Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books that Feature … Characters

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week there is a new topic for bloggers to choose and list their top ten. This week’s theme is Top Ten Books that Feature … Characters.

The Best Villainous/Morally Grey

Everyone loves villains, there’s a whole anthology devoted to them now. When I saw this week’s open prompt the first thing that came to mind was villainous characters, or more specifically morally grey characters who could never be called heroes but are just out for themselves and make no apologies for what they need to do to achieve their goal. There are some brilliant ones in the books I’ve read, and this is my chance to feature my top ten.


Top Ten Tuesday #78

Continue reading “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books that Feature … Characters”

Advertisements

ARC Review: All the Wind in the World

All the Wind in the World


Title: All the Wind in the World

Author: Samantha Mabry

Series: N/A

Publisher: Algonquin Young Readers

Release Date: October 10th 2017

Rating:

Three Stars

Sarah Jacqueline Crow and James Holt work in the vast maguey fields that span the bone-dry Southwest, a thirsty, infinite land that is both seductive and fearsome. In this rough, transient landscape, Sarah Jac and James have fallen in love. They’re tough and brave, and they have big dreams. Soon they will save up enough money to go east. But until then, they keep their heads down, their muscles tensed, and above all, their love secret.

When a horrible accident forces Sarah Jac and James to start over on a new, possibly cursed ranch called the Real Marvelous, the delicate balance they’ve found begins to give way. And James and Sarah Jac will have to pay a frighteningly high price for their love.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

I received this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Continue reading “ARC Review: All the Wind in the World”

ARC Review: The Fandom

The Fandom


Title: The Fandom

Author: Anna Day

Series: N/A

Publisher: Chicken House

Release Date: October 5th 2017

Rating:

Four Stars

Cosplay ready, Violet and her friends are at Comic-Con.

They can’t wait to meet the fandom of mega movie, The Gallows Dance. What they’re not expecting is to be catapulted by freak accident into their favourite world—for real. Fuelled by love, guilt and fear, can the friends put the plot back on track and get out? The fate of the story is in their hands…

A fast-paced, genre-flipping YA fantasy adventure from a brand new author, writing in homage to the best YA fiction.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

I received an ARC of this book free from Chicken House. It in no way affects my views on The Fandom.

Continue reading “ARC Review: The Fandom”

Discussion Time: Blogging and Reading Slumps

Slumps, whether they’re blogging or reading ones, are something we all dread, but it’s something we’ve all had to work our way through at one point or another. No matter how much you love doing something, and I assume I’m right in saying we all love reading and blogging here, there’s going to come a time when you lose the motivation to read or post anything new.

Unfortunately there’s never going to be one tried and true method of getting through slumps. Everyone has their own little tricks, things they do to stare off slumps, but sometimes you just have to face the inevitable.

Blogging and Reading Slumps

Blogging and Reading Slumps

Continue reading “Discussion Time: Blogging and Reading Slumps”

ARC Review: There’s Someone Inside Your House

There's Someone Inside Your House


Title: There’s Someone Inside Your House

Author: Stephanie Perkins

Series: N/A

Publisher: Macmillan Children’s Books

Release Date: October 5th 2017

Rating:

Four Stars

Over a year after her parents sent her away from Hawaii to live with her grandmother in landlocked Nebraska, Makani Young is still adjusting to her new life. She’s made a small group of close friends and even flirted with romance, but her past in Hawaii is still hard to forget. And then…one by one the students of her new high school begin to die in a series of gruesome murders. Makani doesn’t know who’s next on the list. Between this, and a secret scorching relationship with the school weirdo, this school year may turn out to be one to die for…literally.

There’s Someone Inside Your House by Stephanie Perkins will have you swooning with fear and romance, and is the perfect page-turner for fans of Scream Queens and I Know What You Did Last Summer.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

I received this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Continue reading “ARC Review: There’s Someone Inside Your House”

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books on my Fall TBR List

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week there is a new topic for bloggers to choose and list their top ten. This week’s theme is Top Ten Books on my Fall TBR List.

There are plenty of books on my Fall TBR list; at the end of July I made a mid-year resolution to try and get through all the books I owned but still hadn’t read. There are a lot and I know I’m not going to read them all, especially considering there are so many incredible books still to be released. This list is mainly the books that have been/are being released between July and the end of this year that I want to read, as well two that just sounded so good I couldn’t pass them by.


Top Ten Tuesday #74

Continue reading “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books on my Fall TBR List”

ARC Review: The Language of Thorns: Midnight Tales and Dangerous Magic

The Language of Thorns


Title: The Language of Thorns: Midnight Tales and Dangerous Magic

Author: Leigh Bardugo

Series: N/A

Publisher: Orion Children’s Books

Release Date: September 26th 2017

Rating:

Five Stars

Love speaks in flowers. Truth requires thorns.

Travel to a world of dark bargains struck by moonlight, of haunted towns and hungry woods, of talking beasts and gingerbread golems, where a young mermaid’s voice can summon deadly storms and where a river might do a lovestruck boy’s bidding but only for a terrible price.

Inspired by myth, fairy tale, and folklore, #1 New York Times-bestselling author Leigh Bardugo has crafted a deliciously atmospheric collection of short stories filled with betrayals, revenge, sacrifice, and love.

Perfect for new readers and dedicated fans, these tales will transport you to lands both familiar and strange—to a fully realized world of dangerous magic that millions have visited through the novels of the Grishaverse.

This collection of six stories includes three brand-new tales, all of them lavishly illustrated with art that changes with each turn of the page, culminating in six stunning full-spread illustrations as rich in detail as the stories themselves.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

I received this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Continue reading “ARC Review: The Language of Thorns: Midnight Tales and Dangerous Magic”

The Book Aesthetic Tag

So I haven’t been tagged in The Book Aesthetic Tag, not officially anyways, and I don’t normally post two tags on two consecutive days, but I’m jumping on the aesthetics bandwagon and The Book Aesthetic Tag goes so well with The Blogger Aesthetic Tag I posted yesterday that I just couldn’t resist.

I saw this tag first on Kat’s blog, Life and Other Disasters, and technically she tagged everyone so I thought that could include me as well. Even though I still have a queue of tags I’m trying to get through.

The Book Aesthetic Tag

Rules:

  • Thank whoever nominated you (maybe you’re bitter that you have another tag to do on top of the billions you already need to do (#relatable), still though. Someone thought of you. Be thankful. At least pretend to be.)
  • Credit the creator of this tag; Michelle at The Writing Hufflepuff.
  • There’s no limit of how many aesthetics you can make for a question, but think of your poor readers.
  • Make your own aesthetics, please don’t steal them from someone else. Also what’s the fun in that?

Continue reading “The Book Aesthetic Tag”