City of Ashes

City of Ashes


Title: City of Ashes

Author: Cassandra Clare

Series: The Mortal Instruments, #2

Publisher: Walker

Release Date: March 28th 2008

Rating:

Four Stars

Clary Fray just wishes that her life would go back to normal. But what’s normal when you’re a demon-slaying Shadowhunter, your mother is in a magically induced coma, and you can suddenly see Downworlders like werewolves, vampires, and faeries? If Clary left the world of the Shadowhunters behind, it would mean more time with her best friend, Simon, who’s becoming more than a friend. But the Shadowhunting world isn’t ready to let her go—especially her handsome, infuriating, newfound brother, Jace. And Clary’s only chance to help her mother is to track down rogue Shadowhunter Valentine, who is probably insane, certainly evil—and also her father.

To complicate matters, someone in New York City is murdering Downworlder children. Is Valentine behind the killings—and if he is, what is he trying to do? When the second of the Mortal Instruments, the Soul-Sword, is stolen, the terrifying Inquisitor arrives to investigate and zooms right in on Jace. How can Clary stop Valentine if Jace is willing to betray everything he believes in to help their father?

In this breathtaking sequel to City of Bones, Cassandra Clare lures her readers back into the dark grip of New York City’s Downworld, where love is never safe and power becomes the deadliest temptation.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

This review may contain spoilers for previous book(s) in the series.

Continue reading “City of Ashes”

City of Bones

City of Bones


Title: City of Bones

Author: Cassandra Clare

Series: The Mortal Instruments, #1

Publisher: Walker

Release Date: March 27th 2007

Rating:

Four Stars

When fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder―much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air. It’s hard to call the police when the murderers are invisible to everyone else and when there is nothing – not even a smear of blood – to show that a boy has died. Or was he a boy?

This is Clary’s first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons. It’s also her first encounter with Jace, a Shadowhunter who looks a little like an angel and acts a lot like a jerk. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace’s world with a vengeance, when her mother disappears and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in ordinary mundanes like Clary and her mother? And how did Clary suddenly get the Sight? The Shadowhunters would like to know…

Exotic and gritty, exhilarating and utterly gripping, Cassandra Clare’s ferociously entertaining fantasy takes readers on a wild ride that they will never want to end.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

Continue reading “City of Bones”

Rapid Fire Book Tag

Given that this is the ‘Rapid Fire’ book tag I tried to keep my answers short and, well, rapid. I’m not sure how well I did though because it’s in my nature to ramble on and go off on tangents whenever I talk. I was tagged by Lilly at Lair of Books Blog. Thanks so much for the tag Lilly, I had a lot of fun with this one so I hope you enjoy reading my answers just as much.

Rapid Fire Book Tag

Continue reading “Rapid Fire Book Tag”

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten of the Most Unique Books I’ve Read

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week there is a new topic for bloggers to choose and list their top ten. This week’s theme is Top Ten of the Most Unique Books I’ve Read.

For me, what makes a book unique is when it goes in a completely different direction to what I assumed it would when I read the blurb. We’ve all had books like that; where the blurb only reveals a small part of the plot, smaller than it normally would, so you go in with few expectations only for them to be blown out of the water by the story the author has written instead.


Top Ten Tuesday #63

Continue reading “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten of the Most Unique Books I’ve Read”

The Ship Beyond Time

The Ship Beyond Time


Title: The Ship Beyond Time

Author: Heidi Heilig

Series: The Girl From Everywhere, #2

Publisher: Greenwillow Books

Release Date: February 28th 2017

Rating:

Four Stars

The breath-taking sequel to the acclaimed The Girl from Everywhere. Nix has escaped her past, but when the person she loves most is at risk, even the daughter of a time traveller may not be able to outrun her fate—no matter where she goes. Fans of Rae Carson, Alexandra Bracken, and Outlander will fall hard for Heidi Heilig’s sweeping fantasy.

Nix has spent her whole life journeying to places both real and imagined aboard her time-traveling father’s ship. And now it’s finally time for her to take the helm. Her father has given up his obsession to save her mother – and possibly erase Nix’s existence – and Nix’s future lies bright before her. Until she learns that she is destined to lose the one she loves. But her relationship with Kash – best friend, thief, charmer extraordinaire – is only just beginning. How can she bear to lose him? How can she bear to become as adrift and alone as her father?

Desperate to change her fate, Nix takes her crew to a mythical utopia to meet another Navigator who promises to teach her how to manipulate time. But everything in this utopia is constantly changing, and nothing is what it seems—not even her relationship with Kash. Nix must grapple with whether anyone can escape her destiny, her history, her choices. Heidi Heilig weaves fantasy, history, and romance together to tackle questions of free will, fate, and what it means to love another person. But at the centre of this adventure are the extraordinary, multifaceted, and multicultural characters that leap off the page, and an intricate, recognizable world that has no bounds. The sequel – and conclusion – to the indie darling The Girl from Everywhere will be devoured by fans of Rachel Hartman and Maggie Stiefvater. Includes black-and-white maps.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

This review may contain spoilers for previous book(s) in the series.

Continue reading “The Ship Beyond Time”

Discussion Time: Tropes in YA Fiction

Everyone has tropes they love seeing in books, and everyone has tropes they hate seeing in books. However whether you love them or hate them you see them everywhere, especially it seems in YA fiction (although this could be something I notice more in YA books because I read more YA books).

Now don’t get me wrong they’re tropes for a reason, and they’re in so many books because they work to help move a story along. But when you’re looking at the books you own that rely on tropes to tell a story doesn’t it get a bit tired essentially reading the same story over and over again, just with different names?

Tropes in YA Fiction

Tropes in YA Fiction.

Continue reading “Discussion Time: Tropes in YA Fiction”

Empress of a Thousand Skies

Empress of a Thousand Skies


Title: Empress of a Thousand Skies

Author: Rhoda Belleza

Series: Empress of a Thousand Skies, #1

Publisher: Razorbill

Release Date: February 7th 2017

Rating:

Three Stars

Crown Princess Rhiannon Ta’an wants vengeance.

The only surviving heir to an ancient Kalusian dynasty, Rhee has spent her life training to destroy the people who killed her family. Now, on the eve of her coronation, the time has finally come for Rhee to claim her throne—and her revenge.

Alyosha is a Wraetan who has risen above his war refugee origins to find fame as the dashing star of a DroneVision show. Despite his popularity, Aly struggles with anti-Wraetan prejudices and the pressure of being perfect in the public eye.

Their paths collide with one brutal act of violence: Rhee is attacked, barely escaping with her life. Aly is blamed for her presumed murder.

The princess and her accused killer are forced to go into hiding—even as a war between planets is waged in Rhee’s name. But soon, Rhee and Aly discover that the assassination attempt is just one part of a sinister plot. Bound together by an evil that only they can stop, the two fugitives must join forces to save the galaxy.

In this exhilarating debut for fans of Marissa Meyer’s Lunar Chronicles and Pierce Brown’s Red Rising trilogy, Rhoda Belleza crafts a powerful saga of vengeance, warfare, and the true meaning of legacy.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

Continue reading “Empress of a Thousand Skies”

Strange the Dreamer

Strange the Dreamer


Title: Strange the Dreamer

Author: Laini Taylor

Series: Strange the Dreamer, #1

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton

Release Date: March 28th 2017

Rating:

Five Stars

A new epic fantasy by National Book Award finalist and New York Times bestselling author Laini Taylor of the Daughter of Smoke & Bone trilogy.

The dream chooses the dreamer, not the other way around—and Lazlo Strange, war orphan and junior librarian, has always feared that his dream chose poorly. Since he was five years old he’s been obsessed with the mythic lost city of Weep, but it would take someone bolder than he to cross half the world in search of it. Then a stunning opportunity presents itself, in the person of a hero called the Godslayer and a band of legendary warriors, and he has to seize his chance to lose his dream forever.

What happened in Weep two hundred years ago to cut it off from the rest of the world? What exactly did the Godslayer slay that went by the name of god? And what is the mysterious problem he now seeks help in solving?

The answers await in Weep, but so do more mysteries—including the blue-skinned goddess who appears in Lazlo’s dreams. How did he dream her before he knew she existed? and if all the gods are dead, why does she seem so real?

In this sweeping and breathtaking new novel by National Book Award finalist Laini Taylor, author of the New York Times bestselling Daughter of Smoke & Bone trilogy, the shadow of the past is as real as the ghosts who haunt the citadel of murdered gods. Fall into a mythical world of dread and wonder, moths and nightmares, love and carnage.

Welcome to Weep.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

Continue reading “Strange the Dreamer”

Top Ten Tuesday: Must Have Merchandise for Every Harry Potter Fan

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week there is a new topic for bloggers to choose and list their top ten. This week’s theme is a fandom freebie, so I picked Must Have Merchandise for Every Harry Potter Fan.

I don’t really belong to many fandoms, and while I could have used this week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic to talk more about my favourite books I feel I do that more than enough. By now everyone knows how much I love certain series and there’s only so much I can say about them without repeating myself. So I went back to the first fandom I belonged to, and the one I am still in now.


Top Ten Tuesday

Continue reading “Top Ten Tuesday: Must Have Merchandise for Every Harry Potter Fan”