Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Felt Differently About After Re-Reading

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week there is a new topic for bloggers to choose and list their top ten. This week’s theme is Top Ten Books I Felt Differently About After Re-Reading.

I’ve started re-reading a lot of books since I started blogging, and for most of them my opinions have changed after going back to them a second time. Some got better as I noticed things I missed the first time โ€“ little nuances and subtleties which made the story so much more enjoyable โ€“ some I didn’t enjoy as much as I noticed plot inaccuracies or character quirks which became more and more annoying as the story progressed, and there are a small amount which, no matter how many times I read, I will always love.


Top Ten Tuesday #23

Books I Re-Read and Loved

A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab

I enjoyed this book the first time but reading it again I was hooked. The story dragged me in and didn’t let go until the very last page. I jumped straight into the second book after finishing A Darker Shade of Magic and this has fast become one of my favourite series.


A Fierce and Subtle Poison by Samantha Mabry

I wasn’t a massive fan of this book the first time I read it. There was something, and I couldn’t quite put my finger on what it was, that I just couldn’t click with. Going back and re-reading it for a second time I was able to enjoy the story so much more. The only issue I have with this book was with Lucas, alone he was a great character but his relationships with others just fell flat for me.


Bone Gap by Laura Ruby

The first time I read this book I loved it, and reading it again for the second time only made me love it more. Bone Gap was the first magical realism book I read and, in my opinion, the very best of the lot.


Cinder by Marissa Meyer

I didn’t think this book was anything too special the first time I read it, though I still really enjoyed it. The second time I picked up Cinder it was to re-read the whole series after Winter had been released and I fell in love with everything about it, maybe because I could jump straight from one book into the next but maybe I just enjoyed the story more picking up on the foreshadowing throughout.


Books I Re-Read and Didn’t Enjoy as Much

Twilight by Stephenie Meyer

I loved Twilight the first time I read it however looking back, and having read a much wider variety of YA fiction, I realise that I personally had more than a few problems with the characters and their relationships. Still, that being said, Twilight is what first introduced me to the world of YA fiction, honestly I don’t know what would have happened if I hadn’t picked this book up but I wonder if I would have still started this blog at some point.


Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

The first time I read this book I really enjoyed it, and I was so excited for the second in the series. However after Glass Sword was released I went back to re-read Red Queen and whatever I loved about this book the first time around I couldn’t find reading it for a second time. The plot was still interesting, if a little generic in terms of dystopian novels, but I could not connect with any of the characters, I hated the love triangle, and there were so many questions I had in regards to the rules of the world Victoria Aveyard had created.


Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo

Don’t get me wrong I did really enjoy this series, and Leigh Bardugo is still one of my favourite authors. However going back and re-reading this book I just found myself getting really frustrated with some of the characters (Mal) and the decisions they made; and while I loved Nikolai’s character I felt the love triangle between him, Alina, and Mal was really forced and unnecessary.


Books I Re-Read Over and Over and Love More and More

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

There’s something really special about this book for me. Every time I re-read it I enjoy the magic and the world more and more. When I pick up The Night Circus once again I know I’m in for a treat when I start the story.


Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

How could I not put Harry Potter on this list? I re-read the whole series at least once every year and every time I fall more in love with the books, the characters, the stories, the world, and the writing.


The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

This is such a heartbreaking and beautifully written book. No matter how many times I’ve read it I will always be moved to tears by the end and I will always love the story itself.


So what do you think? Did you take part in this week’s Top Ten Tuesday, if so let me know what some of the books you felt differently about after re-reading were.

45 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Felt Differently About After Re-Reading

  1. Oh Lucas from a Fierce and Subtle Poison was a hard character to like. I recently acquired Bone Gap, so I am happy to hear you love it even more now. I have The Night Circus as well and just haven’t found time to read it, I guess I need to. Great list!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I feel like a lot of people have that same opinion which is a shame because overall I thought the book was really good. I hope you love Bone Gap, it’s such an amazing book, and the same goes for The Night Circus as well.
      Thanks ๐Ÿ˜€

      Like

    1. God The Book Thief is one of my all-time favourites. I’m not really one for historical fiction but this is just amazing, so beautifully written and moving as well! That’s a good habit to have, my memory isn’t great when it comes to the smaller details so I need to re-read just to keep updated on what happens next in a series! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Totally agree about Twilight! I loved it the first time and then I re read it later and I still liked it, but didn’t enjoy it as much. I still love Red Queen though!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. For me I think as I read more and more YA fictions I just realise how many better books there are out there, and re-reading Twilight felt like a step backwards.
      Yeah Red Queen has a lot of positive ratings, just wasn’t the book for me I think! Still I’m glad you liked the series ๐Ÿ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I think that is basically my thinking too!! There are just so many amazing things out there that when I compare them to twilight, it’s pretty bad…

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Marie! Yeah for me ADSOM is one of those books that I will love more and more every time I re-read it (I only just re-read it in February and I already want to go back and read it again now!)
      Red Queen is supposedly really popular, and I have seen more than a few positive reviews for it, but a lot of people I’ve spoke to on WordPress like it less and less as well, I guess it’s not a book that can stand the test of time.
      Yeah, same here, was not a fan of the sequel, holding out a little hope for the third book though!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I need to read SO many of these. I loved A Fierce and Subtle Poison so much. I definitely agree about having an issue with Lucas, but I was so in love with the mythology and the fact that the story we were reading almost became a legend of its own. I’m so excited to read ADSoM!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know what you mean about A Fierce and Subtle Poison, the story was great but the world building and mythology was in a league of its own, and one of the reasons I loved this book so much despite not liking Lucas’s character.
      Oh man ADSOM is amazing, I really really hope you love it as much as I do, and then you can agonise with the rest of us fans as we wait for the third book to be released next year! ๐Ÿ˜€

      Like

    1. I know what you mean. Even years after I first read The Night Circus I’ve yet to find anything that can even come close to comparing to it. It’s such a beautiful book and a great standalone as well. I think it’s just in a league of its own ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m so with you on Twilight and Red Queen. I loved Twilight when I read it 10 years ago, but I reread it about a year ago and wondered what was wrong with me back then. I don’t remember thinking how bad the writing was back then, but I also wasn’t looking for it like I do now that I write fiction. I loved Red Queen when I first read it, and now that I’m seeing the similarities from other books, I feel like it’s a mashup of about 5 different hyped books. What I thought was original in the beginning just feels borrowed now. I have the sequel on my Kindle but haven’t read it. And after reading the reviews, I’m not so sure I’ll read it anytime soon.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Twilight was one of the books that, when re-reading it recently, I actually DNF it (I don’t count it on my DNF count because it was technically a re-read, I did finish it the first time I picked it up!) I think back then when I first picked up Twilight it was the first YA fiction book I read so I didn’t realise what else was out there, and I ink even nowadays there’s a lot of choice available for YA readers, gives Twilight a lot more competition!
      I was the same when I picked up Red Queen the first time I really enjoyed it, it wasn’t a five star book but I gave it a high rating, going back and re-reading it though I couldn’t find anything I loved so much the first time around. In my opinion the sequel wasn’t any better, but I can’t leave series unfinished so I am going to have to finish the Red Queen series :/

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s a good point. There wasn’t a lot of YA, which is why I read a lot of Stephen King and John Grisham books back then. I don’t recall much competition except for The Vampire Diaries and some of LJ Smith’s other books, but they didn’t become super popular until right before the show. I still need to reread Red Queen since it’s been so long and I’m forgetting a few things before I can read the second one. Hey, at least they have beautiful covers. I do like her writing style. That’s the one thing that drew me into Red Queen.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I read more children’s books before starting Twilight and being introduced to YA fiction, then I pretty much picked up everything I could and expanded my tastes more! I definitely cannot think of any series which were competition for Twilight in the early days.
        They do have beautiful covers, but for me it’s not enough to make up for the fact that I didn’t like the book itself! Hopefully you’ll enjoy it reading it for a second time ๐Ÿ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Soooo I’m kind of obsessed with ADSOM at the moment given that they just revealed the cover for ACOL, but I’m SO happy to hear that you love it too the second time around! Last night I ended up reading some chapters in AGOS (the last ones) and I absolutely loved it too, so I think I’ll definitely be able to reread and love that one the same or even more.

    Also sorry to hear about Red Queen and all the other books you didn’t love as much! Rereading is probably a really good test on how much the book can age.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Since you introduced me to the fact that the cover for ACOL had been released I feel exactly the same way! I want to re-read the whole series again (well the two books that have been released) but I’ll probably make myself wait a little longer! I only just re-read the first book in February and I like to wait a little longer between re-reads! ๐Ÿ˜€ I think though no matter how many times I read these books I will always love them a little bit more, it’s just one of those series.
      Yeah Red Queen just wasn’t enjoyable for me the second time around, guess for me it is just one of those books which didn’t age well. Most books I re-read though I do because I already love the series so it’s kinda rare that I’ll enjoy them less than I did the first time you know? ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      1. I think I’ll reread it about two months before ACOL comes out or something – I feel like rereading it now would just make me want ACOL even more, and rereading it when it has already come out will make me impatient to get on with the story. I hope my experience rereading it will be as good as yours later on!

        No, I don’t think Red Queen would age well… though admittedly I didn’t really like that first book either, haha. How do you make time to reread when there are so many other books you want to read? Genuinely curious here. ๐Ÿ˜›

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I tend to try and re-read books so I can go straight from one to the other when a new one in a series has been released, so I’ll re-read ADSOM two days before ACOL is released so I can get through the whole series in three days ๐Ÿ˜€ I do agree with you if I read either ADSOM or AGOS too soon it will make me really impatient for the book, and the excerpt has already done that!
        If I’m in a reading slump I tend to re-read more, and if it’s a book I really enjoy it’s easier to go back to it. A lot of the time it’s because a new book has been released and I can’t remember too well what happened in the previous ones so I’ll re-read the whole series from the beginning up to the newest release. I can get through a book a day if it’s around 400 pages or less so I have a lot of time to read new and old releases!

        Like

      3. Do you do this with every new book in a series or just ones that you’re really, really in love with? I can’t imagine doing it unless I’m SUPER INTO the series, haha. My interest just doesn’t really hold and I’m usually impatient to get to new things.

        I’ve never tried rereading to cure a reading slump, but I wonder if I should – it’s so simple yet I’ve never thought of it before! Reading your favourite books should put you in the mood to read other things, haha.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. There are some series I won’t, ones I really didn’t like I won’t bother re-reading I’ll just check out some reviews or something to refresh my memory. I find it easier to re-read books I love but if I like a series I’ll always pick it up again.
        It always works for me. I pick an old favourite and go back and re-read my favourite parts, it’s kind of like a break from new stories and new worlds going back to a story and a world I know and love already. It kind of resets my brain in a way! ๐Ÿ˜€

        Like

  6. Great choices! I’m thinking I might have to re-read Cinder and the rest before I read Winter. The only problem is I didn’t like the first two books the first time I read it. Maybe my opinion will change? ๐Ÿ˜›

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much! ๐Ÿ™‚ I would recommend re-reading the first two before starting Winter. That’s what I did and it definitely made me enjoy Cinder, and the whole series, a lot more. Maybe it’ll be the same for you as well, you never know ๐Ÿ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve seen so many people who loved that series so it’s nice to have someone who gets where I’m coming from ๐Ÿ˜€
      Yeah it’s kinda weird that going back and re-reading a book can change an opinion that much, but for me with Red Queen that’s just what happened, and Glass Sword didn’t improve my view of the series either :/

      Liked by 1 person

    1. ADSOM is one of my all-time favourite series ๐Ÿ˜€ I am so excited for the third book to be released. Yeah I felt that way about A Fierce and Subtle Poison the first time I read it, there was something I just couldn’t get into but reading it the second time I was just able to enjoy the story so much more. I feel like that book is one you either love or just can’t connect with.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. God it’s gorgeous isn’t it, I think it’s Kell on the first cover, Lila on the second and Holland on the third. They all look so beautiful don’t they?! And yes I cannot wait for ACOL to be released, why must February be so far away!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

