The Secret Life of a Book Blogger

I have seen this tag around a lot recently and I’ve been wanting to take part for a while now so I was thrilled when I was actually tagged in this one. I really enjoy blogging and it seems to have become a big part of my life; work, blog, sleep is pretty much how my days go now. So answering all these questions, sort of like a mini-interview with myself, was a lot of fun. I hope you enjoy reading my answers, and getting a little look at my secret life as a book blogger.

The Secret Life of a Book Blogger

I was tagged by Brigitte at The Book and the Bone; thanks so much for the tag Brigitte, like I said I’ve been wanting to do this tag for a while and I had a lot of fun coming up with all my answers.

How long have you been a blogger?

On this blog since November last year. However before I started Reading Every Night I had three other blogs, which all eventually fizzled out, the first of which I started in August 2013.


At what point do you think you will stop?

I’d like to say never, but knowing me I don’t think that’s realistic. Honestly I don’t know. I don’t write posts and update my blog with a specific end date in mind, and maybe one day that’ll change but for now all I can say is that I have no plans to stop blogging anytime soon.


What is the best thing?

Definitely the community. I have met so many amazing people through WordPress since I started this blog, and honestly I don’t think there is anything that can really top that.


What is the worst thing? What do you do to make it okay?

I am a terrible procrastinator so there are times when I don’t feel like writing a post. A lot of the time I just take a night off. I do some reading or just spend time on Tumblr or Pinterest, just something different. Normally a night off does help and the next night I have more motivation to actually post something, be it a review or one of the many tags I have in my queue.


How long does it take to find/create pictures to use?

Most of the time I use cover images of books from Goodreads. Either that or I use my own photos, or add text to stock images which honestly doesn’t take that long. I think the longest is probably about half an hour; finding the perfect light and angle for my own photos or finding the perfect picture and arranging the text until I’m happy with everything.


Who’s your book crush?

My most recent book crush is Arin from The Winner’s Trilogy. I loved him in all three books but honestly I wouldn’t want to go up against Kestrel for him.


What author would you like to have on your blog?

So, so many. Marissa Meyer and V.E. Schwab are two of my favourite authors so they’d definitely be high on my list, though unlikely. Also Alexandra Bracken and April White have written two of my favourite time travel series so I think it’d be great to speak to them about their books as well.


What do you wear when you write your blog?

Pyjamas. Most of the time when I write posts it’s in the evening after I’m home from work so all I really want to do is change into my comfy pyjamas, get cosy in my room, and start writing


How long does it take you to prepare?

It depends on what kind of post I’m writing. For any book reviews or Top Ten Tuesday posts normally between an hour and a half to two hours depending on what book it is and what TTT topic it is. Any books tags or awards normally an hour, and Waiting on Wednesday posts take around fifteen minutes.


How do you feel about the book blogger community/culture?

Well, like I said earlier, I think it’s the best part of blogging. Honestly I have never met so many amazing people all in one place.


What do you think one should do to have a successful blog?

Don’t get bogged down by your stats. Obviously it’s great to improve on the views and visitors you get but don’t become obsessed with it.

Communicate with other bloggers. Like and comment on their posts, make friends, talk about books; it’s what we’re all here for anyways.

Most importantly enjoy what you do. Post what you want when you want and don’t let blogging become a chore.


Who do you tag?

  1. Abby at The Panda Book Blog
  2. Heather at The Sassy Book Geek
  3. Lauren at Wonderless Reviews
  4. Reg at She Latitude
  5. Sammie at Bookshelves & Biros

And if there’s anyone else out there who wants to take part, consider yourself tagged. Just send me a link to your post in the comments so I can see what your answers are.

13 thoughts on “The Secret Life of a Book Blogger

    1. Thanks Astra!
      Yeah, I actually think now of everything I post it’s the TTT ones that take the longest, I’ve actually managed to start writing my reviews a lot quicker now now that I know what I want to highlight the most! But it’s still so much fun not only doing the TTT each week and seeing what other people have put as well. I’ve added so many books to my to-read list because of it!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

