Standalone Sunday: Since You’ve Been Gone

Standalone Sunday is a weekly feature created by Megan at Bookslayer Reads which aims to showcase standalone books which you loved or would recommend.


Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson

Since You've Been Gone

It was Sloane who yanked Emily out of her shell and made life 100% interesting. But right before what should have been the most epic summer, Sloane just…disappears. All she leaves behind is a to-do list.

On it, thirteen Sloane-inspired tasks that Emily would normally never try. But what if they could bring her best friend back?

Apple picking at night? Okay, easy enough.

Dance until dawn? Sure. Why not?

Kiss a stranger? Um…

Emily now has this unexpected summer, and the help of Frank Porter (totally unexpected), to check things off Sloane’s list. Who knows what she’ll find?

Go skinny-dipping? Wait…what?

Last year during the Summer, the perfect time for picking up some YA contemporary books, I read Since You’ve Been Gone and loved it. I could see why everyone referred to Morgan Matson as one of the queens of the YA contemporary genre, and I made plans to get around to her other books as soon as possible.

That never happened, despite all the good reviews I saw for The Unexpected Everything, but here’s hoping this Summer I’ll be able to get started on them. Since You’ve Been Gone has everything I love to see in YA contemporary books, and as a bonus there was a brilliantly written friendship between Sloane and Emily.

“I somehow knew that the particulars didn’t matter. She was my heart, she was half of me, and nothing, certainly not a few measly hundred miles, was ever going to change that.”

You can check out my review for Since You’ve Been Gone here.


What did you think of Since You’ve Been Gone? Have you read it yet or is it still on your to-read list? Let me know in the comments and let me know if you took part in this week’s Standalone Sunday as well.

42 thoughts on “Standalone Sunday: Since You’ve Been Gone

  1. I’ve only read The Unexpected Everything from Morgan Matson, but I loved that one and I heard SO many great things on this one so I neeeeed to read this! ❤ It sounds amazing and it's so great to hear about a lovely friendship as well. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. See I still need to read The Unexpected Everything, it’s on my to-read list for next month though so hopefully I’ll be able to get around to it then at the very least. This book is amazing, and it has an incredible friendship as well. Hopefully you’ll love it too Analee! 😀 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ahah well I have to read Since You’ve Been Gone, looks like we kind of balance eachother out! 🙈 I’m so glad to hear that ahah I hope you enjoy it and get the chance to pick it up! I think I might have to boost Morgan Matson up my TBR haha.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. We kind of do, 🙂 now it’s just going to be a case of us needing to read the other book!
        I’m hoping to get to a couple more of Morgan Matson’s books next month, The Unexpected Everything is one of those. Hopefully you’ll find the time to get around to Since You’ve Been Gone soon as well! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Yay, such a great choice for this Sunday feature, Beth 🙂 You know me, I love Morgan Matson’s books so much ahah – I’m eager for you to read more from her and hoping you’ll enjoy all of her books as much as this one 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much Marie, and yeah I definitely needed to feature a Morgan Matson book for Standalone Sunday at one point or another. She’s an amazing contemporary author! 🙂
      I am definitely going to get around to more of her books soon, they’re literally at the top of my summer TBR list. Thanks, I hope so too! 😀 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I absolutely love Morgan Matson. Unfortunately, I’ve only read two of her books (Second Chance Summer and Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour, both of which are two of my favorite YA contemporaries). I have yet to read The Unexpected Everything even though I’ve heard nothing but good things about it. I’ll have to add this one to my TBR list, too! Thanks for sharing this one, Beth! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well two of her books is more than the one I’ve read so far! Actually both of the ones you’ve read are still on my to-read list so hopefully I’ll be able to get around to them soon! Same here, so here’s hoping we’ll both get around to TUE soon and it’ll live up to everything we’ve heard. I hope you enjoy this book Azia, and that’s all right! 😀 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh I can’t wait for you to read Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour. That book holds a special place in my heart. It basically sparked my wanderlust haha. I hope you enjoy it just as much as I did! ❤ 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Well I have The Unexpected Everything on my to-read list first. Simply because that book was the reason I picked up this one in the first place. But hearing that I’ll be sure to add Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour on to my TBR list next! Any book that sparks wanderlust is a must-read for me. 😀 ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  4. The title of the book always reminds of Anna Kendrick’s When I’m Gone. Now I can’t get the song out of my head! 😛 I do remember when this book first came out though hahaha I hope you enjoy it when you get around to it! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  5. This one is still on my TBR list Beth, primarily because I haven’t read any Morgan Matson so I’ve kept this on my list. I’ve heard wonderful things about this author’s contemporaries so I guess it’s just a matter of when the mood strikes for something light 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think Since You’ve Been Gone is a great one to start off with when you find yourself in the mood for reading one of her books, but yeah I know what you mean because I need to be in the right kind of mood to read contemporaries as well! 🙂
      Even though this is the only Morgan Matson book I’ve read I can safely say all the wonderful things you’ve heard about her are true! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Ahh, I’m glad you enjoyed this one! For me TUE was the better Morgan Matson book – I don’t think this one left much of an impression on me. I’m also looking forward to reading more of Matson’s works, though… I think for me Dessen will always be the queen of contemporary YA, but I wonder if it’s a generational thing (i.e. Dessen was already writing YA when I was a teenager) and Matson is something like the current Dessen, or something. 😅

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think for the first Morgan Matson book I read it was a good pick. I still have TUE on my to-read list but after hearing all the amazing things people said about it shortly after its release I’m excited to get around to it myself. 🙂
      Oh I agree, for me as well Dessen is the ultimate queen of YA contemporary but I can’t deny I’ve heard a lot of amazing things about Matson. Her being the current Dessen makes sense in my mind! 😀

      Like

  7. I really need to pick up a Morgan Matson already! Like you I always hear how she’s one of the queens of YA contemporary and how incredible her books are but for some reason I’ve yet to read one. I remember seeing this one floating around at the bookstore a lot whenever it first released and eyeing it but I think back then I wasn’t as into contemporary and just wanted all of the dystopias 😂😂. Anyway! This sounds like such an incredible summer read, Beth. And given that I could always use more books with great female friendships I am adding it to my TBR purely for that. I’ll definitely have to read it one of these days. Along with all of Kasie West’s other books because hers are still on my TBR too, same goes for Sarah Dessen’s new releases lol. Great pick for this week!! 😁♥

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’d highly recommend picking up one of her books. I’ve only read this one but I’ve heard amazing things about all her other releases, and if they’re anything like this one she deserves to be called one of the queens of YA contemporary! 😀
      Oh that must have been a while ago then, I know we’ve spoken a bit recently about how the dystopia genre was a little tired for us until we read Gilded Cage! 😀 Well here’s hoping this is one you can get around to during the summer months. I have a lot of contemporary books on my to-read list for the summer and I can’t wait to get started on them.
      If you read Matson alongside Kasie West and Sarah Dessen that’s pretty much the best of the best when it comes to contemporary authors in my opinion! Thanks so much Melissa! 😀 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ll definitely have to try to get around to it at some point. Any contemporary YA author that is known as one of the queens of YA contemporary is an author whose books I need to read for sure. Especially because you can never go wrong with a great summery YA read.
        It was a really long time ago! Pretty sure right after this one was released. But yes, Gilded Cage finally brought a freshness back to the dystopia genre. Speaking of Gilded Cage! Guess what finally appeared on NetGalley? The second book! I don’t know if the UK one is up yet or not and you’re going YALC so you might get an ARC there but I had to tell you. 😁 I have a lot of contemporary books on my list for summer too. I’ve actually gone on a bit of a contemporary binge the past few days. Apparently my slump is over.
        You’re welcome, Beth!! 😊♥

        Liked by 1 person

      2. No you can’t, and if Lord of Shadows ends up putting you in a fantasy slump then you’ll need all your books on your summer TBR list that little bit earlier. 😀
        Oh that must have been a while ago then. I’m not sure when exactly this one was released but it must have been a while ago now. Yes I saw the US edition of Gilded Cage on NetGalley but still no UK one. If I can get it at YALC again that’d be amazing. I need the second book in the series like I need air. I take it you’ve requested it on NetGalley then?
        I have some contemporaries on my to-read list for summer, unfortunately the weather here is horrible and rainy and still a little cold at times so I’ve just not been in the mood to read any of them! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Right? Honestly I’m starting to worry that Lord of Shadows will be the one to put me in a fantasy slump. I said it would be TSR and then ACOWAR but so far neither have. I’m surprised I haven’t hit really hit any big reading slumps this year. Aside from the short contemporary one that is.
        Boo about there not being a UK one on NetGalley yet. I’ve noticed more and more lately that there either isn’t a UK one of it takes a long while for it to be on there. I really hope you get one at YALC again then. And yep! I requested it the second I saw it was on there. I’ve been checking NetGalley every week since I read Gilded Cage so I flipped out. 😂
        Wanna trade weather? It’s been humid here because summer is starting to show itself. I need coldish and rainy lol.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. I’m kind of worried for you as well. There are some amazing books being released during the second half of the year but I don’t think any of them will end up putting my in a slump. Here’s hoping LoS won’t, and you never know it may not considering TSR and ACOWAR didn’t. 🙂
        It’s kind of unfair, especially when it happened with TSR which is published by Bloomsbury in the US and the UK! I’m keeping my fingers crossed I get a copy at YALC again, it would be amazing because Vic James is going to be at YALC this year as well! I’m keeping many fingers crossed you get approved for an ARC Melissa! 😀
        Ohh, not really a fan of humid weather either. I’ll stick to the rain for now because I have hopes it’ll get sunny again soon. Sorry! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      5. I really think it will. The more talk about LoS having a brutal twist at the end and the more I see people who have ARCs freaking out the more I think the ending is on the same scale as TBS4 will be on. But if it does then I have a list of contemporaries. Switching genres straight after ACOWAR kept me from a fantasy slump so I think it might work for LoS, hopefully. 😁
        Exactly! Though I’ve heard that sometimes the US publisher will approve those who live in the UK. You could always try requesting the US ARC. 😊
        I’m not either which is why I’m already over summer and wishing for it to be winter again. I need the humidity to go away. 😂

        Liked by 1 person

      6. Oh my god, I still have so many books of the series to read before I get to Lady Midnight but the more we talk about it the more nervous I get as well. Part of me wants to binge the series so I’m up to date but part of me wants to put it on hold until the very last book is out!
        A list of contemporaries will certainly help! 😀
        Yeah it’s worth a try. I’ll wait a little longer just in case but if one doesn’t appear I’ll give the US edition a go. What have I got to lose?
        I have to admit I’m not really a fan of the weather when it gets too hot, but I complain when it gets too cold as well so I’m never happy! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

    1. It makes it pretty much the perfect YA contemporary read doesn’t it? There’s just something about YA contemporaries and summer that works really well together.
      I have The Unexpected Everything on my to-read list for this summer as well. I’ve heard amazing things about it so I can’t wait! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

    1. This book is definitely a good read, and I’ve been told Morgan Matson is an amazing contemporary writer as well. I’ve only read one of her books (this one) so can’t say for sure myself but I believe the popular opinion here. I know the feeling, there are plenty of books on my summer TBR and it’s a list that keeps on growing! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

