Celebrity Book Tag

Now I have read some more books, and actually feel I have different answers for these questions, it is about time I get started on my backlog of tags and awards.

I was tagged by Isabella at Gryffindor Books. Thank you so much for the tag Isabella. It was great fun answering these; I really love tags like this, I find it’s a great way to get new book recommendations.


Emma Watson:
A book with a hot, kick-butt female character

Meda Melange
Cracked by Eliza Crewe

“Death is my art form—when I fight, I’m a ballerina. Graceful.”

Meda is not your usual YA heroine but right away I loved her character; she’s sharp tongued, wicked, and kick ass. As a half-demon Meda needs to kill people and eat their souls, and she is unapologetic about what she needs to do to survive. Though she tries to target people the world won’t miss she won’t feel guilty about killing an innocent if her own life is on the line.

I feel it was a very fine line Eliza Crewe walked; making Meda a demon who commits some evil deeds without making her completely unlikeable to the readers. However when it comes down to it I really loved Meda’s character, and her development over the trilogy is one of my favourite aspects of the Soul Eaters series.

Cracked


Ryan Gosling:
A book with the hottest male character

Kashmir
The Girl from Everywhere by Heidi Heilig

He must have seen it in my face – the admiration – and he put his hands behind his head, feigning a stretch, giving me a smug look. I rolled my eyes. “You’re blocking the view.”
“I am the view, amira,” he said, framing himself with his hands – his crisp linen shirt, his careless hair – then laughed.

This is the latest book I read but, oh, I loved Kashmir. He was definitely my favourite character.

A thief, he stole away on Nix’s father’s ship and has been a loyal crew member ever since; though he still gets into trouble when he’s caught pinching things he shouldn’t. However most times he is able to swipe anything without anyone realising it’s gone until too late.

Kash is a very light and easy-going character. Most things seem to just roll off his shoulders and he is like a chameleon in some ways, forever adapting to his environment, equally at home in 21st century New York as he is in 18th century Honolulu. I loved all his interactions with Nix and I am very excited to see more of Kash in the next instalment of this series.

The Girl From Everywhere


Angelina Jolie and Brad Pitt
A book with your favourite fictional book couple

Natalie Cleary and Beau Wilkes
The Love That Split the World by Emily Henry

“I don’t love Beau yet, I don’t think. But being with him feels like a better version of being alone, and in that way, I think we are each other’s.”

This book was so incredibly beautifully written I didn’t want to put it down and I certainly didn’t want it to end. The relationship between Natalie and Beau was just as beautifully developed and written as the story was. Their relationship is slow to build, while they had an instant connection it was insta-love and it took time for their feelings to develop.

The two of them have their differences and their similarities but when it comes down to it they are undeniably drawn together, and not just because of the unique gift they both share.

The Love That Split the World


Shailene Woodley:
Author you’ve recently discovered and loved

Patrick Ness

The Rest of Us Just Live Here

So even though I have only, so far, read The Rest of Us Just Live Here I loved Patrick Ness’s story-telling style. I loved the unique way he took the trope of the Chosen One and instead focused on this left on the sidelines. The characters who live in the world of the Chosen One’s, who experience all the same things, but are powerless to do anything other than live their lives

I haven’t started the Chaos Walking trilogy yet. It’s on my to-read list though and I have heard some amazing things about all three books so I am very excited to start them. If they’re anything like The Rest of Us Just Live Here I’m sure I’ll love it.

Chaos Walking


Josh Hutcherson
Favourite short story or novella

Stars Above by Marissa Meyer

After Winter ended and I discovered this collections of novella’s was being released I was thrilled, and not just because it was an excuse to jump back into one of my favourite series.

Everyone had their own theories on whose wedding it would be in Something Old, Something New. My own theory wasn’t correct but I still absolutely adored this short story. I loved being able to go back and see where all the characters were after the revolution on Luna; and I really loved all the scenes between Cinder and Kai, especially the last one.

Stars Above


Dwayne Johnson AKA The Rock
Favourite Big Book (over 500 pages)

All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr

This book took me ages to read, and not just because of the page count. Honestly I didn’t want the story to end, and I can see why it has so many amazing reviews and why the author spent so much time researching and writing this book.

The lives of Marie-Laure in Paris and Werner in Germany weave throughout World War II  and pull together in an unforgettable, and at times heartbreaking, story. By the time I finished the last page I felt completely destroyed. I don’t normally read books in this genre, I prefer fantasy, but All the Light We Cannot See is beautifully moving. I’d highly recommend it to anyone who hasn’t already read it.

All the Light We Cannot See


Leonardio DiCaprio:
A series with the most upsetting death (NO SPOILERS)

Ink and Bone by Rachel Caine

Obviously no spoilers, but if you’ve read Ink and Bone then you probably already know who’s death I mean when I feature this book.

I was shocked. I honestly did not see it coming until it was actually happening, and then I didn’t want to believe it.

Ink and Bone


Kristen Stewart:
A book you found boring

The Scorpion Rules by Erin Bow

When I first saw the blurb for this book I thought it sounded really interesting. It was a unique concept, and I loved the idea of royal children being held ‘hostage’ to prevent their parents declaring war on each other.

However when I started reading this book I didn’t enjoy it as much as I thought I would. The story was slow-paced, the plot didn’t seem to kick into action until the last quarter, and I couldn’t connect with the main character. She is supposed to be strong, the girl everyone follows and looks up to but I saw no qualities in her that really showed any of those traits.

The only part of this book I enjoyed was the AI character, Talis, but even he wasn’t enough to save this book in my opinion.

The Scorpion Rules


Ian Somerhalder and his cat:
Cutest book on your shelf

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

“I let myself slip away…
Just to stay sane. Just to get through it.
And when I felt myself slipping too far, I held on to the one thing I’m always sure of—
Blue eyes.
Bronze curls.
The fact that Simon Snow is the most powerful magician alive. That nothing can hurt him, not even me.
That Simon Snow is alive.
And I’m hopelessly in love with him.”

I absolutely adored this story. I feel there was quite a build-up to this book in Fangirl but Rainbow Rowell more than delivered with Carry On.

The relationship between Baz and Simon is definitely one of my all-time favourites. Plus there are parts of their story that I love to read over and over again; the scene where Baz first admits, if only in his own head, that he loves Simon, and their first kiss.

Plus I really like the cover design as well.

Carry On


Jennifer Lawrence:
Perfect book or series

Passenger by Alexandra Bracken

So far this is my favourite book of 2016. I love time travel stories and Passenger is definitely one of the very best. I completely adored Nicholas’s and Etta’s characters, as well as their budding relationship with one another. I also loved reading all the times and locations this book too us to; London, Paris, Angkor, Damascus.

The plot was a little slow to start, but once it did it was well worth the build-up and development. I cannot wait to see what happens next in Wayfarer, especially after the way Passenger ended.

Passenger


I’m not sure who’s already been tagged to do this, or who I’ve already tagged in previous posts (I like to try and not always tag the same people over and over again). So this is open to anyone who wants to take part.

Let me know if you do, send me a link so I can see all your answers, and if you do decide to take part have fun. It’s a great tag and I loved coming up with all my answers! Enjoy.

7 thoughts on “Celebrity Book Tag

  1. Great answers!! I’m so glad to hear you loved The Love That Split The World, that book sounded beautiful just from the cover and the synopsis, so I’m even more excited to read it, now. And I’m happy I’m not the only one who hasn’t read all of Patrick Ness’ books yet. I recently read The Rest of Us, and loved, loved it. I read More than this, too, and WHAT A BOOK. I can’t wait to start the Chaos Walking trilogy either! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you 😀
      See I wasn’t expecting much from The Love That Split the World. I liked the cover and the blurb sounded OK, but when I started reading I was completely blown away by it. It’s definitely one of my favourite books I’ve read so far this year. I really hope you enjoy it as well, you’ll definitely have to let me know what you think when you’ve finished reading it!
      I’ve heard great things about the Chaos Walking series, but yeah it seems like everyone else has already read it and given it great reviews! I may have to put More Than This on my to-read list, if it’s anything like The Rest of Us Just Live Here then I’ll probably love it as well 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I will let you know! I want to buy it so badly, but money’s so tight right now…I wish we could get unlimited money for books! 😀
        Ohh well let me know when you read More Than This, I hope you’ll love it as much as I did! We should read the Chaos Walking trilogy together 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      2. It would a great if books were cheaper even, they’re so expensive, especially the hardcover versions. But unlimited money for books would be good as well 😀 I’d buy so much.
        I’ll probably be able to read More Than This soon, especially as it’s only one book and not a series. Ohh it’d be great to read the Chaos Walking trilogy together, it’d be nice to have someone to talk to about the book as I read it as well 😀

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

