Waiting on Wednesday: Our Dark Duet

Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spine, which shines a light on eagerly anticipated upcoming releases.

This week my pick is;

our-dark-duet

Our Dark Duet by Victoria Schwab

Publisher: Greenwillow Books

Release Date: 13th June 2017

Goodreads

Kate Harker is a girl who isn’t afraid of the dark. She’s a girl who hunts monsters. And she’s good at it. August Flynn is a monster who can never be human, no matter how much he once yearned for it. He’s a monster with a part to play. And he will play it, no matter the cost.

Nearly six months after Kate and August were first thrown together, the war between the monsters and the humans is terrifying reality. In Verity, August has become the leader he never wished to be, and in Prosperity, Kate has become the ruthless hunter she knew she could be. When a new monster emerges from the shadows – one who feeds on chaos and brings out its victim’s inner demons – it lures Kate home, where she finds more than she bargained for. She’ll face a monster she thought she killed, a boy she thought she knew, and a demon all her own.


If you’ve followed my blog for a while then you’ll know how much I love Victoria Schwab’s releases. The Savage Song was no exception, it had everything I loved about her books – amazing characters, wonderful world building and a brilliant plot – and so much more. I have high hopes for Our Dark Duet, especially after the way the first book ended, and I can’t wait to get my hands on it.

So what does everyone think; is Our Dark Duet a must on anyone else’s to-read list or are there any other books that you can’t wait for to be released?

47 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday: Our Dark Duet

    1. Yeah, I think it’s a trilogy (and not because I checked Goodreads or anything but all her other series have been trilogies so I imagine it’ll be the same with this one!)
      It’s an amazing book so I think, especially considering you loved her Shades of Magic series, you’ll love this one as well. And yeah the covers for all her books are amazing, I really love the blue in this one! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I can already say without having read more than the first book that that’s a good idea. I feel like this one will end on some insane cliff hanger and I’ll be tearing my hair out to get the third book (like I currently am with A Conjuring of Light!) 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I’m right there with you Beth! I am seriously craving that dark world Victoria introduced us to in This Savage Song. I read that book while listening to instrumental & it MADE the reading experience that much darker! Loved it, great pick this week 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was such an amazing book wasn’t it? I didn’t try reading it while listening to music but I can see how that would have made it darker. Either way her world building in this book, and all her other series, is beyond amazing!, and I’m craving this one as well! Thanks Lilly! 😀

      Like

      1. Not that I didn’t like it exactly, but it was missing a spark for me. I sometimes had to force myself to keep reading… It didn’t draw me in as much as I wanted it too…

        Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s a really good book, and yes you definitely need to jump on the V.E. Schwab bandwagon. Her Shades of Magic series is one of my all-time favourites so I recommend it to be pretty much everybody I speak to (BTW, this is me recommending you start that series ASAP!)
      And yeah the cover is amazing as well, I will be buying be UK version so I’ll likely have to wait another couple of months for that cover reveal! 🙂
      Thanks Melissa! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. So many people have told me the same thing about ADSOM and the sequel. I definitely plan on getting to that one soon. I only own the first book and I’m contemplating throwing it into next month if I have the time. First I have to tackle the two review books I’ve had for a while and Crooked Kingdom.
        You’re welcome, Beth! 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I kind of want you to read it as soon as possible but at the same time it may be better to wait until closer to the release of the third book because once you finish the second you just won’t know what to do with yourself!
        But I guess review books, and obviously Crooked Kingdom, have to come first! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      3. That’s what I’ve contemplating with. To read it now or to wait until the last book is released and binge read because I know the second book ends in a cliffhanger lol. I really do want to read it soon though so I hope I can find the time next month. 😊
        Oh and I forgot to ask you! Did you hear about how Ransom Riggs is writing a sequel to the Miss Peregrine series!? I’m so excited! I remember when you read them we talked about the open ending and hoping he would explore it more later on. I’m so glad he is! 😃

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Part of me wishes I’d waited until all three books had been released before starting this series but at the same time I know I’d never have been able to do that! At least if you do read them next month it won’t be too long to wait for the third book. 🙂
        Yes, I saw a news article yesterday during my lunch break at work and practically squealed out loud! I need to get my hands on that book ASAP because I wanted so much more after that last book ended and we’re actually getting it! 😀 😀 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      5. I had the same reaction. I can’t wait. I’m excited to see what all gets explored as far as the peculiar world in America goes and since it’s going to be a trilogy I wonder what is going to happen. I know the ending for Library of Souls was so open as far as Jake’s life goes and the peculiar’s being in the present, but as far as the Hollows and stuff went that felt more conclusive. It makes me wonder what other bad guys are lurking out there lol. 😃

        Liked by 1 person

      6. Same here, we saw a lot of the Peculiar world in the UK and Europe but none in America, and none in the modern day either which could be really interesting to see as well! Oh I know what you mean, as much as I think the ending of Library of Souls was a little rushed I felt for the most part it tied everything together quite nicely. Still I reckon there’s plenty more Ransom Riggs can make of the world! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Every book V.E. Schwab writes goes to the top of my most anticipated list (though at the moment A Conjuring of Light is number one!)
      Honestly this isn’t even the cover I’ll end up getting, but the English cover is always released later. I agree with you that this one seems colder but I like it a little better (maybe because my favourite colour is blue!) 😀

      Like

      1. Yep, I’m seriously considering one day getting a copy of the books with the US covers! I already have the UK covers for the first two books, and the third pre-ordered as well, but I don’t think I can resist how amazing the US ones are! 😀

        Like

Leave a Reply

