Waiting on Wednesday: Song of the Current

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event which aims to shine a light on eagerly anticipated upcoming releases.


Song of the Current by Sarah Tolcser
Release Date: July 1st 2017

Song of the Current

Caroline Oresteia is destined for the river. For generations, her family has been called by the river god, who has guided their wherries on countless voyages throughout the Riverlands. At seventeen, Caro has spent years listening to the water, ready to meet her fate. But the river god hasn’t spoken her name yet—and if he hasn’t by now, there’s a chance he never will.

Caro decides to take her future into her own hands when her father is arrested for refusing to transport a mysterious crate. By agreeing to deliver it in exchange for his release, Caro finds herself caught in a web of politics and lies, with dangerous pirates after the cargo – an arrogant courier with a secret – and without the river god to help her. With so much at stake, Caro must choose between the life she always wanted and the one she never could have imagined for herself.

From debut author Sarah Tolcser comes an immersive and romantic fantasy set along the waterways of a magical world with a headstrong heroine determined to make her mark.

I actually discovered this book around the time I stopped posting Waiting on Wednesday picks last November, but from the second I read the blurb I was hooked. Song of the Current has everything I look for in a new release; an intriguing blurb, a gorgeous cover, and already a lot of glowing, five-star, pre-release reviews. At the moment this book is one of my most anticipated releases for the second half of this year, and I’m sure it will end up being just as amazing as I think it will.


What do you think of Song of the Current? Is it a must on your to-read list, or are there any other books you can’t wait for the release date of? Let me know in the comments and let me know if you took part in this week’s Waiting on Wednesday as well.

14 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday: Song of the Current

  1. I’m really excited for this one too, Beth! I’ve only seen one review so far and it was full of praise. That and the fact that it kind of gives me Spirited Away feels because of the whole river god aspect. It pretty much sounds like exactly what I look for in a new release too. Plus, it’s a fantasy standalone isn’t it? I’ve been coming across quite a few fantasy standalones that are going to be released this year which is a nice change of pace. Hopefully we both enjoy this one! 😁♥

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It sounds just amazing doesn’t it? I’ve had it on my to-read list for a while so it seemed perfect to feature it for Waiting on Wednesday because I have been waiting on it for a while now.
      I haven’t seen Spirited Away but if I like this book maybe I should check it out! 😀
      I’m not 100% sure about it being a standalone but it could be. There aren’t many standalones in fantasy that have worked well but I do have a feeling this could be one of them. I’ll be keeping my fingers crossed either way! 😀 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It really does! And I’ve seen it floating around NetGalley. Did you request and ARC? 😊
        You should so check out Spirited Away if you like this! Didn’t you like Vassa in the Night? Because that one has some of the similar Russian elements as Spirited Away and if you did I have a feeling you would really like it.
        I’ll be keeping my fingers crossed too!! 😊♥

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’ve seen it on NetGalley but I think at the moment it’s only the US copy. I’m keeping an eye out for the UK one so maybe one day soon. My fingers are crossed! 🙂
        yeah I enjoyed Vassa in the Night, it was a little confusing but overall a good book, but I guess in that case I will check out Spirited Away. Thanks for the recommendation! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Boo on that. I don’t like how they do that – release an eARC on NetGalley for only one country. You would think given that it’s digital it would be available to everyone. Hopefully they have one up for you soon! I would request it but I’ve forced myself into an ARC ban. 😂
        Well I hope you enjoy Spirited Away! You’re welcome!! 😁

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Yeah I know, and I think it’s being published by Bloomsbury in the US and the UK but only the US branch has released an eARC, kind of like what they did with The Song Rising.
        I’m keeping my fingers crossed, and oh have you got too many ARC read and reviews on your list again? 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Ahh, that does seem to be a pattern I’ve noticed with Bloomsbury, only releasing a US ARC a lot of the times. Hopefully this isn’t one of those times though!
        Nope. I have zero at the moment and it’s actually liberating because I can read whatever I want. I’m going to stick with it for a bit. 😊

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

