The Book Love Tag

I was tagged on Valentine’s Day and now, weeks after February 14th, I’ve finally got around to completing it. Luckily I’m not a big fan of Valentine’s Day; for me it’s just another day and, after all, if you love someone do you really just pick one day to express that love?

Jesse at Books at Dawn tagged me in this challenge. Thanks so much for the tag Jesse, I really enjoyed this one. I have so many OTP’s and it was great fun sorting through them all for this tag, I ended up picking a different one for each question, because that was a lot more fun for me!

The Book Love Tag

This tag was created by Anette Reads who is also to credit for the above image.

Your favourite book couple.

Cinder and Kai, The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer.

They’ve been through so much, both together and separately, and overcome even more to finally end up where they did; and I loved reading their relationship as it developed throughout the whole series.

The Lunar Chronicles


Your top three book boy/girlfriends.

Jase, My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick.

Levi, Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell.

Owen, Just Listen by Sarah Dessen.

Book Boyfriends

Apparently I have a type; sweet guys from YA contemporary romance novels who are honest, loyal, upstanding and supportive.

Why can’t I meet anyone in real life like the characters I read about in books.


Imagine your favourite book couple. Who would propose, and how? (If there’s already been a proposal: who would be more into organizing the wedding?)

Simon and Baz, Carry On by Rainbow Rowell.

I imagine Simon would propose because Baz probably wouldn’t be bothered or concerned with human marriage traditions, not like he is with the mage ones. However he would probably make a big fuss when it comes to the organisation and planning of the wedding. Baz would want something elaborate, fitting for both a member of the Pitch Family and the former Mage’s Heir, and probably a little over the top. Simon would just go along with it, having given up a long time ago trying to reign Baz in.

Carry On


Unpopular opinions time! Name a popular pairing you can’t stand.

Mare and Cal/Maven, Red Queen series by Victoria Aveyard.

To be honest I don’t ship her with either of them, Cal seems like kind of a weak and whiny character and Maven is a little psychotic. Hopefully a more worthy person will come into Mare’s life, if not she should just take the throne from the Silvers on her own and dump both Cal and Maven.

Red Queen


What’s your favourite and least favourite romance trope?

At the moment my favourite romance trope is frenemies to lovers, like Simon and Baz from Carry On. There is part of me that loves the idea that the whole reason the two characters being at each other’s throats, antagonising one another, is because they have a secret crush.

My least favourite is insta-love. Although that being said I don’t mind soulmate stories as long as it’s well written and the two characters have a chance to get to know one another and let their relationship develop properly. However I can’t stand insta-love, or love at first sight, where after a day the two characters are declaring their undying love for one another but probably don’t even know the other persons birthday. I just don’t buy it.


Do you ship non-canon couples often? Name some if you do.

Iko and Kinney, Winter by Marissa Meyer.

I’m not sure if there’s something there, but I certainly hope so. I loved Iko in the series and she deserves a happily ever after, all the other characters got one.

Winter

Ziri and Liraz, Dreams of Gods and Monsters by Laini Taylor.

There wasn’t much interaction between the two of them, but the one scene where they’re both fighting side by side in battle together, there is definitely something there between them.

Dreams of Gods and Monsters

Ronan and Adam, Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater.

I really, really hope this is where Maggie Stiefvater is going with Ronan and Adam. A lot of people ship this, not just me, and I think they’d make an amazing couple.

Blue Lily, Lily Blue


Your opinion on love triangles. Go!

It honestly depends on how well they’re written. I don’t go out of my way to avoid books with love triangles in them but I don’t enjoy reading about a heroine’s struggle to choose between two guys. Especially when nine times out of ten love triangles are only used to create tension and advance the plot.

Now don’t get me wrong there are books out there where love triangles are well-written, developed, and executed. However there are plenty more where the hero/heroine doesn’t have any chemistry with one, let alone two of their love interests.


Favourite and least favourite love triangle?

Favourite…

Alyssa, Jeb and Morpheus, Splintered series by A.G. Howard

Alyssa has a history with both Jeb and Morpheus and while Jeb was the one Alyssa’s human side picked, Morpheus drew her Netherling half. Also I really liked the way the love triangle between the three of them was resolved. It’s not something that would work for every book but for Alyssa, Jeb and Morpheus it fit.

Splintered Series

…And Least Favourite

Athena, Calypso and Odysseus, Goddess War series by Kendare Blake

I did not like this love triangle one bit. I felt like it was literally just added to create tension in the plot, I could not think of any other reason for it being there.

Goddess War Series


Sometimes romance just isn’t the way to go. Favourite friendship?

Jo and Meda, Soul Eaters series by Eliza Crewe

I adore their friendship, even more than the romantic relationships between Jo and Chi, and Meda and Armand. It isn’t easy, the two clash at times, but when it comes to the important stuff Jo and Meda always have each other’s backs.

Soul Eaters Series


What’s your favourite scene with your bookish OTP?

I’m going to pick a couple, because I am a sucker for a romantic scene between characters and I honestly can’t narrow it down;

“What,” Scarlet breathed, clutching the bouquet, “is this?”
Wolf smiled around his canine teeth. “You are the most beautiful sight I have ever laid eyes on.”
Scarlet cocked her head. “And you look like you’re about to get married.” There was blatant amusement in her tone.
 Stars Above by Marissa Meyer

The whole of Scarlet and Wolf’s wedding was so beautiful. I’m so pleased they got their happily ever after.

He shakes his head, and he’s saying something, and I think I might kiss him.
Because I’ve never kissed anyone before. (I was afraid I might bite.) And I’ve never wanted to kiss anyone but him. (I won’t bite. I won’t hurt him.)
I just want to kiss him, then go.
“Simon…,” I say.
And then he kisses me.

And…

“I let myself slip away…
Just to stay sane. Just to get through it.
And when I felt myself slipping too far, I held on to the one thing I’m always sure of—
Blue eyes.
Bronze curls.
The fact that Simon Snow is the most powerful magician alive. That nothing can hurt him, not even me.
That Simon Snow is alive.
And I’m hopelessly in love with him.”
Carry On by Rainbow Rowell


Imagine your favourite book couple again. Who’s most excited about Valentine’s Day (either ironically or genuinely)?

Kash and Nix, The Girl from Everywhere by Heidi Heilig

I imagine Kash would be very excited for Valentine’s Day. At first glance it would be in an ironic, light-hearted, and jokey kind of way. However underneath that facade he’d be genuine and give Nix the best day ever.

I think Nix would act like she didn’t care, be willing to let the day pass without do anything special, but she’d be secretly be thrilled when Kash made a fuss and pulled out all the stops for her.

The Girl From Everywhere


My Tags:

  1. Astra at A Stranger’s Guide to Novels
  2. Brigitte at The Book and The Bone
  3. Cat at The Book Finch
  4. Jorelene at Page Chronicles
  5. Larkin at Wonderfilled Reads
  6. Reg at She Latitude
  7. Sonia at Unsolicited Two Cents

And if there’s anyone else out there who wants to take part, consider yourself tagged. Just send me a link to your post in the comments so I can see what books you picked.

22 thoughts on “The Book Love Tag

  1. I’m not really into insta-love either. In fact, my answer for that will probably be the same… although I also don’t really like love triangles, so maybe a toss between those two would be my least favourite romance trope. I think insta-love, especially, usually comes across as really cheap and forced to me. I can’t think of any insta-love couple that I like (although insta-lust is a different thing and is completely acceptable personally).

    Thanks so much for the tag! This sounds like a fun one to do. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah insta-love just doesn’t feel realistic, and it kinda strikes me as lazy writing as well. Like there’s no time taken to actually develop the relationship between two characters and yeah like you said it seems forced as well. I mean, I don’t fall in love with people after knowing them for one day, or less in some cases!
      Ugh, I’m not a fan of love triangles either! In some cases they can be well done but in a lot of books I’ve read it literally feels like they’re just used to create tension.
      But that’s all right, I hope you have fun completing this tag! I certainly did 🙂

      Like

      1. Definitely. And it’s super… juvenile, I want to say. I think when I was younger I was definitely more susceptible to thinking that what I felt is ~love~ but not so much anymore, haha.

        Truth be told I’ve actually never read a love triangle that I liked (and could remember). I agree that they’re typically used to create tension. :/

        Liked by 1 person

      2. No I completely agree, it’s something I enjoyed more when I was younger because it seemed…I can’t think fit of the right word but like you said it was kinda how I thought love was. But yeah that’s definitely changed now I’m older and have read more books 😀
        I wouldn’t say I like love triangles but I think some are better written than others. There are some that I just hate because it adds nothing to the character development or the story itself and its just like, why was this even put in the story :/

        Like

      3. Exactly! That’s what I looked for in ~love~ when I was a teenager: that whole magnetic, instant attraction thing (along with some semblance of possessiveness because I thought that was just appropriate — like, if you like that person, surely you want to ‘protect’ them?). But now I realise just how unhealthy that dynamic was. Cheers to growing up! 😛

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Now reading some YA books, and re-reading some I enjoyed as a teenager I kind of wonder why I loved them so much. I mean the stories of some are still good but the romance aspect just feels really rushed. Like they meet and all of a suddenly can’t live without one another. And I know what you mean, some books the protective and possessiveness is too much. Like if that was a real life relationship I’d be advising them to call the police and get a restraining order or something! Yeah, glad we’ve grown out of that phase 🙂

        Like

  2. Such great answers here! ❤ I agree with you about Valentine's Day, ahah, why choose one day to express love?
    I'm going to start reading Cinder soon, probably next week, and I am excited! I hope I'll like it.
    Jase is such a perfect book boyfriend, I love him a lott, great choice! ❤ And I didn't know there was a love triangle in Splintered, but if it's a great one, then, okay. I don't really enjoy that trope, -but I hate insta-love more! and I like when a love triangle is done well, just not here because, hey, why not add a second love interest, if you know what I mean, aha!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Splintered probably has the only love triangle I actually enjoyed reading. Yes I love Morpheus too 😀 but I think what I loved the most was the way Howard actually resolved the love triangle between the three of them.
      But that’s all right 🙂 I really hope you have as much fun as I did with this tag!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s all right, I really hope you enjoy completing it as well. I have so many OTPs so the real struggle for me was actually narrowing it down and just featuring a few of them!
      But oh yes I highly highly recommend The Lunar Chronicles, it is literally my all-time favourite series. I’m definitely one of the people saying great things about it 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

