Waiting on Wednesday: Flame in the Mist

Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spine, which shines a light on eagerly anticipated upcoming releases.

This week my pick is;

flame-in-the-mist

Flame in the Mist by Renee Ahdieh

Publisher: G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers

Release Date: 2nd May 2017

Goodreads

The daughter of a prominent samurai, Mariko has long known her place—she may be an accomplished alchemist, whose cunning rivals that of her brother Kenshin, but because she is not a boy, her future has always been out of her hands. At just seventeen years old, Mariko is promised to Minamoto Raiden, the son of the emperor’s favourite consort—a political marriage that will elevate her family’s standing. But en route to the imperial city of Inako, Mariko narrowly escapes a bloody ambush by a dangerous gang of bandits known as the Black Clan, who she learns has been hired to kill her before she reaches the palace.

Dressed as a peasant boy, Mariko sets out to infiltrate the ranks of the Black Clan, determined to track down the person responsible for the target on her back. But she’s quickly captured and taken to the Black Clan’s secret hideout, where she meets their leader, the rebel ronin Takeda Ranmaru, and his second-in-command, his best friend Okami. Still believing her to be a boy, Ranmaru and Okami eventually warm to Mariko, impressed by her intellect and ingenuity. As Mariko gets closer to the Black Clan, she uncovers a dark history of secrets, of betrayal and murder, which will force her to question everything she’s ever known.


I am completely in awe of how gorgeous the cover is for this book. Even if I hadn’t heard of Renee Ahdieh, even if I hadn’t read and loved The Wrath and the Dawn duology, and even if I wasn’t fascinated by the sound of the blurb, Flame in the Mist is a book I would have brought solely based on that cover.

So what does everyone think; is Flame in the Mist a must on anyone else’s to-read list or are there any other books that you can’t wait for to be released?

39 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday: Flame in the Mist

  1. Ooh, I’m waiting on this one too!
    Hey, I have a question for you: a girl on Twitter saw that I had the ACOTAR ARC and she wants it so bad that she offered me a Carve The Mark ARC…I really liked ACOTAR and I don’t know if I should do the trade since it comes out in a month: what do you think?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It sounds like an amazing book doesn’t it?
      And I guess it depends; if you loved ACOTAR so much do you think, reading the blurb, you’ll love Carve the Mark that much as well? Really it’s down to you but given it comes out in one month anyways it’s about how much you want it, you know?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s what I was thinking: it comes out in a month and I do want to read it…but it also seems ACOTAR is VERY popular and ppl are trying to get the ARCs for collections! So I think I am going to keep my ACOTAR since it seems so popular! I guess I got a good find.
        I just hate telling people no.

        Like

  2. You’re right, this cover is simply gorgeous! And it sounds simply amazing, I definitely want to read this book when it comes out. I haven’t read The Wrath and The Dawn duology yet, though I definitely plant to do that sometime next year, as I have only heard amazing things about it! 😀 Also, this book comes out a day before my birthday, sooo I definitely know one to request as a gift!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s definitely one of the more gorgeous covers I’ve laid my eyes on, and the book sounds amazing as well which is always a plus! 😀 I’d recommend The Wrath and the Dawn. It’s a great duology, one of my favourites, and I’m sure you’ll agree when you pick it up too! 😀
      Ohh, that makes this a perfect potential birthday gift then doesn’t it?

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve seen this one around a lot lately and every time I can’t help but stopping to stare at the cover. It’s so gorgeous 😍! I didn’t know what it was actually about until I saw your post though. I really like the sound of it and the fact that it’s in a world where samurai still exist. Years and years ago I was obsessed with stories with samurai and went through a whole phase where I wanted to learn everything I could about Japanese history 🙈. I definitely just added it to my TBR. Also, per the comments on Goodreads I see that it was inspired by 47 Ronin and Mulan. That’s awesome! I’ve never read a Mulan retelling. Great pick, Beth! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It has seemed to be everywhere since the cover was revealed but it’s a gorgeous cover so I really understand that! It sounds like an amazing book as well, honestly though before I posted this I’d only really skimmed the blurb myself.
      Oh that’s so cool, in that case I hope when you pick up this book it brings back all of that obsession you had when you were younger, or at least the memory of it you know?
      I’ve never read a Mulan inspired book either, but I love retellings so I think I’m bound to love this one as well!
      Thanks Melissa. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It really does.
        I hope so too. I’ve not come across a lot of newer YA that has ever done the samurai thing so it’ll be interesting to see how this one turns out. With how much everyone has loved the author’s previous books I have a feeling it’ll be good.
        Same!
        You’re welcome, Beth! 😃

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Yep, I can’t wait to get my hands on it! It looks amazing, plus the blurb makes it sound even better than TWATD was and I thought that would be an impossible book for Renee Ahdieh to follow up.
      I’ve never read a Mulan inspired story before, that I can remember, so I can’t wait to see what this one is all about! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m super excited for this one! I can only hope it’ll have Renee Ahdieh’s beautiful writing and strong female protagonist – which, from the sounds of the blurb, it definitely promises. May can’t come too soon (OK, it can, but you know what I mean). ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It sounds amazing, and yeah I agree, from the sounds of the blurb it seems like the female protagonist is all that and more. Plus it’s written by Renee Ahdieh, that automatically makes this book a success in my mind!
      I’m pretty sure May will come around quicker than we realise! 🙂

      Like

    1. Yeah I’ve seen it on a lot of lists lately but it sounds like an amazing book, plus it’s written by Renee Ahdieh, so I can’t say I’m too surprised by that.
      This is definitely one of my most anticipated reads of 2017, and I’ve never read a book inspired by Milan before so that will be interesting! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

