Waiting on Wednesday: Heartless

Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spine, which shines a light on eagerly anticipated upcoming releases.

This week my pick is;

Heartless

Heartless by Marissa Meyer

Publisher: Feiwel and Friends

Release Date: 8th November 2016

Goodreads

Long before she was the terror of Wonderland – the infamous Queen of Hearts – she was just a girl who wanted to fall in love.

Catherine may be one of the most desired girls in Wonderland, and a favourite of the yet-unmarried King of Hearts, but her interests lie elsewhere. A talented baker, all she wants is to open a shop with her best friend and supply the Kingdom of Hearts with delectable pastries and confections. But according to her mother, such a goal is unthinkable for the young woman who could be the next Queen.

At a royal ball where Cath is expected to receive the king’s marriage proposal, she meets Jest, the handsome and mysterious court joker. For the first time, she feels the pull of true attraction. At the risk of offending the King and infuriating her parents, she and Jest enter into an intense, secret courtship.

Cath is determined to define her own destiny and fall in love on her terms. But in a land thriving with magic, madness, and monsters, fate has other plans.


After the release of The Lunar Chronicles Marissa Meyer has become one of my favourite authors and the fact that she’s writing a book based on Alice in Wonderland, which is my all-time favourite fairytale, means Heartless has gone to the very top of my to-read list. So what does everyone think; is Heartless a must on anyone else’s to-read list or are there any other books that you can’t wait for to be released?

8 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday: Heartless

  1. Omg I’m so exited for this book I can’t even. I really need to get on and read The Lunar Chronicles, though!! Can’t believe I still haven’t read them. I have to say I was a little disappointed with the cover for this one, there was so much potential to do something spellbinding and it’s just sort of…red squiggles. Ah well.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh The Lunar Chronicles is a favourite of mine, you’re definitely in for a treat 😀 I’ve been speaking with some other bloggers, well gushing more like, about the series!
      At least they’ve all already been released so you won’t have to wait for any of them, I thought the wait for Winter was so horrendously long at times.
      Yeah I completely agree with you about the cover for Heartless, especially looking back at all the covers for The Lunar Chronicles books, but either way I’m sure the story is going to be amazing and that’s what really counts!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. For me just the fact that this book is Alice in Wonderland inspired means I’m pretty much guaranteed to love it 😀 but I’m sure it’ll be brilliant. I don’t think Marissa Meyer is capable of writing a bad book.
      I really hope you enjoy Winter, it’s brilliant so you’re in for a treat. I just finished reading Stars Above earlier this week.
      Thanks for the link, I’ll definitely check out your WoW.

      Like

Leave a Reply

