ARC Review: Beasts Made of Night

Beasts Made of Night


Title: Beasts Made of Night

Author: Tochi Onyebuchi

Series: Beasts Made of Night, #1

Publisher: Razorbill

Release Date: September 26th 2017

Rating:

Three Stars

Packed with dark magic and thrilling action, Beasts Made of a Night is a gritty Nigerian-influenced fantasy perfect for fans of Paolo Bacigalupi and Nnedi Okorafor.

In the walled city of Kos, corrupt mages can magically call forth sin from a sinner in the form of sin-beasts—lethal creatures spawned from feelings of guilt.

Taj is the most talented of the aki, young sin-eaters indentured by the mages to slay the sin-beasts. But Taj’s livelihood comes at a terrible cost. When he kills a sin-beast, a tattoo of the beast appears on his skin while the guilt of committing the sin appears on his mind. Most aki are driven mad by the process, but 17-year-old Taj is cocky and desperate to provide for his family.

When Taj is called to eat a sin of a royal, he’s suddenly thrust into the centre of a dark conspiracy to destroy Kos. Now Taj must fight to save the princess that he loves—and his own life.

Debut author Tochi Onyebuchi delivers an unforgettable fantasy adventure that powerfully explores the true meaning of justice and guilt.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

I received an ARC of this book free from the publisher. It in no way affects my views on Beasts Made of Night.

Continue reading “ARC Review: Beasts Made of Night”