Waiting on Wednesday: Winterfolk

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event which aims to shines a light on eagerly anticipated upcoming releases.


Winterfolk by Janel Kolby
Release Date: February 6th 2018

Winterfolk

A gritty yet beautiful debut novel about a homeless teen who relies on the magic she sees in the world around her to help her find her place, perfect for fans of Laura Ruby’s Bone Gap.

Rain is a homeless teen living with her father in the woods outside Seattle, near a community of other homeless people called the Winterfolk. She finds safety and sanctuary in this hidden world—until the day that safety is shattered when she learns the city plans to clear the woods of everyone who lives there. Now she’s forced to confront Seattle, which is full of strange sights, sounds, people—and memories…

Fans of Jandy Nelson, Bennett Madison, Anna-Marie McLemore, and Nova Ren Suma will be enchanted by the gorgeous writing and Rain’s unique voice.

The only reason I discovered Winterfolk was because one of the bloggers I am friends with on Goodreads added it to their to-read list. I saw this book on my feed and was curious enough to check it out myself. I am so glad I did because I’m not sure I would have discovered Winterfolk otherwise and it sounds amazing.

I am a massive fan of magical realism, it’s quickly becoming one of my favourite fantasy subgenres alongside fairytale retelling and time travel books. Plus any book that’s described as perfect for fans of Laura Ruby’s Bone Gap, Jandy Nelson and Anna-Marie McLemore is a book I need in my hands right now.


What do you think of Winterfolk? Is it a must on your to-read list, or are there any other books you can’t wait for the release date of? Let me know in the comments and let me know if you took part in this week’s Waiting on Wednesday as well.

Advertisements

12 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday: Winterfolk

  1. Oh wow, that book sounds SO interesting! Thank you so, so much for sharing this. It sounds like the kind of book I’d love – I hope the blurb isn’t misleading, comparing it all to fabulous authors hahaha. 🙂 Thank you, adding this to my TBR right now! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It really does doesn’t it? 🙂 Definitely not like anything else I’ve read before.
      That’s all right, and yeah I get what you mean about the blurb potentially being misleading. Still I can never resist books compared to favourite authors, even when I know I should be more wary.
      That’s all right. 🙂 ❤ I really hope you love this book Marie. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh yes definitely definitely read Bone Gap if you haven’t already. That was the book that got me hooked on magical realism and it’s still one of my favourites today.
      That’s the kind of magic I read too, fantasy magic, but every so often I love the magic I find in books like these. 😀

      Like

  2. I had added this to my TBR a while back, because: 1. they name dropped Jandy Nelson (love her!), 2. they name dropped McLemore (her writing is so gorgeous!), 3. magical realism is one of my favorites (after contemporary romance).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The main reason I added this to my to-read list was because of the magical realism angle, but hearing that Jandy Nelson and Anna-Marie McLemore have been name dropped in reference to this book just makes me all the more excited for it. They’re two of my favourite authors as well. 🙂 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.