February Recap

Another month has come and gone, and hopefully soon the Winter weather here in England will be going with it.

February flew by, and not because it is the shortest month of the year. It feels like only a couple of weeks ago that I was posting my January recap. I got through a lot of the ARC’s on my to-read list this month, but I still have a couple more to review next month, and while I haven’t made much headway in my to-read list I am on track for my Goodreads Challenge.


Reviews

February Recap, #1

Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton

This was one of my most anticipated books of this year so when I received an ARC of it I started right away, putting a hold on the book I was currently reading to start Rebel of the Sands. I would highly recommend this to anyone; the world-building was rich and full of magic, the characters are strong and well-developed, and there were plot twists woven through the story which I did not see coming. Rebel of the Sands starts slow but once the story gets going it’s fast-paced and brilliant.

I received a copy of this book from NetGalley.


13 Minutes by Sarah Pinborough

Normally I don’t read crime/psychological thrillers, in fact 13 Minutes is the first book that I actually picked up in this genre, but I loved this book. The characters were all well-developed in terms of their faults and desires and the story really dragged me in. I was so engrossed I didn’t even see the ending coming, the big reveal as to ‘who done it’. 13 Minutes is a debut novel from Sarah Pinborough but after finishing it I will definitely pick up the net book she writes.

I received a copy of this book from NetGalley.


February Recap, #3

Remembrance by Meg Cabot

I was so excited for this book to be released, I love the original six books which I first read in high school, and when I discovered the author was writing a new adult instalment I couldn’t wait to jump back into Suze and Jesse’s world. Unfortunately this book failed to live up to my expectations; I still enjoyed the story but the characters were a letdown. It feels like a lot of the character development that was reached in the sixth book was erased in this one. All in all, I expected more from Remembrance and was let down by it.


February Recap, #2

The Chronicles of Ixia Series

When I read the it fast become one of my favourite series, and Yelena and Valek one of my favourite OTP’s. So after finding out the author was going back and continuing their story Shadow Study went to the top of my to-read list. I was thrilled to discover when I started reading it that Shadow Study was just as good, if not better, than the original trilogy; and then Night Study blew it out of the water. All my favourite characters were there, as well as some new ones I loved just as much, and the story itself is brilliant.

Shadow Study by Maria V. Snyder

Night Study by Maria V. Snyder

I received a copy of this book from NetGalley.


Pull by Anne Riley

The reason I picked up Pull was because of the time travel aspect. I adore time travel books and Pull had a really unique concept that grabbed me from the start. Instead of being able to go back years and see all the things that happened tens or hundreds of years in the past what if you could only go back seconds or minutes. What would you end up changing?

I received a copy of this book from NetGalley.


February Recap, #4

The Love That Split the World by Emily Henry

This book is contending with Passenger for my favourite read of 2016. I wasn’t expecting much from The Love That Split the World; while the cover was gorgeous, and definitely grabbed my eye, the blurb didn’t really tell me much about the story and what it did reveal didn’t really sound like my kind of book. However reading it I fell in love; with the characters and the relationships formed between them, with the story and the Native American culture that was represented, and with the lyrical writing that made the book beautiful to read.


All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr

I heard so many amazing things about this book before reading it and, even though historical fiction isn’t my usual genre, I finally got around to picking it up myself. With over 500 pages it took me a while to get through this book. All the Light We Cannot See follows Marie-Laure and Werner through the Second World War and lets us see the effects the war has on both characters as well as Saint Malo, where Marie lives, and Germany, where Werner is from. This book is incredibly moving, the last quarter completely destroyed me.


February Recap, #5

Shades of Magic Series

Before the second book was released I re-read A Darker Shade of Magic, and if anything it was even better the second time around. Then I started reading A Gathering of Shadows and found it was even better than ADSoM; it had everything I loved about the first book and so much more. V.E. Schwab is my favourite author; I have loved everything of hers but the Shades of Magic series is my all-time favourite and both books are definitely in a league of its own.

A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab

A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab


Top Ten Tuesday

I took part in four Top Ten Tuesday topics over the course of February.

Top Ten Books That are Set In, or Visit, Past Time

Top Ten Favourite YA Couples from Books I’ve Read in the Past Year

Top Ten Characters I’d Give Theme Songs To

Top Ten Book I Enjoyed Recently That Weren’t My Typical Genre


Waiting on Wednesday

I featured four books as part of the Waiting on Wednesday tag.

The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi

Heartless by Marissa Meyer

The Keeper of the Mist by Rachel Neumeier

Vassa in the Night by Sarah Porter

Waiting on Wednesday #3


Next month I have plans to finally start The Winner’s Trilogy and the Throne of Glass series, which I have been meaning to get around to for ages now. I’ve heard a lot of good things about both series so I’m excited to start reading them. Also there are some highly anticipated releases of mine coming out in March that I am excited to get my hands on.

19 thoughts on “February Recap

  1. Wow, SO many books here, that’s awesome! I keep hearing about Rebels of the Sand, I’m glad to hear you liked it! Maybe I’ll check it out. I’ve read mixed reviews about The Love That Split The World, but I was so excited to read it, so now I’m scared, haha. It seems like you enjoyed it a lot, too, so yay, thanks for bringing back my enthousiasm about this title, ahah :p

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I do tend to get through quite a few books each month 🙂 though I had a week when I kind of hit a wall in terms of reading :/ that wasn’t fun!
      Rebel of the Sands was brilliant, I was so thrilled to get an ARC for it, and even though it starts off slow it does pick up in the middle. I LOVED The Love That Split the World, I was a little confused by some parts of it, you’ll probably know what I mean when you read it, but overall I thought it was brilliant, I really hope you enjoy it as well 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. There are plenty of books that I’ve loved that have a few negative reviews. A lot of the time I actually tend to avoid reviews until after I’ve read the books because I find myself influenced by them. So if they’re picking out parts they didn’t like I tend to notice them more you know what I mean?
        I really hope you enjoy The Love That Split the World, I really did but to be honest when I started it I didn’t really expect much so I was very pleasantly surprised by it 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      2. There are times when, if it’s a book I don’t know much about, I will read the reviews to get a feel for it but I try and avoid negative ones. I’m the same, I’m very easily influenced by bad reviews, I’ll remember what was said and I’ll start picking it out in the story as I read it, not good really :/

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I do the exact same thing. I’m glad I’m not alone in doing this, ahah, we should help each other out and like, set daily reminders not to read ALL the reviews out there before picking out a new book :p That would be helpful. I always pick out the bad things I read in reviews in the story, it’s like I can just focus on that afterwards, instead of on the good things 😦

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Oh we definitely should. There are times when, after I’ve read a book I’m not too keen on, I wonder if my opinion would have changed if I hadn’t read negative reviews beforehand.
        I do the same thing, it’s almost as if as soon as something is mentioned in a review that the reviewer didn’t like I go looking for it in the book. I suppose we should start with the positive reviews and only look at the negative ones after we’ve actually finished reading, may be the way to go from now on 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      5. I always wonder, too! Yes you’re definitely right, we should just focus on positive reviews! But it’s always hard, not to get influenced by what others are thinking. For instance , I always look at the rating on Goodreads, and even just these little stars make me want to read a book more than another, sometimes, ahah 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      6. I try and stick to positive reviews before reading a book but after I do enjoy reading the negative as well (I think it’s the British in me, we love to complain!)
        Oh I know what you mean, there have been a couple of books which sounded interesting when I read the blurb but seeing some of the reviews and the star ratings put me off because they were so low! It has worked the other way around as well though 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      7. I think it’s human nature to complain a little in that case 🙂 I’m sure we’re not the only ones to be influenced by bad reviews when it comes to new books, I reckon most people are actually.
        Oh yeah, and there are books I enjoyed that have more than a few bad reviews, but I guess everyone has different tastes when it comes to books!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

