Unravel Me

Unravel Me


Title: Unravel Me

Author: Tahereh Mafi

Series: Shatter Me, #2

Publisher: HarperCollins

Release Date: February 5th 2013

Rating:

Four Stars

tick
tick
tick
tick
tick
it’s almost
time for war.

Juliette has escaped to Omega Point. It is a place for people like her – people with gifts – and it is also the headquarters of the rebel resistance.

She’s finally free from The Reestablishment, free from their plan to use her as a weapon, and free to love Adam. But Juliette will never be free from her lethal touch.

Or from Warner, who wants Juliette more than she ever thought possible.

In this exhilarating sequel to Shatter Me, Juliette has to make life-changing decisions between what she wants and what she thinks is right. Decisions that might involve choosing between her heart—and Adam’s life.

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

This review may contain spoilers for previous book(s) in the series.

My Thoughts On…

…The Plot

“I’m wondering how many more mistakes I’ll have to make before things finally fall into place. If they ever will.”

For the first time since she was fourteen Juliette is finally free; free from the asylum, free from the Reestablishment and free from Warner, and while she still has to deal with mastering her ability she isn’t the only one who a gift now. After escaping to Omega Point with Adam and Kenji Juliette’s days are taken up with constant training, where she tries in vain to recreate what happened when she broke through the wall in Warner’s training room, and her nights are constrained by the curfew leaving very little time for her to spend with Adam.

Juliette holds herself back from the other people in Omega Point; with a gift like hers she finds it hard to escape the whispers that follow her, hard to look the other way when women drag their children out of reach of her touch. And with Adam spending more and more time with Castle trying to master his own ability Juliette feels completely alone.

With their escape being a big deal within Sector 45 Warner and his soldiers are combing the grounds around Omega Point trying to find any hint of the rebel resistance, something that is putting most people hiding among them on edge. Then four of their own are captured by Anderson and a trade is proposed; Juliette for the lives of their missing people.

“You’re not with your shitty parents anymore. You’re not in that shitty asylum, and you’re no longer stuck being Warner’s shitty little experiment. So make a choice,” he says. “Make a choice and stop wasting everyone’s time. Stop wasting your own time. Okay?”

Knowing this could be their best chance Juliette agrees to meet with Anderson, with Adam and Kenji as back-up. Already aware of the possibility of walking into a trap Juliette, Adam and Kenji are still left unprepared for what happens and are left fleeing the scene when the soldiers of the Reestablishment attack. However the rebellion manage to get their hands on Warner and propose a trade to his father; the lives of their men for Warner’s.

…The Characters

“You are so confident,” he says to me. “You’re stubborn and resilient. So brave. So strong. So inhumanly beautiful. You could conquer the world.”

Juliette has come a long way from the person she was in the first book but I think there is still a long way for her character to go. She holds so much of herself back from the others at Omega Point, refusing to open up to anyone or let people in. She cannot master her own gift and feels sorry for herself a lot in the beginning but, after a no nonsense talk from Kenji, she starts to make more of an effort.

Life has not given Juliette and easy hand but she starts to accept what she has been given in this book. She works with Kenji to try and control her powers, starts to open up to the others in Omega Point, and basically becomes a stronger person who doesn’t need protection from anyone when she knows she can take on anything life throws at her.

“Juliette, please, tell me what I’m supposed to do. How am I supposed to feel? It’s one shitty thing right after another and I’m trying to be okay—God, I’m trying so hard but it’s really freaking difficult and I miss—I miss you, I miss you so much it’s killing me.”

Adam, like Juliette, has a gift which allows him to touch her without being in pain however now they’re finally safe he starts losing control of his ability. He keeps it from her but when Juliette finds out for herself she ends things between them. I admire Juliette for the choice she makes. She still loves Adam but she can’t be with him knowing he will hurt whenever she touches him.

“He’s a vision of emerald and onyx, silhouetted in the sunlight in the most deceiving way. He could be glowing. That could be a halo around his head. This could be the world’s way of making an example out of irony. Because Warner is beautiful in ways even Adam isn’t.”

Warner seems like a different character in Unravel Me compared to Shatter Me. While being held captive at Omega Point he has none of the responsibilities being a Sector leader comes with weighing on his shoulders and he throws off some of the rigid control he has lived under all his life. He opens up to Juliette a lot more and allows her to see another side of him, not the heartless soldier and leader she saw in Shatter Me but the young boy who fears his father’s control and who understands her own fears and isolations in a way no one else can.

I really loved the way the relationship between Juliette and Warner developed. The more time they spend together the more Juliette sees this other side of Warner and the more the two of them become friends. Warner wants more from Juliette, he wants everything from her, but for the moment he is content with friendship. He trusts her more than anyone else on the base and with Warner Juliette reveals more of herself than she ever has with anyone else. Even though she is supposed to interrogate him for information about where Brendan and Winston are being kept she finds herself conversing with him more than demanding answers.

I can’t feel my fingers or the cold or the emptiness of this room because all I feel is him, everywhere, filling everything and he whispers
“Please.”
He says “Please don’t shoot me for this.”
And he kisses me.

Of all the characters we meet in Omega Point Kenji is my absolute favourite, and honestly I enjoyed the scenes with him in more than I did all the love triangle tension developing between Juliette, Warner and Adam. Kenji is someone who always seems to have a smile on his face and a joke on the tip of his tongue but underneath his good humour he is someone who understands better than most the severity of the situation they’ve all found themselves in. He is a soldier first and foremost but he knows how people value his light hearted side in the midst of all the terror and uncertainty. Honestly, I would read this whole trilogy all over again from Kenji’s POV.

…The Setting

“This planet is a broken bone that didn’t set right, a hundred pieces of crystal glued together. We’ve been shattered and reconstructed, told to make an effort every single day to pretend we still function the way we’re supposed to. But it’s a lie, it’s all a lie.”

There are a lot of parallels between Sector 45 and Omega Point in Unravel Me but for Juliette there are more than a few similarities. Both Castle and Warner want her to master her abilities but whereas Warner wanted her to learn for herself Castle wants her to become a member of his team and use her gift to take down the Reestablishment. Omega Point is all about creating a safe haven for people that exhibit an ability; people like Juliette and Adam, and even Warner when he discovers a gift himself. We saw more of the conditions people have been living in since the Reestablishment took over – the poverty, lack of food, and lack of safety in general – however we still haven’t seen much of the world outside. We’re told it’s a dystopian state and that nothing looks the same as it once did but we’re not shown anything, and it is the same with Juliette’s ability. We meet more people with abilities in this story, Kenji who can turn invisible, Brendan who has control over electricity, Sara and Sonya who are powerful healers, but we still have no clue how these powers came to be in the first place.


I enjoyed Unravel Me much more than Shatter Me. The insta-love between Adam and Juliette was replaced with a love triangle between Adam, Juliette and Warner which isn’t my favourite trope, but the plot took a turn away from the generic dystopian novel plot the first one had and once again Juliette’s character development was amazing to read.

What did you think of Unravel Me? Was it a favourite of yours or could you just not get into the story? Let me know.

17 thoughts on “Unravel Me

    1. Oh my god yes! I would love to read the whole trilogy from Kenji’s POV because I think that would be brilliant! He’s definitely my favourite character of the lot!
      I’m never a fan of love triangles but I think reading this book I thought it was obvious which couple was endgame and which wasn’t (have you finished the trilogy, I don’t want to spoil anything for you if you haven’t!)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’d settle for a novella or something, just anything from Kenji’s POV, because I think there’s so much left to discover about his character! I just want more from him, I’d read about him brushing his teeth each morning! 😀
        Just wanted to double check, I don’t want to risk spooling anything. But yeah I think by about halfway through this book it became obvious Juliette and Adam weren’t really going to go anywhere but I still loved the whole development of Juliette and Warner’s relationship in the third book! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Hahaha, yay, me too, I’d read about him having a boring day -wait, I can’t even imagine him having a boring day.
        Exactly, and what I find the most crazy, is how Adam’s character becomes…. SO annoying, I couldn’t stand him by the end of the third book ahah.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Well given his life and the situation the world is in I guess a boring day wouldn’t really be something he’d experience, but still I’d read anything, I just need more Kenji! 😀
        He wasn’t as bad in the first book, a little flat, but in the second and third he just seemed to morph into a whinny child and, I completely agree with you, I just couldn’t stand him!

        Liked by 1 person

      4. I’m keeping my fingers crossed for a Kenji novella, or anything more featuring Kenji really! 😀
        Yeah, it’s a shame because all the other characters had great development as the series went on but Adam just really fell flat in this trilogy for me :/

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I think the trilogy does get better as it goes on. The plot never seems to progress much beyond a generic dystopian one but in my mind the character development, especially for Juliette, more than made up for that! She doesn’t start off strong and kick-ass but builds up to it throughout the course of the whole trilogy which, after everything she went through, makes so much sense in my mind!
      Thanks 🙂 I hope you like this series if you start it! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

