Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Characters I’d Give Theme Songs To

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week there is a new topic for bloggers to choose and list their top ten. It was a music themed free pick this week so I chose ten favourite characters and picked a soundtrack for them; Top Ten Characters I’d Give Theme Songs To.

When I first saw this week’s pick I instantly had the perfect song for Kaz Brekker from Six of Crows, but after that it was a struggle coming up with another nine characters. However I love music; I have a lot of songs on my iPod so I put my iTunes on shuffle and browsed my Goodreads read list until I had another nine characters and the perfect songs for them.


Top Ten Tuesday #11

Kaz Brekker

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

“In youth, you’d lay awake at night and scheme
Of all the things that you would change, but it was just a dream.”

– Warriors, Imagine Dragons

This quote is so perfect for Kaz that part of me thinks Imagine Dragons wrote this song specifically for his character. The other part of me knows they didn’t because the album came out before the book.


Nyx Triskelion

Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge

“If you could only see the beast you’ve made of me
I held it in but now it seems you’ve set it running free
The saints can’t help me now, the ropes have been unbound
I hunt for you with bloody feet across the hallow’d ground.”

– Howl, Florence + the Machine

Honestly this song could go with any Beauty and the Beast retelling, but I feel it suits Nyx the best as she’s not so much the Beauty of this story but another version of the Beast.


Etta Spencer

Passenger by Alexandra Bracken

“The Chaconne was considered by most, including herself, to be one of the most difficult violin pieces to master–a single progression repeated in dozens of dizzying, complex variations. It was emotionally powerful, and structurally near perfect. At least when it was played by her. It should have been played by her.”

– Bach’s Chaconne from Partita no. 2 in D Minor

The way Etta describes the song in Passenger doesn’t just fit her character but also the journey she is about to undertake. Dizzying, complex variations as she travels to different countries and times.


Natalie Cleary and Beau Wilkes

The Love That Split the World by Emily Henry

“Long live the walls we crashed through
How the kingdom lights shined just for me and you
I was screaming long live all the magic we made
And bring on all the pretenders
I’m not afraid.”

– Long Live, Taylor Swift

There is a part of this song that fits every aspect of Natalie and Beau’s relationship as well as the journey they go through throughout this story.


Winter Blackburn-Hayle

Winter by Marissa Meyer

“I’m a princess cut from marble, smoother than a storm
And the scars that mark my body, they’re silver and gold
My blood is a flood of rubies, precious stones
It keeps my veins hot, the fire’s found a home in me.”

– Yellow Flicker Beat, Lorde

Lorde’s songs have a dark and slightly haunting quantity that I feel fit in well with Winter’s character.


Cath Avery

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

If Wren were here, she’d call an Emergency Kanye Party.
First she’d stand on the bed. That was the protocol back home. When things were getting too intense—when Wren found out that Jesse Sandoz was cheating on her, when Cath got fired because her boss at the bookstore didn’t think she smiled enough, when their dad was acting like a zombie and wouldn’t stop—one of them would stand on her bed and pretend to pull an imaginary lever, a giant switch set in the air, and shout, “Emergency Kanye Party!”
And then it was the other person’s job to run to the computer and start the Emergency Kanye playlist. And then they’d both jump around and dance and shout Kanye West lyrics until they felt better. Sometimes it would take a while.…

– Kanye West

Any Kanye West song will do for Cath as long as it’s one she can jump around, dance, and shout along. Also who wouldn’t love to have an Emergency Kanye Part when life get tough?


The Raven Boys

The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater

“There’s a humming in the restless summer air
And we’re slipping off the course that we prepared
But in all chaos there is calculation
Dropping glasses just to hear them break
You’ve been drinking like the world was gonna end (it didn’t)
Took a shiner from the fist of your best friend (go figure)
It’s clear that someone’s gotta go
We mean it but I promise we’re not mean.”

– Glory and Gore, Lorde

There are aspects of this song that fit all the Raven Boys; Gansey, Noah, Ronan, and Adam, as well as their quest to find Glendower.


Penryn Young and Raffe

Angelfall by Susan Ee

“If heaven’s grief brings hell’s reign
Then I’d trade all my tomorrows for just one yesterday
(I know I’m bad news)
For just one yesterday
(I saved it all for you).”

– Just One Yesterday, Fall Out Boy

I had to have a Fall Out Boy track in here somewhere. Just One Yesterday is my favourite of their songs and I feel it’s a good fit for Angelfall; the war between the angels and the humans, bringing hell to Earth.


Darrow

Red Rising by Pierce Brown

“I am the war inside
I am the battle line
I am the rising tide
I am the war I fight.”

– The War Inside, Switchfoot

This song really fits Darrow’s journey, not only the transformation he makes from Red to Gold but also his desire to bring down the Gold’s after what they did to his wife.This song is a theme for the series as well as just Darrow.


The Darkling

Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

“When I was a man I thought it ended
When I knew love’s perfect ache
But my peace has always depended
On all the ashes in my wake

All you have is your fire,
And the place you need to reach
Don’t you ever tame your demons,
But always keep ’em on a leash…”

– Arsonist’s Lullaby, Hozier

The Darkling is a complex character; I honestly believe he loved Alina, he wanted to make her his queen, but instead when she goes against him he fights against her. I love how well this song fits him and his past.


So what do you think? Did you take part in this week’s Top Ten Tuesday, if so let me know what you picked for this week’s music themed free-for-all.

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Characters I’d Give Theme Songs To

    1. Oh yeah definitely. The Love That Split the World was the most recent book is read though and Long Live just seemed to fit them 😀
      I loved this weeks TTT topic because I have so many favourite bands; Imagine Dragons and Fall Out Boy are probably my two favourite at the moment 🙂 and I do wish I’d managed to fit Bastille in there somewhere as well!

      Like

      1. So true. I actually didn’t begin liking Fall Out Boy until listening to Immortals at the end of Big Hero 6, but now that I like them, I LIKE them. 😛

        I actually had trouble this week because I had no idea what direction to take the theme in, but I’m super glad to see what other people have done with it! It definitely makes for interesting topics and gives us a way to personalise our posts each. 😛

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’ve always loved Fall Out Boy, but I definitely prefer the songs they’ve released after their hiatus (everything on their latest two albums pretty much).
        Oh yeah, I really love the free pick weeks but I can find it hard sometimes to actually settle on a topic. I think as soon as music was mentioned I thought of the song for Kaz and I just kind of stuck to that one idea, even though I had a bit of trouble thinking up the other nine!

        Like

Leave a Reply

