Heir of Fire

Heir of Fire


Title: Heir of Fire

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Series: Throne of Glass, #3

Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens

Release Date: September 11th 2014

Rating:

Four Stars

Consumed by guilt and rage, Celaena can’t bring herself to spill blood for the King of Adarlan. She must fight back…

The Immortal Queen will help her destroy the kingfor a price. But as Celaena battles with her darkest memories and her heart breaks for a love that could never last, can she fulfil the bargain and head the almighty court of Terrasen? And who will stand with her?

– Blurb courtesy of goodreads.com

This review may contain spoilers for previous book(s) in the series.

My Thoughts On…

…The Plot

“Once upon a time,” she said to him, to the world, to herself, “in a land long since burned to ash, there lived a young princess who loved her kingdom…very much.”
And then she told him of the princess whose heart had burned with wildfire, of the mighty kingdom in the north, of its downfall and of the sacrifice of Lady Marion. It was a long story, and sometimes she grew quiet and cried—and during those times he leaned over to wipe away her tears.

After finished Crown of Midnight, and after everything about Celaena and her heritage and her powers were revealed, I was so excited to get started on Heir of Fire. While I really enjoyed this book, don’t get me wrong, it felt more like a filler novel than the next part of the story. The majority of the book was Celaena, Dorian, and Chaol struggling to adjust in their own ways after everything they did and that was revealed. There were new characters introduced who I loved, but it wasn’t until the end that it felt like the plot kicked into high gear again.

Celaena has been sent to Wendlyn to assassinate the King and the Crown Prince, and take control of their navy. However the reason Chaol sent her there was to protect her less the King of Adarlan finds out about her Fae heritage. But after discovering Celaena Sardothien is actually Aelin Galathynius, the Queen of Terrasen, Chaol feels he may have made a terrible mistake. In Wendlyn Celaena finds herself unable to assassinate the Crown Prince, especially after seeing how his people love him, instead she spends her days fighting and drinking until Rowan finds her and takes her to her aunt, Maeve, Queen of the Fae.

In order to receive some much needed answers about the Wyrdkeys and the Kings plans for them Celaena makes a deal with Maeve. She will train with Rowan until he deems her worthy of entering Doranelle, and there she will receive her answers. For years Celaena has hidden her power and her heritage in a world where magic no longer exists so she struggles to so much as shift into her other form. But as Rowan trains her so meting deadly arrives in Wendlyn, something which is killing the demi-Fae and something which could destroy Mistward and the people who made their home there.

“She was not becoming anything different from what she always was and always had the capacity to be. You just finally saw everything. And once you saw that other part of her…You cannot pick and choose what parts of her to love. Just as you cannot pick which parts of me you accept.”

Meanwhile back in Rifthold there is a chasm between Dorian and Chaol, a chasm that widens when Dorian discovers Chaol kept Celaena’s true heritage from him. Both are playing a very dangerous game; while Dorian works with a healer to help control his magic and stop it from raging out of control, Chaol works with Aedion, Celaena’s cousin, toeing very close to the line of rebellion as he struggles to carry on Celaena’s work finding out what the kings plans are for the Wyrdkeys.

…The Characters

“She was the heir of ash and fire, and she would bow to no one.”

Celaena was broken after Nehemia’s death, and seeing the Crown Prince in Wendlyn, seeing the love his people have for him, has not improved her state of mind. She is struggling under the weight of the promise she made to Nehemia’s grave. Celaena is empty and shattered but the more she trains with Rowan the stronger she becomes. She reaches a real turning point in this novel and it’s easy to see the Queen she is starting to become.

She has changed so much since the first novel and it has been a brilliant journey to read. Accessing her power is not easy for Celaena, not when she has always feared it and lived without it for ten years. She struggles so much with the training Rowan puts her through but she is determined to succeed so she can get the answers she needs from Maeve.

“Gods, he was brilliant. Cunning and wicked and brilliant.
Even when he beat the hell out of her. Every. Damn. Day.”

Rowan seems standoffish at first; making no effort to get to know Celaena. He doesn’t put up with any of her attitude and constantly pushes her to grow and develop her powers; doing whatever necessary to help her realise her full potential. He in instrumental in Celaena growing into the Queen she truly is. I loved the friendship between the two of them and the way it developed into something more, not romance but something that helps Celaena to realise there were people she could rely on.

“Handsome was a light way of describing what Aedion was. Overwhelming was more like it. Towering and heavily muscled, Aedion was every inch the warrior rumor claimed him to be.”

Aedion is definitely one of my new favourite characters in this series. He presents a certain face to the world, and to the King, in order to survive but deep down he is truly loyal to his Queen and his people. Aelin and Aedion were best friends when they were children, Aedion Ailen’s protector, but both have them have been changed by what happened in Terrasen ten years ago. They have both done what is necessary to survive and both fear facing the other again. I cannot wait for the two to meet face to face again, I feel like it’s going to be an amazing reunion.

I really love the character development of Dorian and Chaol in this book. Dorian is struggling to adjust to his powers, hiding them from his father and stopping them from raging out of control. His relationship with Sorscha was touching to read but heartbreaking at the same time. Chaol on the other hand has had his sense of loyalty shaken. He still tries to remain loyal to the King but eventually things that happen open his eyes and he is forced to finally choose a side instead of straddling the fence.

“As for Celaena,” he said again, “you do not have the right to wish she were not what she is. The only thing you have a right to do is decide whether you are her enemy or her friend.”

We are also introduced to Manon of the Blackbeak coven, leader of the Thirteen. I loved learning more about the witches and the role they are playing in the King’s plans. The witches are cruel and heartless warriors but there is more to Manon, buried deep deep down. She is a fierce leader, takes and doles out punishment without complaint and as needed, but there’s something more to her which shines through in certain moments. I really enjoyed reading her relationship with her Thirteen and her wyvern Abraxos and I can’t wait to see her character more in the next book.

…The Setting

“That was when they noticed that every musician on the stage was wearing mourning black. That was when they shut up. And when the conductor raised his arms, it was not a symphony that filled the cavernous space.
It was the Song of Eyllwe.
Then Song of Fenharrow. And Melisande. And Terrasen. Each nation that had people in those labour camps.
And finally, not for pomp or triumph, but to mourn what they had become, they played the Song of Adarlan.”

Both Throne of Glass and Crown of Midnight staying in Rifthold and explored the world there. Heir of Fire takes us to different countries and shows us more of the world Sarah . Maas has created in the Throne of Glass series; not only Wendlyn where magic still exists and Celaena’s distant relations thrive on the throne, but Mistward where the demi-Fae live and work as a family, and Doranelle Maeve’s kingdom. While we discovered a little about the Fae and their history in the first two books it is only in this one that they’re given more depth and history. I loved meeting all the new characters who only added to the world. We also learnt  a lot more about how magic was frozen in Adarlan and what the King really has planned for the Wyrdkeys.


I am really enjoying this series so far. While Heir of Fire felt a little slow compared to the first two, especially after everything that was revealed in Crown of Midnight, it was a good build-up to the next book, there were plenty of interesting locations and characters introduced, and when the plot finally kicked into high gear it was unputdownable.

What did you think of Heir of Fire? Was it a favourite of yours or could you just not get into the story? Let me know.

19 thoughts on “Heir of Fire

    1. Thanks Astra! I know what you mean, it seemed to me like most of the action was just in the last few chapters and I could put this book down while reading them!
      I am really enjoying Queen of Shadows at the moment. It is, in my opinion, the best of the lot so far. I really hope you enjoy it when you start it!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I wasn’t even sure if I would enjoy the series and I brought every book 🙂 but I’m so glad I did, I only wish I’d got the novella collection at the same time (The Assassins Blade I think)
        I should be able to post it tonight (I would have last night but I was so busy at work I just couldn’t work up the energy when I got home to write the review)

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Wow, you’re really quick with reading the books in this series! I actually haven’t made it past this book since I want to read Queen of Shadows closer to the release date of the following book (September 2016).

    I agree that this was the slowest book so far – it was a bit hard to get into it at the beginning. That being said however, I think it’s really important to set things up properly since there are so many new characters. My favorite new character is definitely Manon!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have a lot of time to read on my journey to and from work, I can get through books quite quickly 🙂
      I started Queen of Shadows now and I am loving it so far, it is better than Heir of Fire by far, but I feel it’s going to be torture waiting for the fifth book now!
      Yeah, I expected so much more from this book and it seemed like it took ages for the plot to actually kick into action. Like you said though it was important to set up all the characters properly. I really liked Manon as well, but my favourite in this book was definitely Aedion, I loved him from pretty much the moment he was introduced!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This has definitely been the slowest book in the series – things really take off in the next book! It took me a while to warm up to Rowan but I quite liked him come the end of this book – I thought the witches’ story was the weakest one in this book, I found it really slow and it often lost my attention. But as I said, things quadruple in awesome in the next book! I hope you continue to enjoy the series!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, after everything revealed in Crown of Midnight I expected so much more from this one but it just felt more like a filler story to introduce new characters and situations! I’ve started the fourth book and yeah, that one definitely picks up 🙂 and I’m enjoying it so much right now!
      I was the same with Rowan, I think everyone was from what I’ve heard. I loved Aedion from pretty much the moment he was introduced though!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, I do love the series but after the way Crown of Midnight ended I just expected so much more from this one, but I guess there were a lot of new characters added on so Maas needed time to develop them. Rowan wasn’t my favourite character in this book but I liked him by the end 🙂

      Like

      1. Oh yes, I loved Rowan so much more in QoS! That scene where he appears in Rifthold and Celaena runs for him 😀
        I finished QoS yesterday and literally just posted my review of it. It’s literally my favourite book of the series so far! Every scene with Dorian pretty much broke my heart! The whole book was amazing though.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

