Three (More) Days Three (More) Quotes: Day 2

Another quote for today, and for this go round of the Three Days Three Quotes challenge I’m picking three fairytale retellings I love. The first yesterday was A Court of Thorns and Roses – retelling Beauty and the Beast – and today it’s The Wrath and the Dawn – retelling One Thousand and One Nights – a favourite of mine.

Thanks to Brigitte at The Book and The Bone for tagging me in this challenge.

Three Days Three Quotes

The rules:

  • Thank the person who nominated you.
  • Post a quote for three consecutive days.
  • Nominate three new bloggers each day.

One of my most anticipated releases for this year is The Rose and the Dagger, and I don’t have much longer to wait now. I really loved the relationship between Shahrzad and Khalid, and the way it developed through the whole of the first book. After the way The Wrath and the Dawn ended I cannot wait to get my hands on the second book. I really hope Shahrzad and Khalid get their happy ending but I guess I’ll have to wait until May to find out.

The Wrath and the Dawn

“Shahrzad,

I’ve failed you several times. But there was one moment I failed you beyond measure. It was the day we met. The moment I took your hand and you looked at me, with the glory of hate in your eyes. I should have sent you home to your family. But I didn’t. There was honesty in your hatred. Fearlessness in your pain. In your honesty, I saw a reflection of myself. Or rather, of the man I longed to be. So I failed you. I didn’t stay away. Then later, I thought if I had answers, it would be enough. I would no longer care. You would not matter. So I continued failing you. Continued wanting more. And now I can’t find the words to say what must be said. To convey to you the least of what I owe. When I think of you, I can’t find the air to breathe. And now, though you are gone, there is no pain or fear. All I am left with is gratitude.

When I was a boy, my mother would tell me that one of the best things in life is the knowledge that your story isn’t over yet. Our story may have come to a close, but your story is still yet to be told.

Make it a story worthy of you.

I failed you in one last thing. Here is my chance to rectify it. It was never because I didn’t feel it. It was because I swore I would never say it, and a man is nothing if he can’t keep his promises.

So I write it in the sky-

I love you, a thousand times over. And I will never apologize for it.

Khalid”

The Wrath and the Dawn, Renee Ahdieh

My tags:

12 thoughts on “Three (More) Days Three (More) Quotes: Day 2

    • That’s a smart move, I read it last year and it’s been horrible waiting for the next book to be released, not long now though! It’s one of my favourite books, and I loved the relationship between Khalid and Shahrzad, it was so beautifully written. I really hope you enjoy TWATD when you read it! You’ll have to let me know what you think of it.
      But that’s all right, this is one of my favourite tags so I really hope you have as much fun with it as I did.

      Like

    • This book is AMAZING. It’s so beautifully written and I loved the relationship between Khalid and Shahrzad, it was so heartbreaking at times but wonderfully developed.
      I know right, everything on my to-read list you’ve already read and loved, and it just makes me want to read them more, and it seemed to be the same the other way around as well 😀
      There’s so many amazing quotes from The Wrath and the Dawn but this one was one of my favourites! I’m glad you liked it as well!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

