Waiting on Wednesday: The Beginning of the World in the Middle of the Night

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event which aims to shines a light on eagerly anticipated upcoming releases.


The Beginning of the World in the Middle of the Night by Jen Campbell
Release Date: November 2nd 2017

The Beginning of the World in the Middle of the Night

“These days, you can find anything you need at the click of a button.
That’s why I bought her heart online.”

Spirits in jam jars, mini-apocalypses, animal hearts and side shows.
A girl runs a coffin hotel on a remote island.
A boy is worried his sister has two souls.
A couple are rewriting the history of the world. 
And mermaids are on display at the local aquarium.

The Beginning of the World in the Middle of the Night is a collection of twelve haunting stories; modern fairy tales brimming with magic, outsiders and lost souls.

Fairytales are a serious weakness of mine. All a blurb needs to do is reference fairytales, have the same sense of magic that can be found in stories like The Little Mermaid and Alice in Wonderland or genres like magical realism, and it’s an automatic add to my to-read list.

I can’t say what drew me to The Beginning of the World in the Middle of the Night (actually, it was probably the gorgeous cover that first caught my eye) but the second I read the blurb I knew I needed this book in my life. This quickly become a highly anticipated release of mine and luckily given I discovered it quite late I don’t have much longer to wait until its release.


What do you think of The Beginning of the World in the Middle of the Night? Is it a must on your to-read list, or are there any other books you can’t wait for the release date of? Let me know in the comments and let me know if you took part in this week’s Waiting on Wednesday as well.

19 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday: The Beginning of the World in the Middle of the Night

  1. I’m the exact same!! If I’d seen this cover and read the blurb, I’d automatically add it to my TBR (which I just did now hahaha) Just sounds so whimsical and amazing!
    Thanks so much for sharing, Beth 🙂 Had never heard of this one before, but it sounds marvelous ❤ ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Some books are just so gorgeous you have to add them, for me this is definitely one of them. 😀 Oh that’s great, I hope you love this book in that case Sophie, and that’s all right.
      Yeah it seems not many people have heard of this one, maybe once it’s released and people can buy/read it it’ll get a little more buzz surrounding it. 🙂 ❤

      Like

  2. Okay, wow, I can’t believe I haven’t heard of this book before – it sounds SO good and I love this cover, it’s absolutely gorgeous. I’m not reading tons of short stories, but I have a feeling I’d want to add this one to my TBR anyway. That blurb gave me the “I NEED THIS BOOK” feeling ahah 🙂 Thank you for featuring this! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah it seems to be a bit of an underrated gem, but it’s one I can’t wait for the release date of.
      Honestly I’m not a huge fan of short stories either, a lot of them have been either hit or miss and I think there have been more misses overall, but there’s something about this one (probably the gorgeous cover, let’s be honest) I just can’t resist.
      That’s all right, if you pick this one up I hope you love it Marie! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Jen is one of my favourite people! I’ve been watching her booktube videos for ages, and I’ve loved her three non-fiction books so far! I’m going to a Waterstones event she’s speaking at in Norwich in November and will probably get a copy of the book as well! So excited to see her in person 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah I saw on Goodreads she was a Booktuber, maybe if I enjoy this book I’ll check out some of her videos or something. 🙂
      Oh that sounds like a great event, and I hope you have a brilliant time as well. If you’ve loved all her books so far it’ll be great to meet her in person. 😀

      Like

  4. I’ve never heard of this book until now, but it sounds so cool. The cover is beautiful by itself and I love fairytale retellings so I’ll have to check it out when it comes out. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I feel it’s a little bit of an underrated gem, but maybe once it’s released and people start reading it there’ll be more buzz surrounding it.
      Those are the main two reasons I added this to my to-read list! 😀 I hope you love this one as well in that case Rebecca. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. firstly, that cover is soooooo beautiful and heart eyes emoji worthy lol. secondly, this sounds amazing. although i am not the short story type of reader, the stories contained in this one are right up my ally. happy reading!! and i hope you really enjoy this. i will be on the lookout for a review =)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It really is, you can see why the cover alone convinced me to add this to my to-read list before I’d even read the blurb right? 😀
      Short stories have been hit and miss for me, but I’m willing to give this one a try because yeah it sounds right up my alley too.
      Thanks Gretchen, and if you decide to pick this one I hope you love it too! 🙂 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I will not lie, I had to click this post, because the cover is so exquisite. Short stories are hit or miss for me, but this collection sounds sort of magical and whimsical. It could be a hit for me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh it really is, and it was the cover that first made me click on the Goodreads page for this book. Short stories can be hit and miss for me too, but I have a good feeling about this collection. It certainly sounds like something I’d love and hopefully it’ll be something you love too. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.