Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Loved with Fewer than 4000 Ratings on Goodreads

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature that was created by The Broke and the Bookish and hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl. Born from a love of lists and a love of books each week there’s a new topic for bloggers to list their ‘top ten’.

Top Ten Tuesday '19 #6

Top Ten Books I Loved with Fewer than 2000 4000 Ratings on Goodreads

Now I know the original prompt for this week was books with ‘fewer than 2000 ratings on Goodreads’, but I had to tweak it slightly. Looking through my Goodreads read list I was surprised by a couple of books which were incredible reads, and which people had been hyping up in the blogosphere (how do you think I discovered some of them), that only had circa 3000 ratings. These are all books I really enjoyed, and books I think deserve a lot more attention than they already have.

So add them to your TBR list if you haven’t already.

Continue reading “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Loved with Fewer than 4000 Ratings on Goodreads”

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten New-to-Me Authors I Discovered in 2018

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl. Each week there is a new topic for bloggers to choose and list their top ten. This week’s theme is Top Ten New-to-Me Authors I Discovered in 2018.

Every year when it comes to this Top Ten Tuesday topic I always find myself doubting I’ll be able to come up with ten new-to-me authors to feature; because of many series I love, favourite authors I keep going back, and old books I just have to re-read I don’t dedicate enough time to discovering new authors out there. Maybe it’ll end up being one of my resolutions for this year, to make a conscious effort to discover more new authors.


Top Ten Tuesday

Continue reading “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten New-to-Me Authors I Discovered in 2018”

Soulbinder

Soulbinder


Title: Soulbinder

Author: Sebastien de Castell

Series: Spellslinger, #4

Publisher: Hot Key Books

Release Date: October 4th 2018

Rating:

Five Stars

The fourth book in the page-turning Spellslinger fantasy series.

Kellen and his murderous squirrel cat, Reichis, are on their own. They’ve heard rumour of a mythical monastery, known as the Ebony Abbey. It’s a place that outsiders can never find—but Kellen is getting desperate. He’s been told that the monks inside the Ebony Abbey know more about the Shadowblack than anyone else—and that they even know how to cure it.

Then Kellen and Reichis are separated and for the first time, Kellen must face the world alone – and venture deeper into shadow magic than he ever knew he could.

Perfect for fans of The Dark Tower, Firefly, Guardians of the Galaxy, Terry Pratchett, Ben Aaronovitch and Jim Butcher.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

I received this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

This review may contain spoilers for previous book(s) in the series.

Continue reading “Soulbinder”

Charmcaster

Charmcaster


Title: Charmcaster

Author: Sebastien de Castell

Series: Spellslinger, #3

Publisher: Hot Key Books

Release Date: May 17th 2018

Rating:

Five Stars

The third book in the page-turning Spellslinger fantasy series.

“I was getting almost as good at running away from enemies as I was at making them in the first place. Turns out, I wasn’t running nearly fast enough.”

Kellen has begun to master his spellslinging and the Argosi tricks for staying alive, and he and Reichis have found a career that suits them both: taking down mercenary mages who make people’s lives miserable. But Ferius is concerned that Kellen is courting disaster…

Perfect for fans of The Dark Tower, Firefly, Guardians of the Galaxy, Terry Pratchett, Ben Aaronovitch and Jim Butcher.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

This review may contain spoilers for previous book(s) in the series.

Continue reading “Charmcaster”

Shadowblack

Shadowblack


Title: Shadowblack

Author: Sebastien de Castell

Series: Spellslinger, #2

Publisher: Hot Key Books

Release Date: October 5th 2017

Rating:

Four Stars

The second book in the page-turning Spellslinger series for all teen, YA, adult and fantasy readers.

It’s a few months since Kellen left his people behind. Now aged sixteen, Kellen is an outlaw, relying on his wits to keep him alive in the land of the Seven Sands. He misses home, he misses family and more than anything, he misses Nephenia, the girl he left behind.

Then he meets Seneira, a blindfolded girl who isn’t blind, and who carries a secret that’s all too familiar to Kellen. Kellen and Ferius resolve to help—but the stakes are far higher than they realise. A Shadowblack plague is taking hold—and Kellen can’t help but suspect his own people may even be behind it.

Perfect for fans of The Dark Tower, Firefly, The Hunger Games and Guardians of the Galaxy.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

This review may contain spoilers for previous book(s) in the series.

Continue reading “Shadowblack”

Spellslinger

Spellslinger


Title: Spellslinger

Author: Sebastien de Castell

Series: Spellslinger, #1

Publisher: Hot Key Books

Release Date: May 4th 2017

Rating:

Four Stars

There are three things that earn you a man’s name among the Jan’Tep. The first is to demonstrate the strength to defend your family. The second is to prove you can perform the high magic that defines our people. The third is simply to reach the age of sixteen. I was a few weeks shy of my birthday when I learned that I wouldn’t be doing any of those things.

Magic is a con game.

Kellen is moments away from facing his first mage’s duel and the start of four trials that will make him a spellcaster. There’s just one problem: his magic is gone. As his sixteenth birthday approaches, Kellen falls back on his cunning in a bid to avoid total disgrace. But when a daring stranger arrives in town, she challenges Kellen to take a different path. Ferius Parfax is one of the mysterious Argosi—a traveller who lives by her wits and the three decks of cards she carries. She’s difficult and unpredictable, but she may be Kellen’s only hope…

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

Continue reading “Spellslinger”

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books on my Spring TBR List

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl. Each week there is a new topic for bloggers to choose and list their top ten. This week’s theme is Top Ten Books on my Spring TBR List.

I’ve never really been good at sticking to TBR lists. All you need to do is look at some of the monthly ones I’ve set in the past to see how bad I am at sticking to them. The ten books on my list this week are books I want to read (but as a mood reader that could change at any given time) and that I hope to get around to soon, but whether I do or not is anyone’s guess.


Top Ten Tuesday #98

Continue reading “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books on my Spring TBR List”

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Meant to Read in 2017 but Didn’t (but Definitely Will in 2018)

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week there is a new topic for bloggers to choose and list their top ten. This week’s theme is Top Ten Books I Meant to Read in 2017 but Didn’t (but Definitely Will in 2018).

It probably won’t come as a surprise to many people when I say that I am not good at TBR lists. I try my best but there are always two things that get in my way; one is that I’m a mood reader and the other is that I can never read as much as I’d like to because my day job and real life gets in the way. Still these books are at the top of my TBR list for 2018, and hopefully that means I will get around to them before we reach 2019.

No promises though.


Top Ten Tuesday #91

Continue reading “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Meant to Read in 2017 but Didn’t (but Definitely Will in 2018)”

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Hope Santa Brings

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week there is a new topic for bloggers to choose and list their top ten. This week’s theme is Top Ten Books I Hope Santa Brings.

In my opinion there’s no better Christmas present than books (except maybe money or vouchers to buy more books). That’s why, when my friends and my family ask me what I want for Christmas, I already have a list of books for them on hand. That’s also why when I post my December/January book haul it will be packed with books I either got for Christmas or brought with Christmas money.


Top Ten Tuesday #90

Continue reading “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Hope Santa Brings”