Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Characters I Didn’t Like

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week there is a new topic for bloggers to choose and list their top ten. This week’s theme is Top Ten Characters I Didn’t Like.

There aren’t really any characters that I love whom everyone else seems to hate, and likewise there aren’t any characters I hate whom everyone else seems to love so I decided to highlight some of the characters I didn’t like. Some are character we’re supposed to hate, some just made bad decisions, and some I just didn’t click with. But there are a few who I thought had terrible character development and that actually the story would have worked better without them.


Top Ten Tuesday #14

Mal Oretsev
Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo

I liked Mal in the first book, but hated him in the second. He willingly took a step back from Alina so she could lead the Grisha but as soon as she started pulling away from him he starts acting standoffish, petty, and he abandons her when she needs him the most.


Jeb Holt
Unhinged by A.G. Howard

I don’t really have anything against Jeb but there were times when I felt like he was holding Alyssa back, especially when it came to Wonderland and her obligations there. It felt like he was trying to tie her to him, to keep her human even though she’s part Netherling. While I really liked the way A.G. Howard resolved the love triangle in the Splintered series I was definitely Team Morpheus.


Nan Mason
My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatick

In terms of character development Nan was great but I didn’t like the way she treated the people around her. She completely dismisses Sam; scorning her for the things she has and the fact that life is always seemingly easy for her with her perfect grades and her perfect family and her perfect boyfriend. Nan puts herself first and doesn’t seem to care if her actions hurt the people close to her.


Leslie Hay
The Ruby Red trilogy by Kerstin Gier

I really enjoyed this series but Leslie could be replaced by a computer and it would make no difference to the story. She is supposed to be Gwen’s best friend but her main purpose throughout the trilogy is to research and report back what she found. There was no character development for Leslie and honestly no real friendship between her and Gwen.


Greta
The Scorpion Rules by Erin Bow

For most of the book the fact that Greta is supposedly the most powerful hostage at the Precepture school is shoved down our throats. However I saw nothing in Greta that made her so amazing. She has no depth, for half the book she acted like she was sleepwalking through life, and there was nothing about her character or her actions that seemed to inspire the loyalty the other hostages showed her.


Paul Slater
Remembrance by Meg Cabot

I actually liked Paul in the original series. He wasn’t a nice character but I understood his motivations and when we left him in the sixth book it felt like he was moving in the right direction. Then Remembrance destroyed all of that and turned Paul Slater into a sexist and drug-addled creep who threatens Suze to get her to have sex with him.


Cassandra Weaver
Mortal Gods by Kendare Blake

I didn’t like Cassandra in the first book and in the second I disliked her even more. After losing Apollo she becomes colder, and is led around by her rage. Cassandra is desperate, angry, and possibly a little mad, and she doesn’t seem to care that there are still people out there who need and love her; all she cares about is her grief and her need for revenge.


Roque
Golden Son by Pierce Brown

I’m not going to say too much because I’m not sure who has read Golden Son and I don’t want to spoil anything for anyone if you haven’t. However if you have read Golden Son, and more specifically if you’ve read the end of Golden Son, then you know what I am talking about and why Roque made this list.


Blake Hart
The Girl from Everywhere by Heidi Heilig

Being completely honest I didn’t really see what Blake actually added to the story. His main purpose seemed to be to show Nix around Honolulu and tell her some of the local myths and legends, he later added some tension to the relationship between Nix and Kash but honestly the story would have been just as good without him.


Mare
Red Queen series by Victoria Aveyard

I wasn’t a fan of Mare’s character in the first book, she seemed very one-dimensional, but in the second book I really didn’t like her. She seemed to push everyone she trusted away and she became cold and ruthless. If I didn’t know any better I would have thought the Mare in Red Queen was a completely different character to the Mare in Glass Sword.


So what do you think? Did you take part in this week’s Top Ten Tuesday, if so let me know what some of your most hated, or even most loved, characters are.

24 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Characters I Didn’t Like

  1. Another one of your posts I only just got around to reading! (I’ve been getting those email notifications about your posts, and now I’m working through them).
    As you probably already know, I LOVE Red Queen and Glass Sword, so, enter Addilyn into this post to defend it’s characters with my life.
    First, I don’t think she’s exceedingly one dimensional. She’s not the best character ever created, but I’ve encountered much worse.
    Second, I actually get what you’re saying – she is totally different in the second book, but personally I would find it more jarring if her experiences in the first book DIDN’T change her, all things considered.
    Third, the way she pushed everyone away in parts of the second book did annoy me a lot, but I’m willing to overlook that as even I, the reader, had trust issues with the other characters after what happened with Maven.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s all right, I imagine you’ve got a bit to catch up on. 🙂
      I do know you loved Red Queen and Glass Sword, and I know what you mean because I’ve read worse characters than Mare as well. However, and this is just from my perspective, I couldn’t connect with her at all and as the story was largely told from her perspective that was jarring reading it a little you know? Her character change in the second book made sense after everything she went through but at the same time just made it harder for me to connect to her, again.
      I’m still going to carry on with tis series, I’m holding out hope that it gets better for me. 🙂

      Like

  2. Ohh, you’ve read My Life Next Door, yay! Is it bad of me to say, I don’t really remember what happens with that character you mentionned, haha, I’m so bad, but well, I read it a while ago. I’m curious now to see if I think the same way as you, though! 🙂
    And I think we agree on Mare, ahah. Great list! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yep, I read it in January so it’s still quite fresh in my mind, but I don’t think it’s bad you’ve forgotten parts of it, I have with loads of books I read a while back. It’s why I re-read a lot :of books as well 🙂
      I thought Nan was very well-written but it was her actions that made me add her to this list, if that makes sense.
      I have seen so many characters from the Red Queen series on this weeks TTT theme. And it’s always either Mare, Cal or Maven, kinda bad when they’re the three main characters right?!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I would love to re-read some books, too, but there are always new ones coming to my TBR, and when I see that, I just feel almost guilty for re-reading something when there are SO many books to be read for the first time, haha.
        Oh right, I didn’t think about that…yes, it’s kind of bad, haha :p

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I feel this is probably the reason my to-read list never seems to get any smaller, I’m normally re-reading a few books per month. I’m planning to just spend one month solely on re-reads. There are some of my favourite series, that I haven’t read in ages, that I’ve almost forgotten and I’d love to be able to go back to them.
        The characters are such a major part of the Red Queen series as well, hopefully at least one of them will improve in the next book 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    1. She doesn’t improve in Glass Sword, so if you didn’t like her in Red Queen I don’t imagine your opinion would improve with Glass Sword. I don’t think you’re really missing much by skipping the book either 🙂
      I really enjoyed The Girl from Everywhere. It has a really unique concept to explain the time travel which I loved, and I pretty much liked all the characters (except Blake Hart. I didn’t think his character added much to the story and I thought the love triangle that was hinted at was kind of forced) other than that I’d definitely recommend it, it’s a good story overall 😀

      Like

    1. I was completely the same. I thought he was a great character in Splintered, he seemed to really support Alyssa, but then in the second, and part of the third book, he just changed.
      I will say I was pretty much Team Morpheus for the whole trilogy though 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I agree so much about Mare!!!! I just finished Glass Sword and I was thinking the exact same thing….She was just so cold with everyone. She tried to act fearless and shut everyone out. I hope that she becomes back to her old-self

    Liked by 1 person

    1. She seemed like a completely different character, and granted after what happened with Maven she isn’t sure who to trust but her family and her brother she should be able too trust them.
      I really hope she realises she can actually rely on people more in the next book, and I really hope she starts letting people in again. It made her a much more likeable character in my mind.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh my gosh, we agree on so much! Yes yes yes yes to putting Mal, Jeb, and Roque on this list. Mal and Jeb are both really selfish and boring. Who tries to keep the person they love from reaching their potential? So silly.. Also, poor Roque, he just couldn’t handle it all. I feel bad for him really.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I actually didn’t mind either Mal or Jeb in the first book of their series; but in Unhinged I thought Jeb was just so boring and I really hated Mal in Siege and Storm.
      Roque I felt so sorry for, up until the end of Golden Son I mean. Yeah he couldn’t handle everything, and it seemed like things just kept getting worse, but then what he did at the end of Golden Son 😮 I honestly didn’t see it coming (obviously neither did Darrow)

      Like

      1. I didn’t carry for Mal from the start which I feel bad about because there was nothing really wrong with him, I just felt that he was really selfish. But I agree about Jeb, I liked him but Morpheus will always be #1 for me.
        Yes, definitely was blind sided by what Roque did! I never saw it coming. Luckily, it ends well for him in Morning Star. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I didn’t like how Mal wanted Alina to just ignore her Grisha powers, like, that was such a huge part of her character and he just wanted it gone. I didn’t like that he put her in the position, of essentially having to choose between her gift and him.
        Yeah I was the same with Jeb, there wasn’t anything I really hated about him, I just thought Alyssa and Morpheus was a better fit.
        I need to re-read Red Rising and Golden Son before I start Morning Star, but from the reviews I’ve seen literally everyone is happy with the way the series ends so I’m sure I will be as well 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Everything you just about Mal is dead on! Like you obviously don’t really love her if you don’t want all of her.
        Yes, it ends amazingly! And knowing that Brown is writing another trilogy about the aftermath is perfection.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Exactly! I mean, say what you will about the Darkling and Nikolai at least they didn’t completely ignore/hate one side of Alina. They at least loved and/or respected all of her!
        Oh my god Pierce Brown is writing ANOTHER trilogy. I haven’t even finished the Red Rising books and I already really want to get my hands on the aftermath trilogy!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

