Waiting on Wednesday: Crooked Kingdom

Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spine, which shines a light on eagerly anticipated upcoming releases.

This week my pick is;

Crooked Kingdom

Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

Publisher: Henry Holt and Co.

Release Date: 27th September 2016

Goodreads

Kaz Brekker and his crew have just pulled off a heist so daring even they didn’t think they’d survive. But instead of divvying up a fat reward, they’re right back to fighting for their lives. Double-crossed and left crippled by the kidnapping of a valuable team member, the crew is low on resources, allies, and hope. As powerful forces from around the world descend on Ketterdam to root out the secrets of the dangerous drug known as jurda parem, old rivals and new enemies emerge to challenge Kaz’s cunning and test the team’s fragile loyalties. A war will be waged on the city’s dark and twisting streets―a battle for revenge and redemption that will decide the fate of magic in the Grisha world.


Everything Leigh Bardugo has written I have loved, and honestly I thought Six of Crows was the best of the lot. After the way it ended Crooked Kingdom is one of my most anticipated releases for this year. So what does everyone think; is Crooked Kingdom a must on anyone else’s to-read list or are there any other books that you can’t wait for to be released?

27 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday: Crooked Kingdom

      1. Yay! It is related to another series but I don’t think it’d be too confusing; none of the characters appear from the first series, it’s not even set in the same country! There are just sly little hints and references throughout which I don’t think are too important to the story.
        I think if you know a little bit of the background around the Grisha people from the first series you should be all right to just start with Six of Crows

        Liked by 1 person

      2. That’s all right 😀 I know there are some carry-on series where you have to have read the previous books to understand what’s going on. I don’t think that’s really the case with Six of Crows so you should be OK starting with that one. I really hope you like it!

        Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ll definitely read it during the summer! Or maybe I should read it closer to the release of the sequel?
        Aren’t the covers absolutely gorgeous?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’d like to say read it as soon as you possibly can but if you’re as impatient as me when it comes to sequels being released it may be a better idea to wait until closer to the sequels release!
        Oh yes, I love the covers so much, I can’t wait to have both of them on my bookshelves, they’re gonna look so pretty.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I got Six of Crows really soon after it was release and boy was I angry with myself because I realised how long I had to wait until the next book. I mean the cover is beautiful, the writing is probably going to be beautiful too, WHY CAN’T I HAVE THIS BOOK NOW! So yes, this is a must read for me definitely!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I feel that’s pretty much my motto; ‘why is there such a long wait for the next book!’ I’ll cry after reading pretty much anything in a series! And it’s still so long to go before this ones released isn’t it? Yes I love the cover for this book, it goes so well with the first book and I can’t wait to have them both together on my bookshelves. I think anything Leigh Bardugo writes is going to be a must read for me, she’s such an amazing author!

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.