Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Loved Set in School

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week there is a new topic for bloggers to choose and list their top ten. This week’s theme is a Back to School freebie, so I picked Top Ten Books I Loved Set in School.

Most of the ones that made it onto my list this week are YA contemporary books, just because most of them are set in high school. However there are a few fantasy books that, while they’re not technically set in a standard high school, they are set in some form of school, and as they’re favourites of mine of course they were going to make it on my list for this week.

You also may notice that, in spite of my topic pick for this week, I haven’t included Harry Potter. Mainly because it’s such a standard answer, and I wanted to include other books that I love. By now everyone should know how much I love Harry Potter.


Top Ten Tuesday #36

P.S. I Like You by Kasie West
Setting: High school

This is a very recent read for me, and a fast favourite as well. Set in a typical high school there’s not much that stands out about it, but I’d probably have enjoyed high school a lot more if I’d had a mysterious pen pal like Lily did.


Simon Vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli
Setting: High school

Another typical high school setting. Simon and Blue meet on the school’s Tumblr site and their relationship expands from there. Without their school the two wouldn’t have connected the way they did.


Nevernight by Jay Kristoff
Setting: Red Church

It’s described as Hogwarts for assassins and I just love that description. A school for budding assassins the lessons are brutal, the tests deadly and each student there is more than capable of murder.


Red Rising by Pierce Brown
Setting: Gold’s Institute

This is not a place I would ever want to go, I’d be dead within the first five minutes. But Darrow manages to not only survive but thrive in the Institute. He survives everything the Gold’s throw at him. The Institute is not a place for the weak hearted.


Carry On by Rainbow Rowell
Setting: Watford School of Magicks

If I can’t pick Harry Potter then I’m going to pick the next best thing. Carry On tells us all about Simon’s last year at Watford, where he and his friends learn all about their magic and face down all the things the Humdrum throws their way.


Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins
Setting: School of America in Paris (SOAP)

Unlike Anna if I’d been told I was going to be attending my last year of high school in Paris I would have jumped at the chance. Granted we didn’t see much of her lessons there but we saw a lot of Paris as she travelled the city with Étienne and her friends.


The Burning Sky by Sherry Thomas
Setting: Eton College

The college in Eton where the majority of this first book is set plays a large part in keeping Iolanthe safe. Trying to keep her from the Bane’s reach until he can train her Titus hides Iolanthe in plain site as his ‘old friend’ Archer Fairfax.


Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan
Setting: Camp Half-Blood

So this is not technically a school but Camp Half-Blood is where Percy learns all about his half-blood heritage and powers. Plus I always loved seeing at the very beginning of each book what way he would be expelled from his high school next.


Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell
Setting: University

Another Rainbow Rowell book on my list this week but Fangirl is such a quintessential read because of how it portrays Cath’s experience at university. She feels lost and alone at first without her twin sister by her side but eventually she branches out on her own and creates her own experiences.


Ink and Bone by Rachel Caine
Setting: The Great Library of Alexandria

Again this is not technically a school but Jess is sent by his father to the Library for training, in part so he can become a spy for their illegal book smuggling operation. The lessons he undergoes to become a fully fledged member of the library are hard and very dangerous in their own way.


So what do you think? Did you take part in this week’s Top Ten Tuesday, if so let me know what you picked for this week’s themed free-for-all, or what some of your favourite books set in schools are.

21 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Loved Set in School

    1. Oh my god yes! You need to read both of those books because they are amazing. Rainbow Rowell is such an amazing contemporary YA author, I think you’ll love Fangirl, and the Red Rising trilogy is such a brilliant dystopian/sci-fi book as well, one of the best in my opinion.
      Thanks Marie! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Ooh Ink and Bone sounds really great! Adore Fangirl and Carry On and am willing my library to hurry up with Nevernight and your description just makes me want to read it more! Think I could be adding some of these to my TBR list! Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ink and Bone is amazing. I need to get started on the second book soon because I really want to know how to story continued. Also Rainbow Rowell is such an amazing author, definitely one of my favourite contemporary authors!
      I hope you enjoy Nevernight, it’s such an amazing book, one of my favourites!
      I hope you add some of the others to your to-read list and I hope you enjoy them if you read them as well! 😀

      Like

  2. I love this list! Nevernight has SUCH a great school, and after hearing Rainbow Rowell speak on Carry On last weekend, I really want to pick that one up as well. And I didn’t know Red Rising was set in a school – I love dystopian-ish school settings (An Ember in the Ashes!) so that’s a plus. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Reg! Oh yes I loved the setting for Nevernight, and the school was such a big part of the story as well which made it fitting for this week’s topic! Ohh I’d highly recommend Carry On, of the two Rainbow Rowell books I’ve read that’s my favourite, and it’ll be hard to top it as well.
      Yeah I wouldn’t say the school in Red Rising is a typical one, but everything Darrow goes through in that first book is part of the institute’s training so it fitted in with my theme barely! I think if you liked the setting for An Ember in the Ashes you’ll love Red Rising! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

