Emoji Book Tag

So I hadn’t seen this tag around before, but it seemed like a lot of fun. I don’t tend to use emoji’s much when I text but I loved the idea of fitting books to emoji’s. I was tagged by Astra at A Stranger’s Guide to Novels, you can check out her post via the above link and you should definitely check out her blog while you’re there.

The Emoji Book Tag

The rules for this tag are simple; pick five emoji’s and then pick five books that fit them.

A Book That Shocked Me

A Book That Shocked Me

13 Minutes by Sarah Pinborough

Psychological thrillers and crime novels aren’t normally the kind of books I read (though I love watching Criminal Minds) but from the very beginning 13 Minutes had me hooked. I was constantly trying to guess who was behind everything; who pushed Tasha in the river and why? And when it was revealed I honestly didn’t see it coming, it felt completely out of the blue but looking back I felt the clues were all there.

13 Minutes


A Book With My Favourite OTP

A Book With My Favourite OTP

Stars Above by Marissa Meyer

Obviously it’s a couple from The Lunar Chronicles. I love the series and I adore all the couples; Winter and Jacin, Cress and Thorne, Scarlet and Wolf. But my ultimate OTP is definitely Cinder and Kai. All of their scenes together in Something Old, Something New were my favourites, especially the very last one!

Stars Above


A Book That Made Me Cry

A Book That Made Me Cry

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

This book is incredibly moving; narrated by Death it offers a unique look at World War II through his eyes. I was in tears by the end reading what happened to Leisel and her family. However I also adored reading all the relationships Leisel formed along the way; with her best friend Rudy, her parents Hans and Rosa Hubermann, and Max.

This is an incredibly beautifully written book and definitely one of my all time favourite. I tear up a little every time I read it.

The Book Thief


A Book With a Great Villain

A Book With a Great Villain

The Shadow Queen by C.J. Redwine

A retelling of Snow White, Irina takes the place of the evil Queen. She uses her magic to control that hearts of the people and the land, slowly poisoning them. She took control of Lorelai’s kingdom, killing her father and draining the land of magic.

But she isn’t a mindless villain. She feels betrayed by her family; her father, uncle and younger sister, and later her husband and even Lorelai who, if things had gone differently, she could have loved as her own child.

The Shadow Queen


A Book That Broke My Heart

A Book That Broke My Heart

Waging War by April White

I love this series, in fact Saira and Archer are my other favourite OTP, but this book, mainly the last few chapters, completely tore me to pieces. It’s set during World War II and, in the midst of hiding from the Nazi’s, Saira must try and find a friend who’s slowly self destructing and trying to take out all of the time stream with him.

It’s a moving book even without taking the ending into account but the final couple of chapters broke my heart. I need to last book in the series, I need to find out what happens next to Saira, Archer, and Ringo.

Waging War


My Tags:

  1. Brigitte at The Book and the Bone
  2. Jenna at Reading with Jenna
  3. Kirstie at Upside-Down Books
  4. Marian at Bookception21
  5. Marie at Drizzle and Hurricane Books
  6. Valerie at ibookblog2

And if there’s anyone else out there who wants to take part, consider yourself tagged. Just send me a link to your post in the comments so I can see what emoji’s and books you picked.

15 thoughts on “Emoji Book Tag

    1. The Shadow Queen was one of my most highly anticipated books for this year, but I love fairytale retellings so obviously it went straight in my to-read list 😀
      The cover is definitely gorgeous and I think if you’re looking to start reading more books within the fantasy/fairytale retelling genre The Shadow Queen is a good one to start off with. If you do read it I really hope you enjoy it!
      And you’re welcome 😀 I hope you have fun with this tag!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

