Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books To Read If You Are In The Mood For…

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week there is a new topic for bloggers to choose and list their top ten. This week’s theme is Top Ten Books To Read If You Are In The Mood For…

Far Away and Fantastical Locations.

I love fantasy books, and there is nothing more I would love than to be able to travel to so many of the places that are described in so many of my favourite books. And honestly, who wouldn’t want to go to Hogwarts, I’m still upset over the fact that I never received my letter when I turned 11. So for this week’s Top Ten theme, books to read if you are in the mood for X, I chose Far Away and Fantastical Locations; and ten of my favourite books set in places I would kill to be able to travel to.


Top Ten Tuesday #13

Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton

Set in the unforgiving desert Rebel of the Sands creates a world where magic is real; where creatures like Djinni, Ghouls, Nightmares and Buraqi live side by side with humans; where a rebel prince is hiding deep in the desert, planning to take the throne from the Sultan; where our heroine dreams of the rich possibilities for her in the capital.


Passenger by Alexandra Bracken

Etta and Nicholas travel through time to so many different countries in their search for the astrolabe; London during World War II, fleeing from the bombs as well as the grunts Ironwood has sent after them; racing through Angkor in the sixteen hundreds on their way to Victorian era Paris, and later the deserts of Damascus during the late fifteen hundreds.


The Elemental Trilogy by Sherry Thomas

The trilogy takes us from the Domain, ruled over by Titus where Iolanthe reveals herself as a great Mage, to Eton College, where the two must blend in among the humans to fool the Bane and the Inquisitor, the desert, where the two struggle to regain their lost memories, and finally to Atlantis itself.


The Girl from Everywhere by Heidi Heilig

Time travel on a pirate ship. The story starts in Calcutta, India before travelling through 21st century New York on its way to Honolulu, Hawaii. The Girl from Everywhere sets up a world where, if you have the right map, you can even travel into fairytales.


The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

The whole series takes the reader to so many different places; New Beijing where the people of the Eastern Commonwealth are being struck down with a deadly plague; Paris which still bears the scars of a great war, and a small rural town in France where life is simpler for its residents but not easy; a space station orbiting the Earth; the unforgiving Sahara desert; and Luna, a world on the Moon where the rich have much and the poor very little.


Ink and Bone by Rachel Caine

Ink and Bone is set in a world where the Great Library of Alexandria was never destroyed; but where books are now forbidden for the common people, and where certain thoughts and ideas are very dangerous things to have.


A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab

Kell is a Traveller with the ability to travel to parallel worlds; boring and magic-less Grey London, Red London where magic is revered and the empire is flourishing, and a drained and dying White London where magic is fought and killed over.


Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

This new series takes us back to the world of the Grisha but this time to the darkest depths of Ketterdam where Kaz and the rest of the Dregs make their home. Together Kaz and his team travel to Hellgate to free a prisoner before journeying to the Fjerdan Ice Court to free another.


Splintered by A.G. Howard

It’s set in a version of Lewis Carroll’s Wonderland, need I say any more.


The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

I fell in love with this book purely because of the way the circus itself was described. It’s a place where you can become a child again, where wonder after wonder sits within black and white tents, where magic is real. If Le Cirque des RΓͺves existed in real life I would be one of the first in line at the gate.


So what do you think? Did you take part in this week’s Top Ten Tuesday, if so let me know what you picked for this week’s themed free-for-all, or what some of your favourite books are set in far away and fantastical places.

23 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books To Read If You Are In The Mood For…

    1. There are so many amazing fantasy books out there, the Lunar Chronicles is one of my all-time favourite series.
      I love all the books I featured in that weeks TTT topic, I really hope you enjoy the ones on your to-read list when you get around to reading them.
      And thanks for the link to your post, I’ll definitely check it out.

      Like

    1. Thanks Astra! I love fantasy books so this felt like the perfect choice for me πŸ™‚
      Pretty much all of ones I picked are my favourites in terms of fantasy and also the world-building (I love Alice in Wonderland and I would LOVE to be able to visit the Night Circus in real life).
      I’ll definitely check out your TTT, epic stories sounds like a brilliant pick for this week!

      Like

    1. Thanks Marie πŸ˜€
      I loved this week’s TTT topic, for me it was perfect because I read a lot of fantasy and I love reading about far away and magical places (and wishing I could visit them). Splintered is amazing, it was the cover that drew me to it as well, and the fact that it was Alice in Wonderland inspired. I really hope you enjoy all of the books on this list, they’re all some of my favourites πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Same here actually, if I could have one superpower it would be to travel into any book I choose. To bad we have to content ourselves with just reading about them πŸ˜€
        I’m very excited for you to read Splintered. I really hope you like it, I love the whole series so I’d be interested to hear what you think when you’ve finished it.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Awesome post! I absolutely loved the Splintered Trilogy and I think that Wonderland is even better than the original. I can’t wait to read Passenger because I’ve heard such great things. I want Ink and Bone now too, it sounds so interesting!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you πŸ˜€
      Oh yes Splintered is one of my favourite series, I wasn’t too keen on Unhinged though just because there wasn’t a lot of Wonderland, but Ensnared was just as amazing as the first book! A.G. Howard’s version of Wonderland is brilliant definitely a little darker than I remember it being in the original book πŸ™‚
      Passenger is amazing, so far it’s my favourite book of 2016, and I loved Ink and Bone as well, definitely my favourite of Rachel Caine’s books! I hope you love them when you get around to reading them πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I totally agree about Unhinged, I’m just glad there was enough of Morpehus around to keep me entertained! 😊
        Thanks for the recommendations! I’m gonna try to get to Passenger this month but I may have to push it back since I’m reading so much already for book clubs.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh god yes, he didn’t appear for a while though and I was worried he’d been forgotten. I didn’t like Jeb as much (Team Morpheus).
        I’m the same, well not really in terms of book clubs, but I have a lot on my to-read list I need to start getting through πŸ™‚ honestly now I’ve started blogging I’ve added more to my TBR list than I have read!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I liked Jeb a lot more in the third book, and I loved the way A.G. Howard resolved the love triangle but yeah, Jeb was not my favourite character, like you said a bit of a bore.
        I’m not really active on bookstagram but I imagine when I am, I plan to create an Instagram account soon, my TBR list will double in size!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m so happy you have Six of Crows on your list. It’s one of my favorite books! Also, yay for A Darker Shade of Magic! I can’t wait to read this one. It’s sitting on my nightstand right now!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s one of my favourites as well, I’ve loved everything Leigh Bardugo has released and I am so excited for Crooked Kingdom! A Darker Shade of Magic is amazing as well, it is seriously one of my favourite books so I think you’re in for a treat when you start it πŸ™‚ I really hope you like it.

      Like

    1. Thanks Reg! I loved the world in Rebel of the Sands, I thought it was really well done. All the books on my list this week have some of my all-time favourite settings, and I’m a huge Alice in wonderland fan so Wonderland had to go in there somewhere πŸ˜€
      Thanks for the link as well, I’ll definitely check out your TTT!

      Like

Leave a Reply

