Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Struggled to Get into but Ended up Loving

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week there is a new topic for bloggers to choose and list their top ten. This week’s theme is Top Ten Books I Struggled to Get into but Ended up Loving.

When it comes down to it there are two main reasons why I struggle to get into certain books; one is that what I’ve picked up isn’t something I’m in the mood to read, and two is that the world building is so heavy it takes me a while to get past that and into the story. These books below are a mixture of both reasons, with a few extra ones added in.


Top Ten Tuesday #77

Continue reading “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Struggled to Get into but Ended up Loving”

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Hidden Gem Books in … Genre

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week there is a new topic for bloggers to choose and list their top ten. This week’s theme is Top Ten Hidden Gem Books in … Genre.

I put a little spin on this week’s theme and haven’t selected one specific genre to feature. Instead I’ve selected the top five hidden gems I’ve read and want to recommend to everyone, and the top five hidden gems I still have to read. How have I decided which books are hidden gems? It’s been down to how many ratings they have on Goodreads and how little I’ve seen other bloggers on WordPress talking about them.


Top Ten Tuesday #76

Continue reading “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Hidden Gem Books in … Genre”

ARC Review: Tarnished City

Tarnished City


Title: Tarnished City

Author: Vic James

Series: Dark Gifts, #2

Publisher: Pan

Release Date: September 7th 2017

Rating:

Five Stars

In a modern Britain where magic users control wealth, politics – and you – an uprising has been crushed. In its aftermath, two families will determine the country’s fate. The ruthless Jardines make a play for ultimate power. And the Hadleys, once an ordinary family, must find the extraordinary strength to fight back.

Abi Hadley is a fugitive. Her brother Luke, a prisoner. Both will discover that in the darkest places, the human spirit shines brightest.

While amid his family’s intrigues, Silyen Jardine dreams of lost powers from an earlier age. As blood runs in the streets of London, they will all discover whether love and courage can ever be stronger than tyranny.

How do you choose when you can’t save everyone…?

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

I received this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

This review may contain spoilers for previous book(s) in the series.

Continue reading “ARC Review: Tarnished City”

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I’d Set as Part of my (Fictional) School Syllabus

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week there is a new topic for bloggers to choose and list their top ten. This week’s theme is a back to school freebie, so I picked Top Ten Books I’d Set as Part of my (Fictional) School Syllabus.

I didn’t hate high school when I was there so many years ago now, but what I did hate was being forced to pick up books I had no interest in (Julius Caesar anyone?). If I was in charge we would have read pretty much anything else. When I thought of this week’s school-themed freebie the first idea that came to me was setting a syllabus for my own fictional school, so that’s what I did.


Top Ten Tuesday #72

Continue reading “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I’d Set as Part of my (Fictional) School Syllabus”

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Recommendations for …

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week there is a new topic for bloggers to choose and list their top ten. This week’s theme is Top Ten Recommendations for …

Rather than do recommendations for a specific genre or group of people, like the prompt suggested and like I have in the past, I’m doing recommendations based on books. It’s a ‘if you liked this book check out these books’ Top Ten Tuesday post.

Top Ten Tuesday has been on hiatus for a month and a half, and while some people were still taking part in the weekly feature during that time I was not one of them, so it’s nice to have some prompts again to post my top ten on a Tuesday.


Top Ten Tuesday #73

Continue reading “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Recommendations for …”

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Most Anticipated Books for the Second Half of 2017.

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week there is a new topic for bloggers to choose and list their top ten. This week’s theme is Top Ten Most Anticipated Books for the Second Half of 2017.

There were so many amazing, and highly anticipated, books released during the first half of 2017 that I focused too much on those and haven’t paid a lot of attention to what’s being released throughout the second half of the year. Unsurprisingly there are a lot of books, again highly anticipated, being released throughout the second half of the year.


Top Ten Tuesday #67

Continue reading “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Most Anticipated Books for the Second Half of 2017.”

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Loved Less/More Than I Thought I Would

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week there is a new topic for bloggers to choose and list their top ten. This week’s theme is Top Ten Books I Loved Less/More Than I Thought I Would.

A lot of the time I read books I have been recommended by other bloggers, so I tend to love them as much as I expect or a little bit more. A lot of the time when I say I enjoy books more than I thought I already knew I was going to love them I just ended up enjoying them that little bit more. The books I picked for this week’s Top Ten Tuesday theme are books I was genuinely surprised by; five in a good way and five in a bad way.


top-ten-tuesday-59

Continue reading “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Loved Less/More Than I Thought I Would”

ARC Review: Gilded Cage

gilded-cage


Title: Gilded Cage

Author: Vic James

Series: Dark Gifts, #1

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

Release Date: January 26th 2017

Rating:

Four Stars

For readers of Victoria Aveyard and George RR Martin comes a darkly fantastical debut set in a modern England where magically gifted aristocrats rule and commoners are doomed to serve.

NOT ALL ARE FREE.
NOT ALL ARE EQUAL.
NOT ALL WILL BE SAVED.

Our world belongs to the Equals – aristocrats with magical gifts – and all commoners must serve them for ten years. But behind the gates of England’s grandest estate lies a power that could break the world.

A girl thirsts for love and knowledge.

Abi is a servant to England’s most powerful family, but her spirit is free. So when she falls for one of the noble-born sons, Abi faces a terrible choice. Uncovering the family’s secrets might win her liberty, but will her heart pay the price?

A boy dreams of revolution.

Abi’s brother, Luke, is enslaved in a brutal factory town. Far from his family and cruelly oppressed, he makes friends whose ideals could cost him everything. Now Luke has discovered there may be a power even greater than magic: revolution.

And an aristocrat will remake the world with his dark gifts.

He is a shadow in the glittering world of the Equals, with mysterious powers no one else understands. But will he liberate—or destroy?

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

I received an ARC of this book free from Pan Macmillan. It in no way affects my views on Gilded Cage.

Continue reading “ARC Review: Gilded Cage”

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten 2017 Debuts I’m Excited For

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week there is a new topic for bloggers to choose and list their top ten. This week’s theme is Top Ten 2017 Debuts I’m Excited For.

There are so many amazing books being released this year, and more than a few on my to-read list are debuts which I am definitely eagerly anticipating. Some of my picks this week have been on my to-read list for ages while others I’ve only just discovered; some I can’t wait to get my hands on while others I’ve received an ARC of and already read, I simply want to feature them this week because they’re beyond amazing books that I think are going to get a lot of love when they’re released.


top-ten-tuesday-52

Continue reading “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten 2017 Debuts I’m Excited For”

2016 End of Year Survey

Happy New Year everyone! Here’s hoping you all have an amazing 2017. To celebrate the new year and look back at my reading journey throughout 2016 I decided to take part in the End of Year Survey created and hosted by Jamie at The Perpetual Page-Turner.

2016-end-of-year-survey

Last year I saw a couple of bloggers on WordPress taking part in this. It looked like such a fun way to look back over the year but as I’d already posted an end of year review for 2015 I didn’t see the point in doing another one. Still I remember the survey and now we’ve reached the end of 2016 I’ve taken the opportunity to take part in it myself.

Continue reading “2016 End of Year Survey”