Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten 2015 Releases I Meant To Get To But Didn’t

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week there is a new topic for bloggers to choose and list their top ten. This week’s theme is Top Ten 2015 Releases I Meant To Get To But Didn’t.

Even though I read a lot of books in 2015 there were more than a few that I didn’t get around to. I’ve added them to my 2016 to-read list so hopefully, looking back at the end of this year, I won’t still be wondering why I didn’t get around to reading them. There are more than a few series which I have already highlighted as books I should have read before now; the Throne of Glass series, The Raven Cycle, Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children. Below are the some of the books I added to my to-read list but just didn’t get around to finishing.


Top Ten Tuesday #6

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir
Release Date: 28th April 2015

This book was recommended to me by one of my friends who gave it high praise. I didn’t have time to get around to it in 2015 but it is definitely on my to-read list for this year. The blurb sounds amazing, a world inspired by ancient Rome and filled with treachery, soldiers and rebels, it’s sure to be a hit.


Magonia by Maria Dahvana Headley
Release Date: 28th April 2015

I actually started reading this book when it was released but I was in the middle of a reading slump so I never got past the first chapter. I have heard nothing but great things about this book so I am excited to start it again, hopefully this time I’ll manage to get further than the first chapter.


A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas
Release Date: 5th May 2015

The Throne of Glass series is one that has been on my to-read list for a while now, and when A Court of Thorns and Roses was released I was immediately intrigued. A fairy-tale inspired, beauty and the beast story; it’s the kind of book I love. However I think I should probably read, or at least start, the Throne of Glass series first, that one has been on my to-read list for a lot longer.


Eighth Grave After Dark by Darynda Jones
Release Date: 19th May 2015

I absolutely adore this series. Charley is an amazing character who is funny and kicks ass. I have no clue why I didn’t read this book, probably because it was released in the middle of my reading slump. Now, however, I not only have the eighth book to get through but also the ninth before the tenth book is released in June this year.


The Corridor by A.N. Willis
Release Date: 23rd June 2015

I put this book on my to-read list before it was released and then pretty much forgot about it until the end of the year. The blurb sounds interesting and I’m intrigued by the concept of the story; a corridor connecting two parallel worlds together and a heroine with the power to open portals between them. There are some mixed reviews however so I am a little hesitant in starting this series.


Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon
Release Date: 1st September 2015

I have literally heard nothing but amazing things about this book. Everything, Everything seemed to be one of the most hyped books of 2015 and from what I’ve heard the hype was all well deserved. While this isn’t the kind of book I normally read I don’t think I’ll be disappointed when I do pull it from my to-read shelf.


The Weight of Feathers by Anna-Marie McLemore
Release Date: 15th September 2015

Magical realism seems to be a subgenre of young adult novels that’s becoming really big. I adored Bone Gap when I first read it and had to add more books like it to my to-read list. One of them was The Weight of Feathers, which sounds amazing. It’s not at the top of my to-read list but I am excited to start it when I have time.


Ice Like Fire by Sara Raasch
Release Date: 13th October 2015

There were quite a few series I didn’t pick up in 2015, despite reading and loving the earlier books. After the way Snow Like Ashes ended I was excited to see where the second book would take Meira, Theron and Mather. I really enjoyed the first book in the series and I’m sure I’ll love this one when I get around to picking it up again.


Ten Thousand Skies Above You by Claudia Gray
Release Date: 3rd November 2015

After reading A Thousand Pieces of You I fell in love with the series, the world’s explored within its pages and the characters who lived there. I was incredibly excited for the second book, and the cover was just as gorgeous as the first one. There are plenty of good reviews for this book but, after hearing it ends on a cliffhanger, I’m tempted to wait for the last book in the trilogy to be released before reading this one.


The Damned by Laura Thalassa
Release Date: 15th November 2015

When I discovered Laura Thalassa’s books I binge read everything she had released. The Damned is the last in The Unearthly series and after the way the fourth book ended I couldn’t wait to get my hands on the last one. Then I did and never got around to reading it. The Damned is very close to the top of my to-read list for 2016, I need to know how it ends.


So what do you think? Did you take part in this week’s Top Ten Tuesday, if so let me know what some of your 2015 releases you didn’t get around to reading are.

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten 2015 Releases I Meant To Get To But Didn’t

  1. I literally stayed up until 3.30 AM reading An Ember in the Ashes last night and I COULD NOT RECOMMEND IT MORE. Perhaps at the time I write my review I’ll have come down from the reading high, but right now I am so, so in love with it. ❀

    I wanted to read The Weight of Feathers too but people have said things about it having multiple perspectives? I'm not a big fan of those.

    Here’s my TTT!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I can’t remember the last time I stayed up that late (or early I guess) to finish a book, but you must have really loved it in that case. It sounds amazing and it comes highly recommended to me by lots of people so I may be moving it higher on my to-read list πŸ™‚ I’ll definitely keep an eye out for your review as well!
      I literally just commented on your TTT as well πŸ˜€

      Like

Leave a Reply

