The Son of Neptune

The Son of Neptune


Title: The Son of Neptune

Author: Rick Riordan

Series: The Heroes of Olympus, #2

Publisher: Puffin Books

Release Date: October 4th 2011

Rating:

Five Stars

The second title in this number one, bestselling spin-off series from Percy Jackson creator, Rick Riordan.

This crazy messed up world of gods and monsters is Percy Jackson’s reality, which pretty much sucks for him.

Percy Jackson, son of Poseidon, God of the Sea, has woken from a very deep sleep and come face to face with two snake-haired ladies who refuse to die.

But they’re the least of his problems. Because Percy finds himself at a camp for half-bloods, which doesn’t ring any bells for him. There’s just one name he remembers from his past. Annabeth.

Only one thing is certain—Percy’s questing days aren’t over. He and fellow demigods Frank and Hazel must face the most important quest of all: the Prophecy of Seven. If they fail, it’s not just their camp at risk. Percy’s old life, the gods, and the entire world might be destroyed…

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

This review may contain spoilers for previous book(s) in the series.

My Thoughts On…

…The Plot

“Since Percy’d lost his memory, his whole life was one big fill-in-the-blank. He was____________________, from____________________. He felt like____________________, and if the monsters caught him, he’d be____________________.”

Like Jason, Percy finds himself without his memories, unlike Jason Percy is alone and running from two monsters who won’t die. After receiving guidance from the wolf-goddess Percy is finally making his way towards Camp Jupiter, but after days of no sleep and no food, full of running for his life and nearly dying at the hands of the Gorgons Percy still has a long way to go despite being so close.

When he finally makes his way safely to Camp Jupiter Juno, Hera’s Roman equivalent, identifies Percy as the son of Neptune. However arriving with a goddess in his arms, chased by two Gorgons only casts more suspicion on Percy. The Romans are mistrustful of outsiders and even without his memories Percy can tell he doesn’t belong at Camp Jupiter.

“There!” Mars finished writing and threw the scroll at Octavian. “A prophecy. You can add it to your books, engrave it on the floor, whatever.”
Octavian read the scroll. “This says, ‘Go to Alaska. Find Thanatos and free him. Come back by sundown on June twenty-fourth or die’.”

The further Percy, Frank and Hazel move towards Alaska, on a quest to free Thanatos, the more of Percy’s memories start to come back. Meanwhile Frank searches for the truth to his powers in who his ancestors were, and the reason his life is tied to a piece of firewood, and Hazel suffers from blackouts and a huge amount of guilt due to her actions in the past, actions she believes will cause Frank and Percy to hate her.

As Percy, Frank and Hazel face down Amazon, long-dead seers and harpies their deadline looms ever closer. There is unrest in Camp Jupiter and it is more than the quest and Thanatos’s life that counts on Percy, Frank and Hazel making it back safely.

I really loved the first book – the introduction to Jason, Piper and Leo, the introduction to the Prophecy of the Seven – however this second one was even better simply for the reintroduction of Percy Jackson. The plot was just as fast paced but with the pieces of the prophecy falling into place there were hints and references to what is still to come making me even more excited to get around to the third book of the series.

…The Characters

“I’m fine!” Percy yelled out as he ran by, followed by a giant screaming bloody murder.

Percy, unlike Jason, was kept asleep by Hero for months before the goddess finally needed him to make his way to Camp Jupiter. The only memory Percy has is a name, ‘Annabeth’, and it is that name that keeps him going. Percy may not have any of his memories but the same traits that made him an amazing hero in the first series – his control of his power, his loyalty to his friends and his people, his bravery – are still with him in this book as he embarks on a new adventure.

“Hazel screamed at the top of her lungs, but it was a scream of delight. For the first time in her life – in her two lives – she felt absolutely unstoppable.”

Hazel has a dark past, one she has never revealed and that only her half-brother, Nico, is aware of. However because of the guilt she feels over her mistakes Hazel is even more determined to make things right again. She knows what awaits for her if she dies again, the Fields of Asphodel, but she does not shy away from going after Thanatos. Hazel is an outcast, too scared of her past and her curse, to rely on anyone save Frank.

“They want to cook you and eat you,” she said distastefully, “which is ridiculous. You’d taste terrible.”
“Thank you, grandmother.”

Frank, as well as being a demigod, is a legacy; there is a god on both sides of his family tree which possibly makes him the most powerful demigod of the seven. However because of the nature of his curse Frank is also possibly the weakest. Frank is terrified of what could happen if he curse was ever fulfilled and while he doubts himself at times – his courage, his strength, his gift – he knows he needs to come through for his friends and his people at Camp Jupiter.

Despite having a crush on Hazel Frank doesn’t push her by revealing his feelings. He knows there is a lot she is hiding from him and a lot she is still working through, despite not knowing the full truth behind her past or the reason she is so distant. He simply acts as her friend. Hazel is still grieving her past, grieving the people and the potential life she left behind, but she still feels something for Frank, despite realising that it is not the time or the place to focus on her crush.

He drew Riptide and stepped into battle. As the Amazon jabbed at him, he sidestepped, cut her spear shaft in half, and slammed the hilt of his sword against her helmet. The guard crumpled.
“Mars Almighty,” Frank said. “How did you—that wasn’t any Roman technique!”
Percy grinned. “The graecus has some moves, my friend.”

Like with Jason, Piper and Leo, Frank, Hazel and Percy work incredibly well together on their quest, with each of their strengths making up for the weaknesses in the others. Despite Percy being a hero of Camp Half-Blood and Frank having incredible powers the two are still weak at times, still have moments where they are not the best person to take charge and save the day, and that is where Hazel steps in to save them.

…The Setting

“Percy imagined what that would be like: getting an apartment in this tiny replica of Rome, protected by the legion and Terminus the OCD border god. He imagined holding hands with Annabeth at a cafe. Maybe when they were older, watching their own kid chase seagulls across the forum…”

After reading little hints and clues towards the existence of Camp Jupiter and the presence of Roman demigods in The Lost Hero I was incredibly excited to finally see this other half to the demigod world. Camp Jupiter is more than a summer camp, more than Camp Half-Blood, there is a whole city, filled with countless generations of demigods and legacies. It isn’t just a place for teenagers to learn how to fight and protect themselves from monsters before being thrown into the real world, it is a place where demigods are free to live their lives and grow old. However Camp Jupiter is not a utopia, there is still the threat of the giants marching ever closer, and inside the camp there are people who use poisonous words to try and sow discord between the Romans and the Greeks.


At the moment I am enjoying The Heroes of Olympus series much more than the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series; especially now Percy has made his appearance, bursting onto the scene with an impressive show of power. There has been a lot at stake in the first two books already, which leads me to believe there is a lot of heartache in store for all seven of our heroes. Still I can’t wait to get around to the next book.

What did you think of The Son of Neptune? Was it a favourite of yours or could you just not get into the story? Let me know.

27 thoughts on “The Son of Neptune

  1. I definitely enjoyed Heroes of Olympus more than the original series, I think! The spin off suited me more, but I do love both. I’m so glad you loved this one!! ❤ I love Percy and I loved this book for that reason quite a bit haha but yes the stakes are getting a lot higher and ahhhh I can't wait for you to read the next books!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah same here. It felt like there was more at risk in this series than the first one, and it really had me hooked on each book as I read them, but I still love the original series a lot too!
      It was great seeing Percy back, I didn’t realise how much I missed him until he was back again. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I adored this book as well. It was amazing getting reunited with Percy again, after the last book. 🙂 Plus I loved seeing how the roman camp worked and how different it was from Camp Half-Blood. The mission that Percy, Hazel and Frank had in this one was amazing and a lot of fun to read about! And yeah, I prefer this series to the original as well, probably because they feel more mature (obviously since the characters are older). Great review Beth! I can’t wait to hear your opinion on the other books in this series! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I looked forwards to seeing Percy again while reading The Lost Hero so it was great finally seeing him in The Son of Neptune! 😀 I thought it was really interesting how they introduced Camp Jupiter and the Roman demigods. Definitely a side of the story I didn’t see coming in this series. Frank and Hazel were both amazing characters, and yeah actually this series did seem more mature didn’t it?
      Thanks so much Anna, I can say now that I found the rest of the series just as amazing as I did this book! 😀 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Hey great review. I thought Son of Neptune was good, made me laugh and I generally enjoyed it but not to the extent of the Percy Jackson & the Olympians series though. I thought that the Heroes of Olympus series was a bit too juvenile for my taste, I am not sure whether it was because I had gotten older or the Rick’s writing style was different.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much, oh that’s a shame but at least you were still able to enjoy this book and the series a little bit right?
      I left it a year before reading the Heroes of Olympus books, and actually I didn’t even pick up the original series until last year, so I ended up thinking The Heroes of Olympus books were even better. I’ve found my reading tastes have changed as I got older so maybe if I had read the original books as a child I would have felt differently going back to them now I’m older. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh my gosh, now I REALLY want to reread all of PJO and HOO! Maybe this summer??? BUT I HAVE A TBR TO DEFEAT. *cries* I’m getting sentimental, Beth, STOP IT. XD

    Honestly, I miss these characters sooooo much. They’re just amazing! Getting Percy back was definitely a plus in this, because PERCY IS AMAZING. ❤ And I liked PJO better than HOO but that was when I was a young'un, so my opinion may have changed haha!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I would say sorry but I’m kind of not. Personally I think everyone should read this series and if they have read it re-read it! Still I have a TBR list to defeat as well so part of me is sorry. 🙂
      I’ve finished the series now and I miss it as well! Nothing I have to read on my Kindle appeals as much anymore because part of me wants to go back and re-read all five books all over again.
      Percy was amazing, though I got to the end of this book and was a little gutted I had to wait until The Mark of Athena for the reunion between him and Annabeth!
      Seriously you need to re-read this series, and the one before, just to see if your opinions have changed! 😀 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

