Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Favourite Couples in Books

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature that was created by The Broke and the Bookish and hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl. Born from a love of lists and a love of books each week there’s a new topic for bloggers to list their ‘top ten’.

Top Ten Tuesday '19 #5

Top Ten Favourite Couples in Books

When it comes to bookish OTPs I have a lot (honestly, who doesn’t?) and because I’ve taken part in Valentine’s themed Top Ten Tuesday posts for three years running now instead of focusing on my all-time favourite couples in books I’ve chosen my top ten from the books I read sometime in the past year. I tried to draw my focus away from re-reads, but there was one that ended up making the cut just because I couldn’t resist featuring this bookish couple.

Continue reading “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Favourite Couples in Books”

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten New-to-Me Authors I Discovered in 2018

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl. Each week there is a new topic for bloggers to choose and list their top ten. This week’s theme is Top Ten New-to-Me Authors I Discovered in 2018.

Every year when it comes to this Top Ten Tuesday topic I always find myself doubting I’ll be able to come up with ten new-to-me authors to feature; because of many series I love, favourite authors I keep going back, and old books I just have to re-read I don’t dedicate enough time to discovering new authors out there. Maybe it’ll end up being one of my resolutions for this year, to make a conscious effort to discover more new authors.


Top Ten Tuesday

Continue reading “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten New-to-Me Authors I Discovered in 2018”

Emergency Contact

Emergency Contact


Title: Emergency Contact

Author: Mary H.K. Choi

Series: N/A

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers

Release Date: March 27th 2018

Rating:

Five Stars

“Smart and funny, with characters so real and vulnerable, you want to send them care packages. I loved this book.” —Rainbow Rowell

From debut author Mary H.K. Choi comes a compulsively readable novel that shows young love in all its awkward glory—perfect for fans of Eleanor & Park and To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before.

For Penny Lee high school was a total non-event. Her friends were okay, her grades were fine, and while she somehow managed to land a boyfriend, he doesn’t actually know anything about her. When Penny heads to college in Austin, Texas, to learn how to become a writer, it’s seventy-nine miles and a zillion light years away from everything she can’t wait to leave behind.

Sam’s stuck. Literally, figuratively, emotionally, financially. He works at a café and sleeps there too, on a mattress on the floor of an empty storage room upstairs. He knows that this is the god-awful chapter of his life that will serve as inspiration for when he’s a famous movie director but right this second the seventeen bucks in his checking account and his dying laptop are really testing him.

When Sam and Penny cross paths it’s less meet-cute and more a collision of unbearable awkwardness. Still, they swap numbers and stay in touch – via text – and soon become digitally inseparable, sharing their deepest anxieties and secret dreams without the humiliating weirdness of having to see each other.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

Continue reading “Emergency Contact”