Book Fangirling Blog Award

I  can be a massive fangirl at times; mainly for books and new releases which, if you’ve been following me for long enough, you are probably well aware of by now, but there are plenty of other things I find myself fangirling over now and again. I was nominated for this award by Lila at The Bookkeeper’s Secrets. Thanks so much for the tag Lila, while I’ve already been nominated for this award once before I loved being able to take part in it again.

Book Fangirling Award

Rules:

  • Create a post to accept your award.
  • Answer the questions I have at the end.
  • Nominate between 5-10 book bloggers who you think also deserve this award.
  • Come up with your own 5 questions for your nominees.


Lila’s Questions:

  1. If you could dye your hair any colour, which colour would you choose?

I’ve never dyed my hair before, and honestly I don’t think I ever will. I love my original hair colour, it’s one of my favourite things about my appearance. However I did love the pastel hair colour trends that seemed to be everywhere a few years back. If I ever decided to dye my hair one day, and I thought it would actually suit me, I would dye my hair a pastel shade of either blue or purple, or maybe even a mixture of both.

  1. What’s your favourite season and why?

Definitely winter, more specifically winter before Christmas has come and gone. There is nothing I love more than being wrapped up in a duvet with a mug of hot chocolate and a movie playing on the TV or a good book to read while it’s cold, dark, and just miserable outside. Plus everything is so festive and there’s that anticipation in the air knowing Christmas is close; there’s nothing else like it.

  1. Who are three of your favourite characters, what Hogwarts house do you think they would be in, and why?

I couldn’t pick my three favourite characters because I couldn’t narrow it down. I have so many favourite books and even more favourite characters and in the end it was impossible to choose. So instead I picked the three main characters from the three most recent books I read.

I’m currently reading Wolf by Wolf, I just finishing This Savage Song and before that I finished Percy Jackson and the Last Olympian.

Hogwarts Houses

Yael from Wolf by Wolf
Slytherin

Yael is definitely Slytherin in my mind, and she was the only character who I picked one house for a stuck with that pick until the end. Yael is cunning, determined, tricky, and not afraid to go after her goal even if it means hurting people in her way. She’s not evil by any definition of the word, and she does care for the people close to her, but at the same time she understands that to reach her goal sacrifices sometimes need to be made. She is a tough character, forged in fire with a tough background which has only made her stronger.

Kate from This Savage Song
Ravenclaw

I had trouble deciding whether to class Kate and as Ravenclaw or a Slytherin at first but finally settled on Ravenclaw. While she does have traits that would fit well in Slytherin they feel more like a mask she wears to fit into her father’s world and prove she is a worthy heir. In reality Kate is sharp and clever; she knows how to read people and turn their impressions to her advantage. She detects a monster at her school when no one else does but when it comes down to it she uses him for information rather than to gain position, power and respect from her father.

Percy Jackson from Percy Jackson and the Last Olympian
Hufflepuff/Gryffindor

I couldn’t pick just one house for Percy. Gryffindor is an obvious pick because Percy is brave and courageous and would fit so well into that house. He leads the rest of Camp Half-Blood into battle and fights to the end with a huge amount of strength and bravery. However at the same time he has a lot of traits that would fit him into Hufflepuff; the main ones being loyalty, dedication, hard-work. Percy protects his friends and even when things aren’t easy he still keeps going, he never falters in his views of right and wrong when he faces down Kronos.

  1. What’s a song that makes you just wanna dance?

Taylor Swift, Shake it Off

Literally every time this song comes onto my iPod, which is quite often because it’s on a lot of the playlists I listen to daily, I want to start dancing. I resist the urge, it would be really awkward if I started dancing on the train to work one morning.

  1. What’s one of your quirkiest traits?

I have a few quirky traits, or what I would define as quirky, but the one which always seems to shock everyone is the fact that whenever at a bar or restaurant a drink comes out with a lemon garnish in it I will eat it, rind and all. A couple of weeks ago while at a bar with my work colleagues I asked a friend if I could have the lemon in his drink and I ate it. Everyone was so shocked but it’s something I’ve done ever since I was a child. It’s gotten to the stage now where my friends will give me the lemon garnish in their drinks if we’re out without me needing to ask.


My Questions:

  1. The three main characters from the last three books you read are your partners in the zombie apocalypse. Who are they and do you think you’d survive the outbreak?
  2. If you could take one thing, be it a place, an event, a character, an object, out of any book and make it real what would you pick?
  3. The world is ending and you have just enough time to read one book, what would you choose and why?
  4. What is one thing you wish there was more of in the world?
  5. If you could have any superpower what would you choose, and what would be your origin story? (I already have one for my rise to supervillan status one day).

My Nominations:

  1. Grace at Kimmie.gg
  2. Heather at The Sassy Book Geek
  3. Lauren at Lauren’s Page Turners
  4. Marie at Drizzle and Hurricane Books
  5. Sammie at Bookshelves & Biros
32 thoughts on “Book Fangirling Blog Award

  1. WOW!! Thanks so much for this tag! I look forward to completing this very soon 🙂 My friend actually dyed her hair purple, and it looked amazing, just as you would if you were to dye your hair that color. I had my doubts, but it actually looks very cool! I’d have to agree that winter is my favorite season. I love big sweaters, warm fireplaces and sweet hot chocolate. Thanks again!! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s all right! 😀 I look forwards to seeing your answers 🙂
      You have a lot more confidence in my ability to pull off purple hair than I do, maybe one day but at the moment I think I’m happy with my natural hair colour.
      Oh yes, Winter is so cosy and festive and honestly I love it! Although honestly it feels a little like Winter here in England at the moment, we have no sun at all!
      That’s all right ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I really wanted to have pastel purple hair, but my natural hair colour is quiet dark and I would have to bleach my hair. That’s seriously too much work for me and I don’t want to damage my hair too much! XD
    I love winter as well! And I miss it a lot, especially at the moment as I’m currently melting because of the heat. I really hate summer. (But the vacation part is pretty nice.)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My hair is quite light so I think it would take the colour really well, but I just never really got the urge to ever dye it, although I see pictures of the trends and they look so beautiful.
      There are times when it feels like winter in England right now, our weather is insane! But yeah I always miss it when it’s face-melting hot over here too! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! Yeah part of me feels the same way, I wouldn’t want to ruin my hair, but a larger part of me knows I’m just too lazy to deal with all the maintenance required! 🙂
      Pretty much most Taylor Swift songs make me want to dance 😀 but Shake It Off is my ultimate dance tune! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Omg it’s so funny that you eat the lemons out of people’s drinks! I used to do that when I was a kid, but I only ate the middle bit and the left the rind. 😂 Great answers and questions! Thank you for tagging me, can’t wait to do it! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m the opposite with dying my hair. I want to dye it like every colour that exists, but because it’s so dark it’s almost impossible without spending a ton of money on bleaching it which sucks haha. I have dyed it black, dark purple and dark red though! It’s pretty much my natural dark brown again now and I want to redye it so badly.

    I loved reading all your Hogwarts House descriptions for the books you’re currently reading!! I’m super excited for This Savage Song. Winter is the best!! Shake It Off always makes me dance too. And hahaha, your lemon story is wonderful 😂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ahh my hair is actually quite light so I think it would take hair dyes quite well if I ever decided to dye it one day. I’m just too lazy to deal with the maintenance it would require. But wow it’s great you’ve had so many colours, it must look amazing when it’s been newly dyed!
      Thanks, I had a lot of fun with that question I loved thinking of the different houses each character would fit in and I’m glad you liked reading my answers and reasonings. This Savage Song is amazing, I think you’ll really love it.
      Everyone thinks the lemon thing is really weird but it’s honestly normal for me! 🙂

      Like

  5. Winter is my favourite season too, with Spring in at a close second. I love the cold and being bundled up. And Christmas is always the best time of year. The festive cheer is so infectious.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I have never dyed my hair either but would kind of secretly love to have it blue. Except it’s expensive and high maintenance and not really accepted at a lot of jobs. So it will continue to be a dream.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

