Three (More) Days Three (More) Quotes: Day 1

I have been tagged for the third (and fourth) time in the Three Days Three Quotes challenge. So it’s basically another excuse for me to search through all the books I’ve read, find my favourite quotes and use them to, hopefully, convince some of you to give these books a chance if you haven’t read them already.

I was tagged by Sammie at Bookshelves & Biros and Hannah at The Book Llama. Thanks so much for the tag both of you, this is probably my favourite one so really any excuse to take part again is more than welcome.

Three Days Three Quotes

The rules:

  • Thank the person who nominated you.
  • Post a quote for three consecutive days.
  • Nominate three new bloggers each day.

The Book Thief is my all-time favourite historical fiction novel. If you haven’t read it yet why not? The book is full of beautiful quotes and honestly it will stay with you long after you’ve turned the last page. If I could recommend one book that I think everyone should read it would definitely be this one.

The Book Thief

“Please believe me when I tell you that I picked up each soul that day as if it were newly born. I even kissed a few weary, poisoned cheeks. I listened to their last, gasping cries. Their vanishing words. I watched their love visions and freed them from their fear.

I took them all away, and if ever there was a time I needed distraction, this was it. In complete desolation, I looked at the world above. I watched the sky as it turned from silver to gray to the colour of rain. Even the clouds were trying to get away.

Sometimes I imagined how everything looked above those clouds, knowing without question that the sun was blond, and the endless atmosphere was a giant blue eye.

They were French, they were Jews, and they were you.”

– The Book Thief, Markus Zusak

13 thoughts on “Three (More) Days Three (More) Quotes: Day 1

    1. It’s a gorgeous book, you will be in tears by the end of it (I know I was) but it’s so beautifully written you won’t be able to help falling in love with it 😀
      You should definitely DEFINITELY read this soon! It’s amazing!

      Like

      1. It’s definitely one that’s intimidated me, but I think I am going to try and get to it really soon. My younger sister (who never reads) even loved it and kept telling me to read it, haha. Seeing this quote has definitely made me want to get to it a lot sooner!

        Like

      2. I think it’s definitely worth it, no matter how intimidating it may seem, and if your sister loved it that should tell you something as well 😀
        It isn’t my usual genre, I think I only picked it up because the movie was coming out, but it has become one of my all-time favourite books!
        I do like this quote but there are some other beautiful ones in the book as well 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh yay, I’m so glad you enjoyed this book. Yes it’s so beautiful and so sad as well, I was in tears by the last page.
      I wouldn’t say this was my favourite quote from the book but I do think it kind of represents the books overall feel; moving and deeply emotional 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. The whole book is equally gorgeous, coming up with just one quote was the real challenge for this one! 😀
      Oh you should definitely read this book, I think you’d really love it! I’m feeling the need to re-read it after looking through all the quotes.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Haaa! THE MAGNIFICENT BOOK THIEF !! I actually used a quote from there in my 3 days 3 quotes challenge too, it is just so beautifully written that you can’t help but go back to it when looking for a soul-touching quote.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think I could easily use The Book Thief for all of my Three Day Three Quotes challenge posts! I haven’t but it was so hard coming up with just one quote to feature from this book! It’s so amazing, and reading all the quotes just made me want to read the whole book again!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

