes to writing I normally just wing it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.