Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books on my Beach TBR List

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week there is a new topic for bloggers to choose and list their top ten. This week’s theme is Top Ten Books on my Beach TBR List.

For a book to make it onto my summer TBR list there are a few requirements. I prefer standalones because the I don’t have to wait for another book to reach a happy ending, I want there to be a cute romance story, and I want it to be full of sun, fun, travel and happy endings. It’s why most of my summer reads end up being contemporary books. This year I already have way more than ten on my to-read list; all of them perfect for sitting on the beach one day while on holiday, or sitting in my garden when the sun is out and I have nothing else to do all day.


Top Ten Tuesday #24

The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

For me Morgan Matson is the queen of summer contemporary romance books. At the moment the only one of her books I’ve read is Since You’ve Been Gone so I’m excited to pick up more from her. I’ve heard some great things about The Unexpected Everything so I can’t wait to get started on it.

Andie had it all planned out.

When you are a politician’s daughter who’s pretty much raised yourself, you learn everything can be planned or spun, or both. Especially your future.

Important internship? Check.

Amazing friends? Check.

Guys? Check (as long as we’re talking no more than three weeks).

But that was before the scandal. Before having to be in the same house with her dad. Before walking an insane number of dogs. That was before Clark and those few months that might change her whole life.

Because here’s the thing—if everything’s planned out, you can never find the unexpected.

And where’s the fun in that?


Love & Gelato by Jenna Evans Welch

While I’ve never been to Tuscany before I have a deep and all-consuming love for Italy in general, so as soon as I saw where this book was set it went straight onto my to-read list. Plus the combination of the title and the cover is just so cute.

Lina is spending the summer in Tuscany, but she isn’t in the mood for Italy’s famous sunshine and fairy-tale landscape. She’s only there because it was her mother’s dying wish that she get to know her father. But what kind of father isn’t around for sixteen years? All Lina wants to do is get back home.

But then Lina is given a journal that her mom had kept when she lived in Italy. Suddenly Lina’s uncovering a magical world of secret romances, art, and hidden bakeries. A world that inspires Lina, along with the ever-so-charming Ren, to follow in her mother’s footsteps and unearth a secret that has been kept from Lina for far too long. It’s a secret that will change everything she knew about her mother, her father—and even herself.

People come to Italy for love and gelato, someone tells her, but sometimes they discover much more.


Wanderlost by Jen Malone

This is another book that is set in one of my favourite cities in the world, Amsterdam, so like Love & Gelato as soon as I saw where this book was set it went straight onto my to-read list.

Not all those who wander are lost, but Aubree Sadler most definitely is on this novel’s whirlwind trip through Europe.

Aubree can’t think of a better place to be than in perfectly boring Ohio, and she’s ready for a relaxing summer. But when her older sister, Elizabeth, gets into real trouble, Aubree is talked into taking over Elizabeth’s summer job, leading a group of senior citizens on a bus tour through Europe.

Aubree doesn’t even make it to the first stop in Amsterdam before their perfect plan unravels, leaving her with no phone, no carefully prepared binder full of helpful facts, and an unexpected guest: the tour company owner’s son, Sam. Considering she’s pretending to be Elizabeth, she absolutely shouldn’t fall for him, but she can’t help it, especially with the most romantic European cities as the backdrop for their love story.

But her relationship with Sam is threatening to ruin her relationship with her sister, and she feels like she’s letting both of them down. Aubree knows this trip may show her who she really is—she just hopes she likes where she ends up.


The Square Root of Summer by Harriet Reuter Hapgood

I’ve seen this book around a lot recently, it seemed to be a relatively hyped up release. I haven’t seen many reviews for The Square Root of Summer so I don’t know whether it lives up to the hype or not but it sounds really interesting, plus it mentions time travel and I will pick up any book with even the slightest hint of time travel.

“This is what it means to love someone. This is what it means to grieve someone. It’s a little bit like a black hole. It’s a little bit like infinity.”

Gottie H. Oppenheimer is losing time. Literally. When the fabric of the universe around her seaside town begins to fray, she’s hurtled through wormholes to her past:

To last summer, when her grandfather Grey died. To the afternoon she fell in love with Jason, who wouldn’t even hold her hand at the funeral. To the day her best friend Thomas moved away and left her behind with a scar on her hand and a black hole in her memory.

Although Grey is still gone, Jason and Thomas are back, and Gottie’s past, present, and future are about to collide—and someone’s heart is about to be broken.

With time travel, quantum physics, and sweeping romance, The Square Root of Summer is an exponentially enthralling story about love, loss, and trying to figure it all out, from stunning debut YA voice, Harriet Reuter Hapgood.


One Paris Summer by Denise Grover Swank

I feel like a lot of this list is places I’ve been to and loved. It’s the same with One Paris Summer, it sounds like it’ll be a fun read and I hope it shows us a lot of Paris alongside the romance.

Most teens dream of visiting the City of Lights, but it feels more like a nightmare for Sophie Brooks. She and her brother are sent to Paris to spend the summer with their father, who left home a year ago without any explanation. As if his sudden abandonment weren’t betrayal enough, he’s about to remarry, and they’re expected to play nice with his soon-to-be wife and stepdaughter. The stepdaughter, Camille, agrees to show them around the city, but she makes it clear that she will do everything in her power to make Sophie miserable.

Sophie could deal with all the pain and humiliation if only she could practice piano. Her dream is to become a pianist, and she was supposed to spend the summer preparing for a scholarship competition. Even though her father moved to Paris to pursue his own dream, he clearly doesn’t support hers. His promise to provide her with a piano goes unfulfilled.

Still, no one is immune to Paris’s charm. After a few encounters with a gorgeous French boy, Sophie finds herself warming to the city, particularly when she discovers that he can help her practice piano. There’s just one hitch—he’s a friend of Camille’s, and Camille hates Sophie. While the summer Sophie dreaded promises to become best summer of her life, one person could ruin it all.


The Summer After You and Me by Jennifer Salvato Doktorski

This book has some mixed reviews so I’m a little wary of it, but I’m interested to read the authors take on people’s lives in a coastal town after hurricane Sandy.

Sunbathing, surfing, eating funnel cake on the boardwalk—Lucy loves living on the Jersey Shore. For her, it’s not just the perfect summer escape, it is home. And as a local girl, she knows not to get attached to the tourists. They breeze in over Memorial Day weekend, crowding the shore and stealing moonlit kisses, only to pack up their beach umbrellas and empty promises on Labor Day. Lucy wants more from love than a fleeting romance, even if that means keeping her distance from her summertime neighbor and crush, Connor.

Then Superstorm Sandy tears apart her barrier island, briefly bringing together a local girl like herself and a vacationer like Connor. Except nothing is the same in the wake of the storm. And day after day, week after week, Lucy is left to pick up the pieces of her broken heart and broken home. Now with Memorial Day approaching and Connor returning, will it be a summer of fresh starts or second chances?


Summer of Sloane by Erin L. Schneider

I have seen a lot of this book around recently, like with The Square Root of Summer I’m not sure if it lives up to the hype or not but it sounds like it’ll be a fun read. Plus it’s set in Hawaii, a place I would love to be able to go to one day.

Warm Hawaiian sun. Lazy beach days. Flirty texts with her boyfriend back in Seattle.

These are the things seventeen-year-old Sloane McIntyre pictured when she imagined the summer she’d be spending at her mom’s home in Hawaii with her twin brother, Penn. Instead, after learning an unthinkable secret about her boyfriend, Tyler, and best friend, Mick, all she has is a fractured hand and a completely shattered heart.

Once she arrives in Honolulu, though, Sloane hopes that Hawaii might just be the escape she needs. With beach bonfires, old friends, exotic food, and the wonders of a waterproof cast, there’s no reason Sloane shouldn’t enjoy her summer. And when she meets Finn McAllister, the handsome son of a hotel magnate who doesn’t always play by the rules, she knows he’s the perfect distraction from everything that’s so wrong back home.

But it turns out a measly ocean isn’t nearly enough to stop all the emails, texts, and voicemails from her ex-boyfriend and ex-best friend, desperate to explain away their betrayal. And as her casual connection with Finn grows deeper, Sloane’s carefree summer might not be as easy to find as she’d hoped. Weighing years of history with Mick and Tyler against their deception, and the delicate possibility of new love, Sloane must decide when to forgive, and when to live for herself.


Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson

Another Morgan Matson book, because like I said she is the queen of summer contemporary romance.

From the Flying Start author of Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour, a powerful novel about hope in the face of heartbreak.

Taylor Edwards’ family might not be the closest-knit – everyone is a little too busy and overscheduled – but for the most part, they get along just fine. Then Taylor’s dad gets devastating news, and her parents decide that the family will spend one last summer all together at their old lake house in the Pocono Mountains.

Crammed into a place much smaller and more rustic than they are used to, they begin to get to know each other again. And Taylor discovers that the people she thought she had left behind haven’t actually gone anywhere. Her former best friend is still around, as is her first boyfriend…and he’s much cuter at seventeen than he was at twelve.

As the summer progresses and the Edwards become more of a family, they’re more aware than ever that they’re battling a ticking clock. Sometimes, though, there is just enough time to get a second chance—with family, with friends, and with love


Even if the Sky Falls by Mia Garcia

Initially it was the gorgeous cover that drew me to this book, it certainly jumps out from the page, but seeing that it is set in New Orleans which is another place with I would love to be able to visit one day is what made me add it to my to-read list.

All she needs is one night to be anyone she wants.

Julie is desperate for a change. So she heads to New Orleans with her youth group to rebuild houses and pretend her life isn’t a total mess. But between her super-clingy team leader and her way-too-chipper companions, Julie feels more trapped than ever.

In a moment of daring, she ditches her work clothes for DIY fairy wings and heads straight into the heart of Mid-Summer Mardi Gras, where she locks eyes with Miles, an utterly irresistible guy with a complicated story of his own. And for once, Julie isn’t looking back. She jumps at the chance to see the real New Orleans, and in one surreal night, they dance under the stars, share their most shameful secrets, and fall in love.

But their adventure takes an unexpected turn when an oncoming hurricane changes course. As the storm gains power and Julie is pulled back into chaos she finds pretending everything is fine is no longer an option.


The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen

Sarah Dessen is definitely one of my favourite YA contemporary authors, and The Truth About Forever is probably my favourite of all her books I’ve read so far. This one will be a re-read for me but I think I’ll probably love it just as much, if not more, the second time around.

Sixteen-year-old Macy Queen is looking forward to a long, boring summer. Her boyfriend is going away. She’s stuck with a dull-as-dishwater job at the library. And she’ll spend all of her free time studying for the SATs or grieving silently with her mother over her father’s recent unexpected death. But everything changes when Macy is corralled into helping out at one of her mother’s open house events, and she meets the chaotic Wish Catering crew. Before long, Macy joins the Wish team. She loves everything about, the work and the people. But the best thing about Wish is Wes – artistic, insightful, and understanding Wes – who gets Macy to look at life in a whole new way, and really start living it.


So what do you think? Did you take part in this week’s Top Ten Tuesday, if so let me know what some of your favourite beach reads are.

27 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books on my Beach TBR List

    1. I already know I love The Truth About Forever, and I’ve heard nothing but good things about The Unexpected Everything so I’m sure I’ll enjoy both of them 😀
      And yeah I saw a lot of Summer of Sloane recently, kinda made me curious enough to add it to my to-read list!

      Like

    1. Yes I completely agree! I don’t think I could have posted a TTT featuring my summer reads without at least one Sarah Dessen or Morgan Matson book! I only added The Square Root of Summer to my to-read list recently but it sounds amazing doesn’t it? The cover is gorgeous and I can’t wait to get my hands on it 😀
      Thanks! I’ll definitely check out your TTT post! 🙂

      Like

    1. God yes, there are some authors that you see and just associate with summer, Sarah Dessen is one of my main ones. 🙂
      The Square Root of Summer wasn’t really on my radar until I was looking for books for this TTT post but now I can’t wait to get my hands on it 😀
      Thanks for the link. I’ll definitely check out your TTT post 😀

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I kind of forgot how much I loved her writing until this TTT post, but now I’m definitely feeling the need to re-read all of her books! I vaguely remember reading Keeping the Moon, I know I have a copy in my house somewhere, but honestly it’s been so long since I picked it up. For me, as well as The Truth About Forever, my favourite is Just Listen; I think that’s an amazing book!

      Like

    1. Thank you Diana! 😀 I’m really glad you liked my picks this week. They’re all places I want to visit as well, or in the case if Amsterdam and Paris places I want to go back to one day so hopefully reading these books will make me feel like I’m there again if only in a small way. That’s kind of what I looked for for this weeks pick; books set in foreign countries that just have that summer feel to them 🙂
      Thanks for the link as well, I’ll definitely check out your TTT post! 😀
      And yeah, happy reading to you too 🙂

      Like

  1. Incredible list! ❤ I have Wanderlost, Love & Gelato, The Unexpected Everything and The Square Root of Summer on my TBR as well. I am SO excited for those, especially the latter. The cover is GORGEOUS and the story seems so unique! I hope it lives up to the hype. And I JUST finished reading that Sarah Dessen book, ahah, I LOVED it so much, it was so cute ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Marie! 😀
      God all these books just make me so excited for summer, and I have really high hopes for The Unexpected Everything and The Square Root of Summer (it sounds completely epic doesn’t it?!) because they both sound and look amazing, and you know anything by Morgan Matson is going to be great! But honestly they all sound really good, and some of them are definitely inspiring my own wanderlust as well 😀 Oh what I wouldn’t give to have a summer like some of these books are describing! ❤️
      Ohh Sarah Dessen is one of my favourite contemporary authors, and one of the first I read, so I’m so glad you loved her book. Do you have any others of hers on your TBR list? 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It really does! I think it’s one of my most anticipated releases. I’m definitely buying it soon, I can’t wait to read it! ❤ Oh definitely, it feels great to have some incredible books to get away with, while we wait for our next travel 🙂
        I really loved her book! I'm planning on reading more from Sarah Dessen, but I don't know which one's up next, she just has SO many books…any advice? 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Honestly I think I’m going to have to do the same! I only noticed it because I was looking for books for this TTT and now I can’t wait to get my hands on it! Yes, and when they describe the places you’ve travelled to as well it’s like reliving everything you did there (it’s one of the things I loved about reading the Anna and the French Kiss series!)
        I’ve only read some of her earlier books, I still need to pick up her latest release but my favourite (as well as The Truth About Forever) is Just Listen so I would recommend that one next! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

