April/May Book Haul

After going over budget for March I was determined to stick to my April budget, to say I failed epically is a massive understatement so for the next month and a half (until the next book I’ve pre-ordered is dispatched at the end of July) I’m putting myself on a book buying ban.

April May Book Haul

This month there were a lot of books I was eagerly anticipating being released; The Raven King, The Rose and the Dagger and A Court of Mist and Fury, the paperback edition of Bone Gap which is an amazing book and one of my favourite magical realism reads, The Star-Touched Queen which I originally read as an eARC from NetGalley but loved so much I decide to buy it in hardcover as well. It’s kind of easy to see how I went over budget this month when taking all of that into account.


Amazon

April-May Book Haul, #3

I brought Lady Midnight last month; mainly because I was in Waterstones, have no self control when it comes to books, and this one was so hyped up in the run up to its release I couldn’t resist. However I need to catch up with everything that has happened previously in Clare’s Shadowhunters world (and watching the TV show doesn’t really count) so this month I brought copies of all The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices books. Got a lot to catch up on.

April-May Book Haul, #4

When I pre-ordered The Raven King, after binge-reading the other books in the series a few months ago, I brought the previous three books at the same time. While The Raven Cycle series isn’t the first of Maggie Stiefvater’s books I’ve read it is my favourite to date. Each book just seemed to get better and better, and of course the gorgeous covers of each look so beautiful on my shelves.

April-May Book Haul, #5

April-May Book Haul, #6

A few of these books are some of my most anticipated releases for this year; The Rose and the Dagger and A Court of Mist and Fury were two I couldn’t wait to get my hands on, and even though I received an eARC of The Star-Touched Queen I loved it so much I brought it in hardcover as well. I’ve heard a lot of great things about Wolf by Wolf, so I had to buy that – it was very much an impulse buy – and I have loved all of V.E. Schwab’s other books so I have high hopes for Vicious when I get around to it.


Amazon Kindle

April-May Book Haul, #1

April-May Book Haul, #2

Awaiting the release of The Rose and the Dagger I was thrilled to hear three novellas were being released in the run-up to the second book. I have only seen good reviews for all of them, despite two being very short, and I am very excited to read the one about Despina and Jalal. The Bone Season is one of my favourite series now, I cannot wait for the third book but in the meantime I guess I’ll have to make do with the novella, On the Merits of Unnaturalness.


Owl Crate

April-May Book Haul, #7

You will be punished…

Celestine North lives a perfect life. She’s a model daughter and sister, she’s well-liked by her classmates and teachers, and she’s dating the impossibly charming Art Crevan.

But then Celestine encounters a situation where she makes an instinctive decision. She breaks a rule and now faces life-changing repercussions. She could be imprisoned. She could be branded. She could be found flawed.

In her breathtaking young adult debut, bestselling author Cecelia Ahern depicts a society where perfection is paramount and flaws lead to punishment. And where one young woman decides to take a stand that could cost her everything.


So there you have it, my insane book haul for this month. Yes, for me this is insane, I normally only buy four or five books a month to try and stick to a budget. Obviously during April and May I did not succeed but I can’t regret it, I have so many amazing books on my shelves now.

46 thoughts on “April/May Book Haul

    1. Thanks 😀
      Yeah I figured I need to catch up on the series so I may as well buy every book released so far 🙂 I do enjoy the show so if the books are as good I’m sure I’ll love them.
      Bone Gap is amazing, I’m re-reading it now and it’s even better the second time around!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah I WAY overspent this month but I can’t regret it, I have so many gorgeous books now 😀
      God I can’t wait for you to read The Raven Boys, I really hope you love it and I can’t wait to see what you think of it 🙂 I didn’t actually realise Cecilia had written P.S. I Love You as well, Flawed is the first book by her I will ave read but I’m excited to see what it’s all about 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  1. PS I FINISHED THE LUNAR CHRONICLES AND I JUST CAN’T. It was really good!!! I wish WordPress had a chat so I could’ve messaged you, but thank you for convincing me to read it!!! n___n

    Liked by 2 people

    1. That’s all right 😀 and OH MY GOD I AM so glad you enjoyed this series so much!!! (Yeah WordPress really needs a chat function doesn’t it), will you be posting reviews soon, I can’t wait to see your thoughts on all the books!

      Like

      1. Then I’m definitely going to keep an eye out for your series review! I can’t wait to see in more detail what you think. 😀
        Oh I really hope you love Stars Above, I really enjoyed all the novellas but the last way my favourite of the lot!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow! You got a ton of great books. I’m next in line for a copy of The Raven King at the library. I can’t wait to get my hands on it. All other reading will cease until I finish it. 🙂 Happy reading!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

