Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Resolutions I Have For 2016

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week there is a new topic for bloggers to choose and list their top ten. This week’s theme is Top Ten Resolutions I Have For 2016.

I am notoriously terrible at keeping New Year’s resolutions. This year I decided to just quit while I’m ahead and not make any personal ones. Besides most were the same year in and year out; save money, lose weight, eat healthier. Hopefully though, I’m more likely to keep bookish resolutions than I am personal ones.

This year I will…

…Complete my Goodreads reading challenge.
Last year my target was 200 books, which I managed to not only meet but exceed, this year I’ve started off with 150. If I reach that before the years end then I’ll probably raise it but for now 150 seems like a decent starting point.


…Make a dent in my seemingly endless to-read list.
I’ll add series that sound interesting, new books released by some of my favourite authors, and never get around to actually reading them. My to-read list keeps growing and growing but instead of actually reading the books on it, I just add more.


…Don’t add any new books onto my to-read until I have finished some of the series that have been on it for years.
To help me reach my second resolution I’m putting an embargo on adding any new books to my to-read list until I start reading some of the books already on it. I’m not so concerned with the stand-alone books or the new releases but I have some series on there which have started and finished all the while sat on my to-read list.


…Re-read some of my favourite books.
There are plenty of books that I’ve read, loved, but then haven’t had any time to re-read them. What I’m planning to do this year is devote one month of the year to purely re-read some of my old, and maybe a few new, favourites of mine. Harry Potter is definitely at the top of this list.


…Discover new authors and genres I’ve never or rarely attempted before.
Last year I read a Rainbow Rowell book for the first time and discovered not only a brilliant new author but a whole new genre of young adult books, contemporary romance, that I hadn’t really touched before. The genre I read the most of is paranormal and fantasy so this year I’m going to branch out and try more new authors and genres to see if there’s anything else out there I love just as much.


…Attempt to get through at least one Classics novel.
I am not a Classics fan. I could barely get through Shakespeare and William Golding in high school. However there are so many other highly rated Classic novels out there so I’m sure to find at least one I’ll like.


…Try and stick to a budget for book buying.
November and December were two months when I went way over my budget for buying books, and not even by a little bit either. Granted it was mainly the Deluxe Illustrated Edition of Harry Potter that set me over the edge which I do not regret buying. To keep my bank balance from going too red I’m setting a new monthly budget and am determined to stick to it.


…Finish the ‘A Song of Fire and Ice’ series.
I can’t remember when I started this series, but with 800 plus pages for each book it’s taken me a long time to get through them all. I still have part one and two of the fifth book on my to-read list and before this year is over I will have finished them both.


…Keep blogging, no matter what.
I am a terrible procrastinator and kind of lazy to boot so maybe I’m doomed to fail, but I am determined that this year, this blog, I am going to keep posting. I want to reach the one year anniversary for Reading Every Night.


…Reach 100 followers.
Not sure if this is aiming too high, or even if I’ll be able to keep this one, but since starting my blog I’ve spoken to some amazing people and I’m already following some brilliant blogs. I’d love to keep this going throughout the year. Here’s hoping.


So what do you think? Did you take part in this week’s Top Ten Tuesday, if so let me know what some of your resolutions for 2016 are.

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Resolutions I Have For 2016

  1. These are some great resolutions! 200 books is crazy to me–how many books do you read a week? When I read more than 100 that one year, I have trouble differentiating between the books several months after I finished them; they all just blur together in the end.

    Good luck and have a fabulous 2016!

    Here is my TTT post. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve always read a lot, even before I had a long commute to work that let me read more, so for me 150/200 books a year is normal πŸ™‚ I can get through about five a week depending how long they are. Anything longer than 400 pages normally takes me two days to get through. I know what you mean about differentiating books though, normally if I read a whole series one after the other a little while later I get mixed up about what events happened in which book.
      Thanks for the link, I’ll definitely check out your TTT.

      Like

  2. Holy cow >200 books last year?? And 150 (at least) this year??? You are truly an inspiration, haha. I’m with you on that whole “reread” thing. I’ve been slowly making my way through rereading Harry Potter, but there are so many other amazing books that I’ve read before and am desperately due for a reread of

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It takes me over an hour and a half each way to get into work every day, and with an hours lunch break in between that it gives me a lot of time to read πŸ™‚ I can pretty much get through a book a day.
      I honestly can’t remember the last time I re-read Harry Potter, but this year I definitely want to re-read all the book, and actually a load more. There’s so many I’ve read in previous years that I loved but just haven’t gotten around to again. Definitely this year though πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. This is probably the first time I’ve ever been jealous of a long commute: it means more reading time!
        Have fun rereading Harry Potter and all the other amazing books πŸ™‚ Rereads are the best. Everyone should do them more.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. People always ask me if I get tired of the long commute and I’m just like ‘as long as my Kindle has battery I’m good’.
        I haven’t re-read anything for a while now, why I’m thinking of devoting a month or so to just re-reads. But I definitely agree, re-reads are amazing if it’s a book you really love πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

