Last Seen Leaving

Last Seen Leaving


Title: Last Seen Leaving

Author: Caleb Roehrig

Series: N/A

Publisher: Feiwel & Friends

Release Date: October 4th 2016

Rating:

Five Stars

Flynn’s girlfriend has disappeared. How can he uncover her secrets without revealing his own?

Flynn’s girlfriend, January, is missing. The cops are asking questions he can’t answer, and her friends are telling stories that don’t add up. All eyes are on Flynn—as January’s boyfriend, he must know something.

But Flynn has a secret of his own. And as he struggles to uncover the truth about January’s disappearance, he must also face the truth about himself.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

My Thoughts On…

…The Plot

“There was a corpse in my neighbor’s front yard.”

When Flynn arrives home one day to find a police car sitting in the driveway he’s not sure what to expect, but hearing his girlfriend January has been missing for nearly a week isn’t it. Flynn has no idea where January has gone, and can’t answer the police’s questions as well as they’d like. However after they leave he starts thinking about his and January’s last meeting, the one that ended with an argument and the possible breakdown of their relationship, and starts to wonder whether she’s simply ran away to teach her parents a lesson, or if it’s something more deadly than that.

As Flynn starts looking into January’s disappearance himself, still believing she’s just run away from her mum and step-dad, he starts to discover that maybe he didn’t know January as well as he first thought. Everyone seems to have a different story about her that doesn’t match with what Flynn remembers about his girlfriend; and none of them paint him, January, or their relationship in the best light.

“I have this awful feeling that…that we’re never going to see January again. That she’s just…gone.”

While uncovering the lies January has told Flynn also has to deal with his own secret that he’s kept hidden. However with the police closing in, digging deeper into what really happened to January as well as Flynn’s possible role in it all, Flynn finds his secret getting harder and harder to keep hidden.

I haven’t read too many mystery/thriller books but it’s a genre I really want to read more of. The two books within this genre I have read have both been five star reads so I’m interested in discovering more. From the beginning I was hooked on Last Seen Leaving; there were clues dropped throughout the plot and I was constantly trying to guess what had happened to January, what would happen to her and Flynn. The character development Flynn went through as he faced the truth about himself and January was also wonderful to read.

…The Characters

“If I’d been a better boyfriend, I’d have said something about it. Hell, if I’d been a better friend. But I had been on my guard from the beginning, and when she’d started kissing me, I’d let my defensiveness take over.”

Flynn was a wonderful character to explore and discover more about. Although his relationship with January ended with a bitter fight he still cares about her. Even before they were dating they were best friends so when she goes missing Flynn needs to find out what happened to her. Flynn makes mistakes, and one of them was potentially not reaching out to January when she started to distance herself from him and her friends, still he throws himself head first into trying to find her when she goes missing.

The secret Flynn keeps is one he has buried so deep he denies it even exists, but it is always there and it’s not something he can just wish away. At his heart Flynn is a good person – loyal and dedicated to the people he loves – but he can also be stubborn and very defensive which causes him trouble more often than not.

January gave me a bemused look that might or might not have been genuine, a knowing glint flickering in the depths of her placid blue eyes. “Flynn, haven’t you figured it out by now? I’m not scared of anything.”

January was a large part of this story despite us not seeing much from her character. We see her in Flynn’s flashbacks from their early relationship, and through these flashbacks we see the good in her. However there seems to be two sides to her character. There is the side of January Flynn knows and cares for, his best friend and girlfriend, and then there’s the side he hears about from her new schoolmates, the troubled girl with a standoffish attitude and a neglectful boyfriend.

“January had been troubled by something, and I was so terrified of being honest that I’d made things worse on purpose. And now she was missing. Missing. What if the scenario was truly worst case? What if I could have done something to prevent it, but I’d let my secret get in the way?”

Last Seen Leaving is a story that makes you suspect everyone. January didn’t have any friends at her new school, or so she told Flynn, and she hated her new step-father and her new home, so each character involved in January’s life is a suspect in her disappearance. Everyone is hiding a secret, not revealing the whole truth, and it makes them all suspicious as you uncover more about the day January disappeared alongside Flynn.

However there are still plenty of good relationships in this book to balance out the bad ones January seemed to have. The memories Flynn has of his relationship with January show the two were dedicated to one another, but also Flynn’s relationship with his parents and his friends were strongly written and relied upon as Flynn digs deeper into January’s disappearance. While the main character development surrounds Flynn and January the side characters were just as well written.


Last Seen Leaving was a story that kept me guessing right until the very end. This book was perfectly paced; every time I thought I had a theory that explained what happened to January, and what would happen to Flynn, the next page completely threw that theory out of the window. After finishing this I need to add more mystery books to my to-read list because I’m hooked on the genre.

What did you think of Last Seen Leaving? Was it a favourite of yours or could you just not get into the story? Let me know.

28 thoughts on “Last Seen Leaving

    1. Thanks Lauren. 🙂 Yeah I thought it was a brilliant book, definitely kept me guessing right up until the very end. I think after finishing this one I need to find more books from this genre to get started on! 😀

      Like

  1. I’m glad to see you enjoyed this! I read this way back when and actually had Togo back and see what I thought about it from my review 🙈🙈 I have it four stars, because it some minor issues for me – like I didn’t really like January all that much and I had guessed the ending!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh yes I thought it was a great story. I’m glad you enjoyed it as well although I do kind of get what you mean about January, there were times I didn’t like her that much at all. I had no clue about the ending, part of what made me give this book five stars after all! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m so happy that you ended up loving this one, Beth! I swear Last Seen Leaving made me want to read all of the thrillers because it a roller-coaster ride of a book. When I read it I couldn’t put it down for anything and it had my jaw dropping more often than not. Were you completely surprised by the ending? I didn’t see it coming at all! I mean part of me considered the possibility in the beginning but then so many things happen that I chunked the theory I had out the window. And I love how it ended up being more than just a thriller. There was also Flynn’s own separate journey in coming to terms with his secret. And I loved Kaz. He was probably my favorite aside from Flynn. Great review as always!! 😊♥

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah this was definitely a great book, and I’m glad I saw your review which made me add this to my to-read list in the first place. I’m definitely going to add some more thrillers to my to-read list after finishing this one. It’s made me want to discover more about the genre.
      I was completely surprised by the ending. I had no idea that was where it was going to go but the second it was revealed it made perfect sense and I was kind of in awe that the author managed to write it and make it turn out that way. I never even had that theory in the first place so you’re a step ahead of me, even if you did chuck it out the window in the beginning.
      Oh both Flynn and Kaz were amazing characters, and I loved them both together as well.
      Thanks Melissa! 😀 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m glad I could convince you to add it to your TBR (and that you ended up reading and loving it). I remember being such a big book pusher with this one back when I read it. It’s just such a great book though! Especially if you’re someone who doesn’t read a lot of thrillers (like me). I saw someone say it was the perfect book to kick start reading thrillers once. 😊
        I had the same reaction! Definitely in awe over the direction the author took it in. Especially because it kind of tricks you into thinking one thing happened when really it didn’t. I so want more books by the author! He needs to write more lol.
        You’re welcome, Beth!! 😊♥

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Well yeah I mean like I said when I first saw your review the first line had me hooked before I even started the book. It’s a great story so I can see why you were pushing it so much! 😀
        I don’t read a lot so one like this I rate five stars you know is a good story, at least in my opinion it is.
        I changed my mind about what happened to January so many times, and about who her character actually was. It was great writing and great character development as well! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Lovely review, Beth, I’m so glad to hear you liked this one. I’m not a big reader of thriller and mystery books like this one, but it’s something I do want to get into more, especially after reading your review for this book 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much Marie. ❤ Normally I'm not a fan of thriller and mystery books either but the two I've read so far (this one and 13 Minutes) have been amazing so I feel I should probably explore the genre a little more. 🙂
      If you do decide to pick up this book, or another from the genre, I really hope you end up enjoying it! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  4. This sounds like an interesting read! You might like the one I just finished, as well, if you’re looking for more thrillers. It’s called “Lies She Told”. It’s pretty full on but so, so good!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It definitely was, I haven’t read many mystery books but after loving the two I have read I may need to check out some more. Thanks for the recommendation, if you think I’ll enjoy it I’ll definitely try and check it out soon. I’m certainly looking for more thrillers now! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed this, Beth! I read it aaages ago before it was published and quite enjoyed it too, though I found the mystery to generally be, hmm, shallower than I had expected. But I agree re: Flynn being an amazing character – he was certainly flawed and also an unreliable narrator, which makes for an interesting thriller. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Reg. Yeah mystery/thrillers aren’t normally my first choice when it comes to books I read but I’m so glad I picked this one up. 🙂 Oh that’s a shame you didn’t enjoy the mystery as much, I think I was pretty much hooked on every aspect of this story.
      I think, based on some of the reviews I’ve read for other thriller books, that character seems to be what make or break books like this. I’m glad Flynn made this one, so to speak! 😀 ❤

      Like

    1. It’s a brilliant read isn’t it? I can definitely see why it’s your favourite of the year so far. I don’t normally read thriller/mystery books but after this one I may have to try and pick up some more.
      Thanks Alex! 😀

      Like

  6. This sounds so amazing. I love mystery’s and thrillers but I find it so hard to find good ones! A lot of the time I end up seeing what’s coming and just get bored, so this sounds like one that’ll keep me on my toes! Great review ❤

    Liked by 2 people

    1. It’s a great book, and if you love mystery’s and thrillers this is one I’d highly recommend. I’m not a massive fan of the genre but Last Seen Leaving had me hooked, and I didn’t see what was coming at all so hopefully you won’t either. 🙂
      Thanks so much! 😀 ❤

      Like

  7. Yeah, so glad to see you enjoyed this one, Beth! I want to read this one this year because it sounds so good, and I’m always on the lookout for a good YA thriller.

    (Also, yes, fall into the mystery/thriller hole like I did last year! 😏)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.