All For the Game

all for the game trilogy

Neil Josten is the newest addition to the Palmetto State University Exy team. He’s short, he’s fast, he’s got a ton of potential—and he’s the runaway son of the murderous crime lord known as The Butcher.

Signing a contract with the PSU Foxes is the last thing a guy like Neil should do. The team is high profile and he doesn’t need sports crews broadcasting pictures of his face around the nation. His lies will hold up only so long under this kind of scrutiny and the truth will get him killed.

But Neil’s not the only one with secrets on the team. One of Neil’s new teammates is a friend from his old life, and Neil can’t walk away from him a second time. Neil has survived the last eight years by running. Maybe he’s finally found someone and something worth fighting for.


The Foxhole Court published on January 15th 2013, The Raven King published on July 10th 2013, and The King’s Men published on December 3rd 2014 make up the All For the Game trilogy by Nora Sakavic.

Trigger warnings; drug and alcohol abuse, child abuse, sexual abuse and rape, graphic violence, physical abuse, homophobic language, self harm and mentions of suicide.

Continue reading “All For the Game”

Advertisements

Sadie

sadie


Title: Sadie

Author: Courtney Summers

Series: N/A

Publisher: MacMillan Audio

Release Date: September 4th 2018

Rating:

Five Stars

A missing girl on a journey of revenge. A Serial-like podcast following the clues she’s left behind. And an ending you won’t be able to stop talking about.

Sadie hasn’t had an easy life. Growing up on her own, she’s been raising her sister Mattie in an isolated small town, trying her best to provide a normal life and keep their heads above water.

But when Mattie is found dead, Sadie’s entire world crumbles. After a somewhat botched police investigation, Sadie is determined to bring her sister’s killer to justice and hits the road following a few meagre clues to find him.

When West McCray – a radio personality working on a segment about small, forgotten towns in America – overhears Sadie’s story at a local gas station, he becomes obsessed with finding the missing girl. He starts his own podcast as he tracks Sadie’s journey, trying to figure out what happened, hoping to find her before it’s too late.

Courtney Summers has written the breakout book of her career. Sadie is propulsive and harrowing and will keep you riveted until the last page.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

Continue reading “Sadie”

ARC Review: Broken Things

Broken Things


Title: Broken Things

Author: Lauren Oliver

Series: N/A

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton

Release Date: October 18th 2018

Rating:

Four Stars

It’s been five years since Summer Marks was brutally murdered in the woods.

Everyone thinks Mia and Brynn killed their best friend. That driven by their obsession with a novel called The Way into Lovelorn the three girls had imagined themselves into the magical world where their fantasies became twisted, even deadly.

The only thing is: they didn’t do it.

On the anniversary of Summer’s death, a seemingly insignificant discovery resurrects the mystery and pulls Mia and Brynn back together once again. But as the lines begin to blur between past and present and fiction and reality, the girls must confront what really happened in the woods all those years ago—no matter how monstrous.

With all the intensity and whiplash turns of Gone Girl and One of Us Is Lying, this engrossing psychological thriller by New York Times bestselling author Lauren Oliver is an unforgettable, mesmerizing tale of exquisite obsession, spoiled innocence, and impossible friendships.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

I received this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Continue reading “ARC Review: Broken Things”

ARC Review: Blackbird

Blackbird


Title: Blackbird

Author: N.D. Gomes

Series: N/A

Publisher: HarperCollins

Release Date: November 16th 2017

Rating:

Four Stars

My name is Alex. I am fifteen years old, and I don’t know where my sister is. Or if she will ever come back.

On New Year’s Eve 5,000 blackbirds dropped dead. The same day Olivia McCarthy went missing from a small coastal village in Orkney.

Now Her younger sister Alex is on a mission to find out just what happened to Olivia. But does she really want to know all the answers?

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

I received an ARC of this book free from YA HQ. It in no way affects my views on Blackbird.

Continue reading “ARC Review: Blackbird”

S.T.A.G.S

STAGS


Title: S.T.A.G.S

Author: M.A. Bennett

Series: N/A

Publisher: Hot Key Books

Release Date: August 10th 2017

Rating:

Four Stars

Nine students. Three bloodsports. One deadly weekend.

A twisting thriller for fans of Looking for Alaska and The Hunger Games

It is the autumn term and Greer MacDonald is struggling to settle into the sixth form at the exclusive St. Aidan the Great boarding school, known to its privileged pupils as S.T.A.G.S. Just when she despairs of making friends Greer receives a mysterious invitation with three words embossed upon on it: huntin’ shootin’ fishin’. When Greer learns that the invitation is to spend the half term weekend at the country manor of Henry de Warlencourt, the most popular and wealthy boy at S.T.A.G.S., she is as surprised as she is flattered.

But when Greer joins the other chosen few at the ancient and sprawling Longcross Hall, she realises that Henry’s parents are not at home; the only adults present are a cohort of eerily compliant servants. The students are at the mercy of their capricious host, and, over the next three days, as the three bloodsports – hunting, shooting and fishing – become increasingly dark and twisted, Greer comes to the horrifying realisation that those being hunted are not wild game, but the very misfits Henry has brought with him from school…

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

Continue reading “S.T.A.G.S”

ARC Review: 13 Minutes

13 Minutes


Title: 13 Minutes

Author: Sarah Pinborough

Series: N/A

Publisher: Orion Publishing Group

Release Date: February 18th 2016

Rating:

Five Stars

I was dead for 13 minutes.

I don’t remember how I ended up in the icy water but I do know this—it wasn’t an accident and I wasn’t suicidal.

They say you should keep your friends close and your enemies closer, but when you’re a teenage girl, it’s hard to tell them apart. My friends love me, I’m sure of it. But that doesn’t mean they didn’t try to kill me. Does it?

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

I received this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Continue reading “ARC Review: 13 Minutes”