ARC Review: A Curse So Dark and Lonely

A Curse So Dark and Lonely


Title: A Curse So Dark and Lonely

Author: Brigid Kemmerer

Series: A Curse So Dark and Lonely, #1

Publisher: Bloomsbury YA

Release Date: January 29th 2019

Rating:

Five Stars

In a lush, contemporary fantasy retelling of Beauty and the Beast, Brigid Kemmerer gives readers another compulsively readable romance perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer.

Fall in love, break the curse.

It once seemed so easy to Prince Rhen, the heir to Emberfall. Cursed by a powerful enchantress to repeat the autumn of his eighteenth year over and over, he knew he could be saved if a girl fell for him. But that was before he learned that at the end of each autumn, he would turn into a vicious beast hell-bent on destruction. That was before he destroyed his castle, his family, and every last shred of hope.

Nothing has ever been easy for Harper. With her father long gone, her mother dying, and her brother barely holding their family together while constantly underestimating her because of her cerebral palsy, she learned to be tough enough to survive. But when she tries to save someone else on the streets of Washington, DC, she’s instead somehow sucked into Rhen’s cursed world.

Break the curse, save the kingdom.

A prince? A monster? A curse? Harper doesn’t know where she is or what to believe. But as she spends time with Rhen in this enchanted land, she begins to understand what’s at stake. And as Rhen realizes Harper is not just another girl to charm, his hope comes flooding back. But powerful forces are standing against Emberfall…and it will take more than a broken curse to save Harper, Rhen, and his people from utter ruin.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

I received this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Continue reading “ARC Review: A Curse So Dark and Lonely”

Advertisements

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books on my Winter TBR List

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl. Each week there is a new topic for bloggers to choose and list their top ten. This week’s theme is Top Ten Books on my Winter TBR List.

Right now it’s all about Christmas, but in my mind the winter season runs from December all the way through to the end of February so expect to see a lot of 2019 releases on this list that I cannot wait to get my hands on. January and February seem to be the best months for book releases but that doesn’t mean I haven’t also featured a few older books which have spent way too long on my TBR list.


Top Ten Tuesday #129

Continue reading “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books on my Winter TBR List”

Naughty or Nice Tag

Christmas is next week, and I’m only just getting around to posting my first Christmas book tag of the year. Better late than never I suppose, but this does mean I only have one week to post the three Christmas tags I have in my queue. Wish me luck, and be prepared for a Christmas onslaught on my blog.

I was tagged by Swetlana at The Caffeinated Bookworm Life, and Meghan at Meghan’s Whimsical Explorations & Reviews. Thanks both so much for the tag, I had a lot of fun with this one so I hope you enjoy reading my answers just as much.

Naughty or Nice Book Tag

Continue reading “Naughty or Nice Tag”

Reading Around the World: Romania

Reading Around the World is a feature that combines my love of travelling with my love of reading. Each month I plan to spotlight either a city I have visited, or a city I plan to visit in the near future, and recommend some of my favourite books set there. After all even if you can’t visit these cities yourself the next best thing has to be reading about them and living the experience through the eyes of the characters.

Romania (1)

Continue reading “Reading Around the World: Romania”

LifeL1K3

LifeL1K3


Title: LifeL1K3

Author: Jay Kristoff

Series: Lifelike, #1

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers

Release Date: July 26th 2018

Rating:

Five Stars

It’s just another day on the Scrap: lose the last of your credits at the WarDome, dodge the gangs and religious fanatics, discover you can destroy electronics with your mind, stumble upon the deadliest robot ever built…

When Eve finds the ruins of an android boy named Ezekiel in the scrap pile she calls home, her entire world comes crashing down. With her best friend and her robotic sidekick in tow, she and Ezekiel will trek across deserts of irradiated glass, battle cyborg assassins, and scour abandoned megacities to save the ones she loves…and learn the dark secrets of her past.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

Continue reading “LifeL1K3”

Top Ten Tuesday: Looking Back at My 2018 Resolutions

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl. Each week there is a new topic for bloggers to choose and list their top ten. This week’s theme is a freebie, so I picked Looking Back at My 2018 Resolutions.

Way back in January at the start of this year one of the Top Ten Tuesday topics was on bookish resolutions for the year. Despite not being great at setting and keeping resolutions I came up with ten, so now the year is nearly over I’m going to look back and see how many I can cross off my list. If I’ve managed to cross off more than half then it’s been a successful year for me.


Top Ten Tuesday

Continue reading “Top Ten Tuesday: Looking Back at My 2018 Resolutions”

City of Ghosts

City of Ghosts


Title: City of Ghosts

Author: Victoria Schwab

Series: Cassidy Blake, #1

Publisher: Scholastic

Release Date: August 28th 2018

Rating:

Four Stars

Cassidy Blake’s parents are The Inspectres, a (somewhat inept) ghost-hunting team. But Cass herself can really see ghosts. In fact, her best friend, Jacob, just happens to be one.

When The Inspectres head to ultra-haunted Edinburgh, Scotland, for their new TV show, Cass – and Jacob – come along. In Scotland, Cass is surrounded by ghosts, not all of them friendly. Then she meets Lara, a girl who can also see the dead. But Lara tells Cassidy that as an In-betweener, their job is to send ghosts permanently beyond the Veil. Cass isn’t sure about her new mission, but she does know the sinister Red Raven haunting the city doesn’t belong in her world. Cassidy’s powers will draw her into an epic fight that stretches through the worlds of the living and the dead, in order to save herself.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

Continue reading “City of Ghosts”

Discussion Time: Why Are Reviews So Hard to Write and So Unpopular in the Blogging Community?

Book review are the main part of being a book blogger, and for most of us they’re probably connected in some way to the reason why we started blogging. I started blogging so I could talk to other people about the books I loved, and the best way to do that is through book reviews, but of all the posts people publish on their sites book reviews have the least traffic.

They’re also hard to write. If you’re anything like me you’ll leave your reviews to the very last minute when drafting new posts; you’ll write book tags, discussions and weekly memes first, or comment and blog hop before finally opening that blank document to write a review. Then before you know it your un-reviewed books have piled up and there’s a whole list you need to get through.

Why Are Reviews So Hard to Write and So Unpopular in the Blogging Community

Why Are Reviews So Hard to Write and So Unpopular in the Blogging Community?

Continue reading “Discussion Time: Why Are Reviews So Hard to Write and So Unpopular in the Blogging Community?”

Darius the Great is Not Okay

Darius the Great is Not Okay


Title: Darius the Great is Not Okay

Author: Adib Khorram

Series: N/A

Publisher: Dial Books

Release Date: August 28th 2018

Rating:

Five Stars

Darius doesn’t think he’ll ever be enough, in America or in Iran. Hilarious and heartbreaking, this unforgettable debut introduces a brilliant new voice in contemporary YA.

Darius Kellner speaks better Klingon than Farsi, and he knows more about Hobbit social cues than Persian ones. He’s a Fractional Persian – half, his mom’s side – and his first-ever trip to Iran is about to change his life.

Darius has never really fit in at home in Portland, and he just knows things are going to be the same in Iran. His clinical depression doesn’t exactly help matters, and trying to explain his medication to his grandparents only makes things harder. Then Darius meets Sohrab, the boy next door, and everything changes. Sohrab introduces Darius to all of his favourite things—mint syrup and the soccer field and a secret rooftop overlooking the city’s skyline. He gets Darius an Iranian National Football Team jersey that makes him feel like a True Persian for the first time. And he understands that sometimes, friends don’t have to talk. Sohrab calls him Darioush – the original Persian version of his name – and Darius has never felt more like himself than he does now that he’s Darioush to Sohrab.

By turns hilarious and heartbreaking, Adib Khorram’s brilliant debut is for anyone who’s ever felt not good enough—then met a friend who makes them feel so much better than okay.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

Continue reading “Darius the Great is Not Okay”

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Wintery Reads

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl. Each week there is a new topic for bloggers to choose and list their top ten. This week’s theme is Top Ten Wintery Reads.

I’m not sure if I can say why I picked the books I did this week, why I’d class them as ‘Wintery Reads’ over any other book. Personally though when it starts getting darker earlier and colder every day all I want is to curl up with a book that’s more magical than deadly; so be prepared to see plenty of magical realism, fairytale retellings, and childhood nostalgia on my list this week.


Top Ten Tuesday #128

Continue reading “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Wintery Reads”