Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten of the Best Books I’ve Read So Far in 2017

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week there is a new topic for bloggers to choose and list their top ten. This week’s theme is Top Ten of the Best Books I’ve Read So Far in 2017.

This week’s topic was hard, really really hard. There have been so many amazing books released this year that I loved that originally I had twenty books on this list. I managed to narrow it down to ten but I had to make some hard cuts, and one of those was deciding not to include re-reads. These are the best books I’ve read so far this year, but there are a lot more I’ve read that I loved, and a lot more still to be released and read this year that I will likely love just as much.


Top Ten Tuesday #71

Caraval by Stephanie Garber
Check out my review here.

After I saw this book compared to The Night Circus it quickly became one of my most anticipated releases of the year, and luckily for me the hype proved true with Caraval. This is an amazing story full of magic, danger and sisterly love set in the midst of a beautiful but deadly game.


A Crown of Wishes by Roshani Chokshi
Check out my review here.

The Star-Touched Queen was one of my favourite reads of 2016 so I was thrilled to see a companion novel was being released. I was a little nervous about whether A Crown of Wishes would be as good as the first book, whether it would have the same magic, but it turns out I didn’t need to worry.


The Song Rising by Samantha Shannon
Check out my review here.

Samantha Shannon is one of my all-time favourite authors, and her Bone Season series is one of my all-time favourite series. I had some high expectations for The Song Rising after the way The Mime Order ended, but this book was non-stop action. The stakes were higher but the rewards bigger.


A Conjuring of Light by V.E. Schwab
Check out my review here.

If I had to pick one book that I would say was my most anticipated release of the year it would be this one, especially after the epic cliffhanger we left A Gathering of Shadows on, and if I had to pick on book that I would say is my favourite read of 2017 (so far) it would be A Conjuring of Light.


Wires and Nerve by Marissa Meyer
Check out my review here.

The Lunar Chronicles is another of my all-time favourite series. I loved how Marissa Meyer ended the main story arc with Winter, but I can’t deny how thrilled I am to jump back into the world again and again with each extra stories she publishes. No matter what I’m always going to want more.


Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor
Check out my review here.

This was another highly anticipated release of mine, especially given the fact that I loved Laini Taylor’s debut series. Strange the Dreamer is a story of pure magic, with beautiful characters and lyrical writing, and I can’t wait for the second book to jump back into the world of Weep.


Flame in the Mist by Renee Ahdieh
Check out my review here.

Flame in the Mist was the first Mulan retelling I picked up, possibly the only Mulan retelling on the YA bookshelves, but after reading it I want more. Renee Ahdieh has taken an amazing story and made it her own, with brilliant characters and a detailed and well-developed world.


The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas
Check out my review here.

The Hate U Give is such an important book, and as such it’s one I cannot recommend highly enough to everyone. Starr is a wonderful character whose voice shines through even when she is scared. This is a heartbreaking, emotional, scary and hopeful book, but an incredibly real story as well.


A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas
Check out my review here.

As the last book of Feyre and Rhys’s trilogy my expectations for A Court of Wings and Ruin were sky high but I wasn’t disappointed. Everything I wanted to see was somewhere in the story, and now I can’t wait for the next book in the series, and for the secondary characters to take centre stage.


The Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan
Check out my review here.

Really I could have put the whole of the Heroes of Olympus series on my list this week because all five books were incredible five-star reads for me. I can’t believe I waited a whole year after reading the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series before picking this one up, still better late than never.


So what do you think? Did you take part in this week’s Top Ten Tuesday, if so let me know what some of the best books you’ve read so far this year are.

66 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten of the Best Books I’ve Read So Far in 2017

  1. Fantastic list. I’m honestly surprised that YOU managed to filter it down to 10 books. I think I’ve seen around 50 5-star reviews up on the blog since 2017. 😛 But honestly, I personally don’t think I’ve managed to reach the 10 mark for my own top 10 best books I’ve read. I’ll definitely keep it in the shadows till the end of the year just to feel nostalgic and happy when I start remembering why I gave all those books a solid 5 star review! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much Lashaan. Yeah it was really hard narrowing this down because there have been so so many books released this year I’ve loved. I managed it in the end though. That’s a good thing to do, I guess it makes the books you do give five stars really special reads doesn’t it? 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I own but Flame in the Mist and Strange the Dreamer and cannot wait to read them! I also read and LOVED THUG and ACOL this year!! (And they were both on my list LOL) Great post!!! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. In my opinion they’re both amazing books, and I think the wait will be worth it. I’m not entirely sure how you haven’t gotten around to them already though. They were such highly anticipated releases of mine the second I had them in my hands I just had to get started on them. 🙂
      Ahh, I’m not surprised they were on your list, they’re amazing books! Thanks Emma. 🙂 ❤️

      Liked by 1 person

  3. See, I never liked Caraval, but I think I just set too high of expectations because of the hype around it. But I loved The Hate U Give SOOOOOOOOO much, as soon as I finished it I picked it right back up and reread it all in one day.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh that’s a shame, but yeah there was a lot of hype for Caraval, and I think it was a case of it not being able to live up to the hype for a fair few people actually. THUG is honestly amazing. I’m so glad I got around to it when I did, and in definitely going to need to re-read it soon actually! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Yes, Caraval was fantastic! It was so fabulously written ❤ haha, I see we're doomed to disagree on Flame in the Mist. I loved the Wrath & the Dawn duology, but FitM just wasn't for me :/ LITERALLY EVERYONE HAS BEEN TALKING ABOUT A CONJURING OF LIGHT, AHHHH. I NEED to read those books! But besides Caraval, I also loved The King's Men by Nora Sakavic and The Martian by Andy Weir this year ❤

    Ellie | On the Other Side of Reality

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It really was, and I am so excited to see what Stephanie Garber comes out with next. There’s still no news on it! Oh that’s a shame about FitM but I’ve seen a couple of mixed reviews and I guess we can’t all like the same books can we? 🙂
      Oh man you really need to read the Shades of Magic series, it’s an all-time favourite of mine and I recommend it to pretty much everyone. 😀
      Those sound like great books as well, I’ve heard amazing things about The Martian, that’s for sure. 🙂

      Like

  5. This is such a fantastic list, Beth! There are so many books on here that I haven’t read yet but need to read. Obviously Flame in the Mist is one of my most anticipated, I hope to buy it soon – for now the hardcover is too expensive, so…I’m stuck waiting ahah. I also can’t wait to read The Hate U Give, after all the hype that title has, and every good thing I have heard about it…well I need to get to it sometime soon ahha 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much Marie! 🙂 In that case I’d highly recommend all of these books. I really hope you enjoy Flame in the Mist as much as I did, given you enjoyed Renee Ahdieh’s first series I feel you’re likely to though.
      THUG is amazing, if there is one book I could say 100% definitely lives up to the hype it would be that one! 😀 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  6. ACOL!!! I devoured the Shades of Magic trilogy in 2017 and ACOL WAS MY FAVORITE AND IT WAS AMAZING AND I AM STILL DESTROYED AND I WILL NEVER BE REPAIRED. *cries* THUG is something I STILL have to read — but my friend is going to lend it to me in exchange for me lending Illuminae to her. XD Caraval — ugh! I also really need to read this. I’ve heard things about it, both good and bad, do I don’t know how I’ll like it??? But we’ll see. And I love Strange the Dreamer!!! The only things that made it a 4.5 for me were the writing style (I couldn’t get into it at first), and the insta-love. *cries* And I’M SO GLAD YOU GOT TO READ PJO AND HOO THIS YEAR BECAUSE THEY ARE SIMPLY AMAZING!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Now the whole series has been released I need to go back and re-read it from the beginning all the way through. ACOL was definitely the best of the best though and I’m still not fully over what happened. It was such an emotional book wasn’t it?
      In that case I hope you manage to get THUG from your friend soon, I’m sure you’ll love it May, and same with Caraval. It’s a great book in my opinion so I’ll be interested in hearing what you think of it.
      4.5 stars is still a great rating, and yeah the writing can be a little heavy to get into can’t it? Especially when you first pick up the book.
      Same here, better late than never I guess. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Ohh, I’m glad to hear you’re enjoying Strange the Dreamer so far. I guess the break you had reading it because it needed to be returned to the library hasn’t tempered your enjoyment or anything. 😀
      THUG was just brilliant wasn’t it? Thanks so much Eli. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Beth, this list is pure magic as always! Sadly for me Caraval fell a little flat, but oh my GOODNESS I couldn’t get enough of A Crown of Wishes! I really didn’t enjoy A Star-Touched Queen as much as everyone else seemed to last year, and it was such a pleasant surprise to see ACOW soar in my eyes. It didn’t quite make it onto my TTT for this week, but there were some very heavy contenders this time around. I did include A Court of Wings and Ruin for how much that book ruined me. I’m still crying about it, let me tell you.

    I haven’t had a chance to read THUG or Strange the Dreamer yet, but I am more than excited to get my copies from the library as soon as they have a copy available for me! I do own a signed copy of A Conjuring of Light, and I’m absolutely ashamed to say I haven’t been able to pick it up since I met Victoria shortly after release day. I know I put it down because I was in a bad place back then (and meeting her was such a highlight, it bolstered me for days afterward) but things are really starting to look up and I have a feeling I’m getting ready to dive back into it soon.

    Great list overall – I’ll be sure to add what I haven’t read yet to my TBR!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much Diana. Oh that’s a shame about Caraval, but I guess it was pretty hyped up so for some people the actual book couldn’t have really lived up to the expectation. That’s great to hear about ACOW, I really loved The Star-Touched Queen when I read it last year but I still thought ACOW was much better. And yeah A Court of Wings and Ruin was an amazing book, heartbreaking in places but un-put-downable as well! 😀
      Oh both are must reads in my opinion. THUG is an incredible YA contemporary release, and there aren’t the right words to properly describe Strange the Dreamer but I’m sure you’ll love it. I’m sure when you’re ready to dive back into ACOL you’ll find it was more than worth the wait. Of all the books on my list this week, and all the books I’ve read this year so far, I think ACOL has to be my number one favourite read of the year. There’s just nothing that can beat it!
      Thanks so much Diana, and I hope anything you haven’t read on this list you end up really enjoying! 🙂 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I honestly think that comparing Caraval to The Night Circus is part of the reason I didn’t like it as much as others did. I’ve read The Night Circus about a million and ten times (I have the Vintage Classics version of the book prominently displayed in my living room for anyone who asks what my favorite book in the universe is) and I wasn’t expecting Caraval to hit me in any of the same ways, so it really missed the mark in my eyes. But I am glad that so many other people loved it so much.
        I can’t wait to start THUG, it’s up next on my TBR as soon as I can get my hands on it. Someone I met at the signing of ACOL was reading Strange the Dreamer while we were waiting, and I think it was vicariously affected by me putting down ACOL somehow, because I can’t seem to get around to picking that book up either! One of these days…!
        My TBR list always grows a little larger after one of your posts, and I’m forever grateful for it. I’ll have to share what I thought of ACOL when I can pick it up again. Here’s hoping it’ll make it onto my favorites the next go around 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I think that’s the problem with comparing books to The Night Circus. TNC is such a stand-out, amazing and unique book that I don’t think we’re ever going to find anything that can come close to matching it. Comparing other books to it just becomes a kiss of death in a way because it’s not going to compare when it comes down to it.
        THUG is brilliant, and I’m sure you’ll agree when you read it Diana. Oh that’s a shame, but yes one of these days! 😀
        Ha, yeah the never ending TBR list is something I have as well. There are just so many amazing books out there and blogging has introduced me to a list of them! Yes, definitely do! 😀 ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  8. I’ve been wanting to read Caraval since I first heard of its release. Also, I’ve had The Bone Season sitting on my shelf for over a year now. And now that The Song Rising has been released, and so many people have talked about how good it is, I feel like I seriously need to read The Bone Season soon and join the party! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Caraval is a brilliant book, I’m surprised you’ve managed to wait so long without reading it, and same with The Bone Season actually. The Song Rising was a wonderful addition to the series and hopefully you’ll agree and love the series as much as I do when you get around to it! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  9. I really need to pick up and read Wires and Nerve, I knew it was coming out I just kinda forgot, oops! The Hate U Give was such a good book! I laughed, I (almost) cried. I have to say I related to Chris her boyfriend a lot, with a lot of my friends being a different race than me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wires and Nerve was amazing so definitely pick it up as soon as you have an opportunity to. Though I suppose the longer to wait to pick up the first volume the less time you have to wait until the release of the second volume. 🙂
      It really was, I’m so glad I read it because it’s such an important story. So emotional but so well written and just all around brilliant. Oh that’s interesting about you relating to Chris the most, honestly I’m not sure who, if anyone, I’d say I related to the most.

      Liked by 1 person

  10. EPIC list Beth! I may have only read THUG and Flame in the Mist but your list reflects my TBR lol. I’ve been holding off on jumping into Strange the Dreamer since the sequel won’t be out for some time & I have terrible memory retention lol smh. I do have Wires & Nerve and have been meaning to get to it soon, it may just serve as a palette cleanser since I’ve been reading a ton of contemps. I wish you an amazing 2nd half of the reading yea, we have some major titles coming our way & that’s all the reason we need to get excited *insert excited emoji face*

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much Lilly! 😀 THUG and Flame in the Mist are definitely amazing books, I feel like I’ve seen them on a fair few lists this week already. 🙂 Probably a good idea. I had to start Strange the Dreamer as soon as it was released and now I’m stuck waiting for the sequel and I don’t know how I’m going to manage it. As far a fantasy books go I think Wires and Nerve will be a perfect palette cleanser. 😀
      Thanks Lilly, I hope you have an amazing second half of the year when it comes to reading too, although based on the some of the amazing title being released I’m sure we both will! 😀 ❤

      Like

  11. Fantastic list, Beth! I loved Caraval (that cover is freaking gorgeous) mostly because it reminded me of our favorite book, The Night Circus. And while Flame in the Mist wasn’t my favorite this year, I still really enjoyed it. I thought it was so well-developed. I still haven’t read THUG even though I own it lol. I hope I can get to it soon. As you know, ACOL was an amazing conclusion to one of the best fantasy trilogies out there! So happy to see it on the list. ACOWAR, too! I didn’t love ACOWAR as much as ACOMAF, but I still thought it was an excellent end to that series. Can’t wait to read the spin-offs. And YAAAAS to Strange the Dreamer. It’s just so enchanting. Lazlo Strange is a new favorite character of mine now! I’d love to read the other ones as soon as I can! Great post again, Beth 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much Azia! 🙂 Yes that has to be part of the reason I loved Caraval so much as well. Any circus-set book is an auto-add to my to-read list, simply because of how much I loved The Night Circus. I’m glad you enjoyed Flame in the Mist as well. 🙂
      Oh THUG is a brilliant read, and I’m sure you’ll agree with that when you get around to it as well. Yes I don’t think I’ve seen one negative review for ACOL yet and that really does go to show how amazing it actually is.
      Looking back I don’t think I enjoyed ACOWAR quite as much as ACOMAF but as far as conclusions to Feyre and Rhys’ story go it was the best possible one.
      He’s one of mine too, I really want to read more about Lazlo Strange so I can’t wait to get my hands on the second book. The release date is still so far away (I’m not even sure when it is but I know it’s far away!)
      Thanks so much Azia! 😀 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Circus-themed books are my kryptonite lol. I always need to read them to see how they measure up to The Night Circus lol. So far, I haven’t found any that could compare 🙂
        Yeah, ACOWAR was a good ending for Feyre and Rhys. Now we just have to see how all the other relationships will play out in the future books! And I don’t know when the release date is wither but I already know it’s too far away!!! LOL. I’ll be so excited to read it. And I wonder what the cover will look like!
        NP! ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Same here, on both parts. A book just have to mention the word ‘circus’ and it’s an automatic add to my to-read list, and yeah I’ve yet to find anything that can live up to The Night Circus. I’m not giving up look though. 🙂
        We’ll still see a little of Feyre and Rhys won’t we? And I’m interested for some of the other characters to take centre stage in the new books yet to be released. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Same haha. And I hope we see a bit more of Feyre and Rhys. It’ll be hard to have books about the other Inner Circle members without mentioning those two 🙂 Really excited to see the Night Court again! And Lucien 😀

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ll definitely check out your TTT, thanks for recommend it to me especially if we have some books in common.
      I’ve read a few mixed reviews for Flame in the Mist myself, but in my opinion it’s a brilliant book so hopefully you’ll really enjoy it as well. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  12. THUG, Flame in the Mist, and Caraval are all on my TBR and definitely on my list to read before the year is over for sure. I just need need need to read them! I am waiting to get in a “circus” mood again so I can read Caraval. I have a feeling that I will be loving this book even after all the mixed up reviews. However, seeing what you wrote about just gets me much more hyped.
    I know we already spoke about ADSOM on my blog post but I’m happy to see the conclusion on your list. Strange the Dreamer was amazing and I cannot wait for the second book, especially with that ending we experienced…ugh BETH!! I NEED THE SECOND ONE lol.
    I really want to get into Wires and Nerves but I need to finish Cress and Winter first before I jump into that graphic novel. Amazing list and I hope we both have a successful 2nd half of the year =)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ohh, those three are amazing books Gretchen, I really really hope you love them and I’ll be very interested in seeing your reviews as well. 🙂 If you’re looking to get into a circus mood Caraval is a must, there are some mixed reviews yes but I think you’ll enjoy it, and hopefully I’ll be seeing that book on your top reads for the second half of 2017! 😀
      I couldn’t not put ACOL on this list, and yes it was the same with Strange the Dreamer. No I know right? I need the second book like this second.
      Probably a good idea to finish the main series before starting the graphic novel. 🙂 I’m sure you’ll really love it when you do get around to it though. Same here though I’m sure we both will! 😀 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Caraval is a highly anticipated book for me! I really cannot wait and I’m sure you will see that one amongst others mentioned in my second half lol.
        I still can’t believe that Laini Taylor left us hanging like that with Strange lol. Amazing but also cruel? hehe! ❤

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

