Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Characters I’d Love to Re-Visit in Ten Years

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week there is a new topic for bloggers to choose and list their top ten. This week’s theme is Top Ten Characters I’d Love to Re-Visit in Ten Years.

I’m about 99% sure that this list dissolved from Top Ten Characters I’d Love to Re-Visit in Ten Years to Top Ten Books I Really Want to Read a Sequel For.

I’m never satisfied when a book ends; it can be my all-time favourite series with the best finale I’ve ever read, like The Lunar Chronicles, or a stand-alone book which doesn’t need a sequel for the story to feel complete, like We Were Liars, but I still want more. I still want to see what happens to all the characters after the last page.


Top Ten Tuesday #20

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

After everything that was revealed in the final few chapters I find myself desperate to find out more about what happens to Cadence after she leaves the island her seventeenth summer; how she goes back to life finally knowing the truth of what she and the Liars did when they were fifteen. I’d love to read her recovery, and her life continuing after that summer.


Bone Gap by Laura Ruby

This was such a beautiful book and I am still kind of holding out hope for a sequel even though I know that’s very unlikely. I want to read more about Finn and Petey, more about Sean and Roza. All the characters of Bone Gap were so amazing even a year after first reading this book I can’t forget any of them.


Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz

There is already a sequel in the works for this book, though with no cover or blurb I have no clue what to expect. I’d love to go back to Ari and Dante after the events of the first book; I’d love to see their life unfolding together, spanning the years like the first book did. These two characters were so amazingly written I fell in love with them and honestly I can’t wait to jump back into their world.


Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

This is an all-time favourite book of mine and I would probably pick up a leaflet if it had more Simon and Baz on it. Now that they’ve finished Watford, after everything they faced from the Mage and the Insidious Humdrum, after what happened to Simon and everything between him and Baz I feel there’s so much of their story left to be explored.


Simon Vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

I would really love to see more of Simon and Blue, life after high school maybe the two going to college. I imagine no matter what they would be a really strong couple and I’d love to read more of their story after the ending of Simon Vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda.


The Immortal Heights by Sherry Thomas

This is another favourite series of mine and I would love to go back to Iolanthe and Titus in ten years and just see where their lives have led them.


The Winner’s Kiss by Marie Rutkoski

Though I loved Kestrel and Arin, and would like to read more of their story, the main reason I put this book on my list this week was because I want to see more from the secondary characters points of view. What happened to Roshar and Risha – do the two ever manage to repair their relationship – and what happened to the Valorian empire after the war.


The Girl From Everywhere by Heidi Heilig

There are still more books due to be released in this series but I’d love to see Nix in ten years time having realised her dream of Navigating on her own; taking a map, using it to find her fortune and buy her own ship, and sailing wherever she dreams. Hopefully with Kash by her side.


Winter by Marissa Meyer

Yes there has already been an epilogue released but I want even more. I want to see Cinder and Kai successfully ruling over New Beijing, I want to see Scarlet and Wolf living happily on her farm, I want to see Cress and Thorne travelling all over the world aboard the Rampion, and I want to see Winter and Jacin acting as Luna’s ambassadors for Earth. I also really want a story for Iko and Kinney.


Dreams of Gods and Monsters by Laini Taylor

I enjoyed the ending for this series but it was left open for so many more possibilities that I’d love to see one of them, another story and another chapter in both Akiva and Karou’s lives. I’d really love to go back to their world in ten years time to see what Akiva and Karou have achieved both together and separately, also I can’t deny that I really want a story for Ziri and Liraz.


In the end I couldn’t narrow my list down to just ten. I made it to eleven and couldn’t get rid of any of the books I had picked to make it ten. So I kept all eleven.

The Love That Split the World

The Love That Split the World by Emily Henry

I thought the ending to this book was really confusing, but in my mind it was an ambiguously happy one. However I still want to see it expanded on; I want to see more of Natalie and Beau and I want them to actually have their own, proper, happily ever after ending.


So what do you think? Did you take part in this week’s Top Ten Tuesday, if so let me know which characters you’d love to re-visit in ten years time.

19 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Characters I’d Love to Re-Visit in Ten Years

  1. I would love to read about the lives of Aristotle and Dante in the future (no matter if right after the events in the book or years in the future). 😀 Really exited about the sequel, though I wish we had more information on it. Can’t say anything about the other books as I haven’t read any of them (though quiet a few are on my TBR list).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. God I’m the same, I feel like I’m going to be constantly checking the sequel on Goodreads waiting for more information on it! I can’t wait to jump back into Ari and Dante’s world because k loved them so much in the first book!
      Oh well I hope you get around to the ones you have on your TBR list soon then 😀 and I really hope you enjoy them when you do!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Same! I can’t wait until we get more information about it, exited about the cover – hopefully it will be pretty as it was for the first one! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. YES MORE ARISTOTLE AND DANTE! Even though we are getting the sequel (which I will be picking up as soon as it comes out!), anything extra about them that could come out would be awesome!
    On my list I put that I would want to see Simon before the events of Carry On, but I would equally want to learn about what happens after the events of Carry On. I’m just imagining all of the banter Rowell could write 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. God I am so excited for the sequel it feels unreal. I wish we had more information on it (I really cannot wait to see the cover) I am going to be clued to Goodreads waiting for updates 🙂
      I would read a book just of Simon and Baz sitting next to each other snapping and talking at one another like they did in Carry On! Also now that you mention it I would LOVE to see a prequel as well, more of Simon and Baz in Watford, even Baz before he met Simon or more about Simon’s parents! Hell I would just love Rainbow Rowell to write more of the Carry On world!

      Like

  3. I can’t believe I’ve only read one book from this list! All of these are on my TBR though.

    Going back to We Were Liars would be so good! I’d love to see how Cadence is doing and how she handled everything! It would be really interesting seeing her recovery process.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. (I take it We Were Liars is the one you read then!)
      But yes I would LOVE sequel for Cadence. After everything she discovered it would be great to see how she handled things when she left the island again, and even if she ever went back there with her family another summer.

      Like

    1. I would happily read a novel just about Simon and Blue’s relationship and them being happy together 😀
      But yeah I feel there is so much about Cadence’s character left to discover, especially after the ending of We Were Liars! And I am so excited for the sequel of Ari and Dante too! ❤️

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m like 100% sure they will manage to be happy, after everything they went through I doubt Simon or Baz are ones to give up on each other without a fight!
      Thanks for the link, I’ll definitely check out your TTT

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.