The Cookie Book Tag

Food book tags are probably my favourite of the lot; the questions are always so creative and the never fail to make me a little hungry as I try to think of answers. I’ve already taken part in the Dim Sum and Coffee book tags, and I have a couple more in my queue for the near future, but today it’s the Cookie book tag.

I was tagged by Stephanie at Adventures of a Bibliophile. Thanks so much for the tag Stephanie; everyone else should definitely check out her original post and her blog, she writes some amazing posts.

The Cookie Book Tag

Rules:

  • In addition to linking back to the person who tagged you, it would be awesome if you link back to Nicole’s original post!
  • Pick a book that corresponds to the cookie’s ‘theme’.
  • Have fun!
  • Tag one to three people.

Chocolate Chip:
A classic book that you love or really enjoyed

Interpret classic how you want, it can be a classic written 100 years ago or 20 years ago.

Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll

There was only one possible answer for this question, and that was Alice in Wonderland. I’m not a fan of classics, the only other one I can remember reading is Lord of the Flies and that was only because it was part of my English course during high school. However Alice in Wonderland is a book that I will always go back to and a story that I will always love.

Alice in Wonderland - Cover


Thin Mints:
A fandom that you really want to ‘join’ and/or a hyped-up book you want to read

Your source(s) of a book being hyped can be from anywhere.

Patrick Ness

I’ve only read one Patrick Ness book so far, The Rest of Us Just Live Here, but I thought it was brilliant and can’t wait to get started on more. I’ve heard nothing but great things about the Chaos Walking trilogy, seen nothing but amazing reviews, and plenty of people have recommended More Than This to me. Ness seems like an amazing author, and the one of his books I’ve read seems to corroborate this, so I can’t wait to read more.

Chaos Walking


Shortbread:
An author you can’t get enough of

V.E. Schwab

It’s no secret that V.E. Schwab has quickly become one of my all-time favourite authors. While my favourite series of hers is Shades of Magic, I have yet to read one of her books I haven’t immediately fallen in love with, and everything she has yet to release is at the top of my most anticipated releases list. I will recommend V.E. Schwab to anyone and everyone; she creates stories from such unique concepts and her world-building is probably the best I’ve read.

Shades of Magic


Samoas/Caramel DeLites:
An emotional rollercoaster

This cookie was hard…so any book that made you feel more than one emotion, strongly. The choice of emotions is up to you.

Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin

So much happened in Wolf by Wolf that from start to finish it was a literal emotional rollercoaster. Reading Yael’s journey from the first time she set foot in the concentration camp and the experiments that made her what she was, to her escape and her journey to become the valkyrie that took down Adolf Hitler, to everything she faced on the Axis Tour across Berlin and Tokyo. Yael went through so much during this book that it was impossible not to feel it all alongside her.

Wolf by Wolf


Oreos:
A book whose cover was better than the story, or vice versa, where the story was better than the cover

Reign of Shadows by Sophie Jordan

This book had an absolutely gorgeous cover and the blurb sounded amazing as well, a fairytale retelling of Rapunzel, I had to have it. However when I started reading it it failed to live up to my expectations; the plot didn’t go anywhere, there were more than a few holes in the world-building, and the characterisations of Luna and Fowler just fell flat. This is one series I won’t be continuing with with the second book.

Reign of Shadows Series


Tagalongs/Peanut Butter Patties:
A book that wasn’t what you expected

Good, bad, or just different, interpret how you wish.

The Love That Split the World by Emily Henry

I wasn’t sure what expectations I had going into this book, I only picked it up on a whim because the blurb sounded interesting; I did not expect The Love That Split the World to become one of my favourite reads of 2016 but it did. From the very first page I fell in love with Natalie, with Beau, and with their relationship which was so beautiful but almost doomed from the start.

The Love That Split the World


Snickerdoodles:
A book you may never stop re-reading/loving

I’m going to pick something different from Harry Potter; not because I don’t love that series (I do), and not because I don’t re-read it (I do), but because I feel that’s become the obvious answer.

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

This book is one of my all-time favourite fantasy series. Daughter of Smoke and Bone was so full of magic and wonder that I immediately loved the story, the characters, and the setting; it made me want to visit Prague just to experience it for myself. From then the second and third books just seemed to get better and better. I won’t say I re-read this series as often as I do other but it’s one I’ll always love.

Daughter of Smoke and Bone Series


Bonus:
Choose a cookie I didn’t list and make up a question!

The great Jaffa Cake debate; are they cakes or are they biscuits? Apparently they’re cakes but in supermarkets they are shelved with the biscuits so seriously who knows.

Jaffa Cakes:
A book that isn’t your usual genre but that you still loved

All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr

My usual go-to genres are fantasy and contemporary, although occasionally I will branch out and pick up a dystopian or sci-fi book. Before picking up All the Light We Cannot See I had only read one other book in the historical fiction genre so I wasn’t sure what to expect but I’d seen some beyond amazing reviews for this book and I had to give it a go. It took me a while to finish this book but when I was finished there were no words to properly describe how much I loved it.

All the Light We Cannot See


My tags:

And if there’s anyone else out there who wants to take part, consider yourself tagged. Just send me a link to your post in the comments so I can see what your answers are.

45 thoughts on “The Cookie Book Tag

  1. Ahh, I really want cookies now!!! Thanks Beth 😂😂

    I can’t wait to read the rest of Victoria Schwab’s books. She’s quickly become one of my favourite authors. I’m also super excited to continue with the Daughter of Smoke and Bone series. I want to read The Knife of Letting Go and All The Light We Can Not See too, but they definitely intimidate me a little 🙈

    Thank you for tagging me!! I’m definitely excited to do this one.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s literally how I felt after finishing this tag as well! 😀 The food ones always make me hungry!
      She is definitely one of my favourite authors, honestly anything she releases goes immediately to the top of my to-read list I just can’t get enough of her writing.
      The Daughter of Smoke and Bone series is one that gets better and better with each book. The last one is my favourite. Which one are you up to?
      I want to get started on the Chaos Walking books soon, but I get what you mean about All The Light We Cannot See. It took me a while to get through it myself, not just because of the length of the book but also the heavy subject matter!
      That’s all right, I can’t wait to see your answers for this one! 😀

      Like

  2. I agree, food book tags have the most creative questions! And they make me hungry as well, especially when the bloggers add the picture of the food! 😄
    I love Patrick Ness, he is one of my favourite authors. So far I have read The Chaos Walking trilogy and A Monster Calls by him – and I adored all of them! I really want to read More Than This soon (as it’s a book that I own). I hope you get around to more of his books soon!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I always feel like I should have some of the food on hand while answering the questions, so I can eat some cookies as I answer the Cookie Book Tag! 😀
      I love what I’ve read of Patrick Ness so far and I have heard amazing things about the Chaos Walking books so I cannot wait to start them, hopefully soon! More Than This is one that I’m going to start next and probably A Monster Calls next, but yeah hopefully I’ll get around to both soon! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hahaha, that’s one way to deal with it! 😄 The tag I had the biggest problems with was the “Ben n’ Jerry’s Book Tag”, as I was doing it on a hot day and I really wanted ice-cream!
        I hope you enjoy them as much as I did! I can’t wait to see what you’ll think of them. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh man if I ever do that tag I will need a tub of Ben and Jerry’s to eat while I answer the questions! Even if it is the middle of winter! 😀
        Well I have high hopes, but literally based on what everyone has already said about the series I do not think I’ll be let down! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  3. You’ll love Patrick Ness! I also started with The Rest of Us Just Live Here. Then I moved on to A Monster Calls and the Chaos Walking Trilogy. They are both so good! More Than This is my next Patrick Ness adventure. Fun tag!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I really hope I do, but lots of people have said that so I’m sure I will. I really loved The Rest of Us Just Live Here but I’ve heard even better things about the Chaos Walking series. I may start More Than This first though, but I hope you enjoy it when you get started on it! 😀

      Like

    1. Oh she’s an amazing author isn’t she! Have you read This Savage Song yet? I really enjoyed that book but the Shades of Magic series is my all-time favourite of hers!
      And thanks! 😀 I’m glad you liked my answers, you should do this tag yourself as well! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Ohh I love Snickerdoodles! They’re American cookies but they are so so nice; normal sugar cookies but rolled in cinnamon sugar before baking (I’m not really describing them well but they are gorgeous!)
      Ha, yeah jaffa cakes seemed perfect for this tag and for the question I chose (even though technically they’re cakes, apparently!)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Maybe I should just bake some and try them that way 🙂 are Jaffa cakes really caked though? You eat them with tea or coffee just like you would a biscuit… They’re shaped like biscuits…

        Liked by 1 person

      2. It’s what I have to do everytime I want them (and honestly since posting this tag I have been craving Snickerdoodles!)
        We actually had this discussion a couple of weeks ago at work (weirdly because Jaffa cakes have nothing to do with my work) but yeah they are actually cakes. Long story short even though they’re shelved in the biscuit aisle the way they’re taxed is the same way cakes are, not biscuits!

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Lauren; it’s a great tag to be able to take part in, and if you want to do it yourself I’d love to see your answers! 😀
      I realy enjoyed Wolf by Wolf and A Darker Shade of Magic is on my all-time favourites list; they’re both amazing books! And so is All the Light We Cannot See for that matter, just in different ways. It’s not my usual genre but it was a brilliant book! 😀

      Like

      1. It’s great that you read over a variety of genres. I tend to stick to fantasy but I am trying to branch out a little more! And I hope you love the books as well! 😀
        Ohh yay! Let me know when you post it because I would love to see your answers for this tag! 🙂

        Like

    1. Well thanks again for tagging me 🙂 I’m just sorry it took me a little while to get around to it!
      Oh you should definitely read the Daughter of Smoke and Bone series when you get a chance. I think it’s an amazing series and I can’t wait to read Laini Taylor’s next release! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ohh, I may have to look up Pizelles then! 😀 I’m really feeling the need to do some baking right now. I want some Snickerdoodles, and some gingerbread men as well even though they weren’t even mentioned in this tag. 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

