Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Characters that Remind Me of Myself

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature that was created by The Broke and the Bookish and hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl. Born from a love of lists and a love of books each week there’s a new topic for bloggers to list their ‘top ten’.

Top Ten Tuesday '19 #13

Top Ten Characters that Remind Me of Myself

One of the things I love about reading is how the books I pick up take me to different worlds where I can escape from my real-life problems for a couple of hours, and because I mainly read fantasy books it was a little challenging to come up with ten characters that reminded me of myself. My favourite characters risk their lives for what they believe in and honestly I don’t think I’d be able to be that brave if I was in the same situation, so while I can’t wholly relate to the ten characters I picked this week there were aspects of each of their characterisations that stuck with me.

Continue reading “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Characters that Remind Me of Myself”

Christmas Cuisine Book Tag

Although I was tagged at the end of 2016 it hasn’t taken me a year to get around to the Christmas Cuisine Book Tag because there are so many tags in my queue, but because by the time I reached this one it was August. It makes zero sense to post a Christmas tag in August, so I’ve had to wait until December to take part in this one. I was tagged by Kirstie at Upside-Down Books. Thanks so much for the tag Kirstie, I had a lot of fun with this one so I hope you enjoy reading my answers just as much.

Christmas Cuisine Book Tag

Rules:

  • Thank the person who tagged you with a virtual hug and happy thoughts (and pixie dust if you can find it.)
  • Mention the creator (Kirstie at Upside-Down Books)
  • Try to eat as many of the foods as you can whilst writing this.
  • Wear funky socks.

Continue reading “Christmas Cuisine Book Tag”

Eliza and Her Monsters

Eliza and Her Monsters


Title: Eliza and Her Monsters

Author: Francesca Zappia

Series: N/A

Publisher: Greenwillow Books

Release Date: May 30th 2017

Rating:

Four Stars

Eighteen-year-old Eliza Mirk is the anonymous creator of Monstrous Sea, a wildly popular webcomic, but when a new boy at school tempts her to live a life offline, everything she’s worked for begins to crumble.

Scott Westerfeld’s Afterworlds meets Nimona in this novel about art, fandom, and finding the courage to be yourself. Features illustrations by the author throughout. Perfect for readers of Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl, this is the second novel by the acclaimed author of Made You Up.

In the real world, Eliza Mirk is shy, weird, smart, and friendless. Online, Eliza is LadyConstellation, the anonymous creator of a popular webcomic called Monstrous Sea. With millions of followers and fans throughout the world, Eliza’s persona is popular. Eliza can’t imagine enjoying the real world as much as she loves her digital community. Then Wallace Warland transfers to her school, and Eliza begins to wonder if a life offline might be worthwhile. But when Eliza’s secret is accidentally shared with the world, everything she’s built—her story, her relationship with Wallace, and even her sanity—begins to fall apart. With pages from Eliza’s webcomic, as well as screenshots from Eliza’s online forums, this uniquely formatted book will appeal to fans of Noelle Stevenson’s Nimona and Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

Continue reading “Eliza and Her Monsters”