Three Days Three Quotes: Day 3

I’ve arrived at the last day of my Three Days Three Quotes challenge. I loved completing it, it’s definitely one of the best tags I’ve taken part in since starting this blog. Once again thanks to Felicia at Fell for Books for tagging me to complete this challenge.

Three Days Three Quotes

The rules:

  • Thank the person who nominated you.
  • Post a quote for three consecutive days.
  • Nominate three new bloggers each day.

Bone Gap isn’t the kind of book I normally read but when I finished it last year I loved it, and it turned out to be the book that made me fall in love with magical realism as a genre. It’s a wonderful story, with beautiful writing and some brilliantly well-developed characters, and there is an interesting take on fairytales that I adored.

Bone Gap

“Once, a young man lost his wife and went to the Land of Dead to find her. He said his life wasn’t worth living without her, and played the loveliest song to prove it. The song was so moving, the Lord of the Dead granted his request, though he had never done it before. He said the young man could go, and his wife would follow him, she would be right behind him. But he couldn’t look back at her, he had to trust she was there. But he didn’t. He didn’t trust, he looked back, and so the woman had to stay. Obviously, he didn’t love her the way he said he did. But then, I have found that people never love the way they say they do. They can’t. They are just people. Full of lies and sentiment and fear. There is no reason for you to leave here, and no way for you to go. No one will come for you, and even if they did, I am not the sentimental sort.”

Bone Gap, Laura Ruby

My tags:

  1. Amanda at My Books Opinion Site
  2. Astra at A Stranger’s Guide to Novels
  3. Cath at Trust in the Words
2 thoughts on “Three Days Three Quotes: Day 3

Leave a Reply

